We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice variety of food and good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garum

Garum
Viale Giuseppe Mazzini, 63, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
0818501178
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 137 Restaurants in Pompeii
Price range: $17 - $49
Cuisines: Italian, Brasserie, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Romantico, affari, cucina locale, occasioni speciali
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A nice variety of food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Another top TA recommendation, good enough to visit twice. Had some really nicely prepared food here at a good price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    101
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I am giving only 5 stars because the television running and the very bright lights. We had the antipasta of the house, two pasta dishes, and for the main dish steak and sliced squid. Everything was great - especially the pasta. We had the steak with mushroom sauce which was very tasty. The cook definitely enjoys to create food to be enjoyed including the extra appetizer surprise. The waiter was very friendly and helpful - even if you do not speak Italian. The house wine (vino rosso de casa) is a bit on the low end and I would recommend to choose something different as they have a good selection.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Best in Pompeii?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

From the outside we wouldn't have chosen this place opposite the station but it was definitely the best of our three meals. We sat on a raised terrace and had excellent food at a surprisingly cheap price.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had a couple of lovely meals here. Apart from the fish which were excellent the fillet steak served on a "stein" was really excellent, tender and perfectly cooked. The pastas which we tried were all very good and the "chefs choice" antipasti was a good choice to share.Staff were helpful and friendly and the chef very interested to hear how we found the food.Would recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a nice meal in Pompeii.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best Italian food I have had!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

The most amazing delicious risotto I have had! Attentitive personal service along with the steak, wow I wish all ItalIan food was this good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garum also viewed

Pompeii, Province of Naples
Pompeii, Province of Naples
 
Pompeii, Province of Naples
Pompeii, Province of Naples
 

Been to Garum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.