We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa dei Misteri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa dei Misteri to your Saves list
Villa dei Misteri
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Villa dei Misteri 11, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We travelled to Pompeii as part of a two month Europe trip. This hotel is right next to the gates of the city ruins and we loved it. The hotel itself is clean and accommodating. The owners are very nice and helpful and the restaurant meals were very good. It is unfortunate that even though we had booked some time in advance and requested a room on a high floor, we arrived and found we were on the first floor. The hotel was not full (being April and just outside the season) and we were told we could not be moved as the next night the hotel would be almost booked out. It turned out that a coach load was arriving the next day (I worked in the tour industry for many years so I know that we had been "bumped" to accommodate the tour) - unfortunately, the coach load was a group of 10 year old children on a school trip. They screamed and yelled and ran up and down the corridors slamming doors and shouting above our room until after 4am in the morning. The adults travelling with them made no effort at all to control them. We had a 7 hour trip to our next destination the next day so having no sleep was not ideal

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    33
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
35
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We chose this hotel as a base for visiting Pompeii, Vesuvius, Sorrento and Herculaneum and it could not have been better.Domenico and his family and all who work in the hotel made our stay memorable and comfortable.We accessed all the sights with ease and the breakfasts were great and evening meals outstanding.We were sad to leave this part of Italy where everyone we encountered was helpful and charming.

Room Tip: as we were there in May the pool was not open but it looked a fabulous pool for the summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

just returned from a four day break in pompei, this hotel is in an excellent location, close to port entrance to pompei, and two minute walk from train station.
My main reason for choosing hotel was due to pictures of the swimming pool, i knew my wife was going to take me on a bit of a yomp and the thought of a dip at the end of the day was quite appealing.
Sadly when we arrived the pool was empty, yes its april, but for 3 of the 4 days the weather was quite hot. if you are planning to stay here then check if the pool is going to be open.
All the staff were very friendly, breakfast was very nice and plenty of choice, decor is a bit dated but for a cheap stay, its ok.
No tea making facilities in rooms, but Carlo provided us with mugs and a jug to put hot water in from the kitchen, we went out and bought a kettle.
A word of warning, all of the cafes and restaurants nearby close quite early in the evening, usually around 7.30pm so you need to walk into pompei town center,(about 15 minutes), turn left at the bottom of the hill, dont go right, for an evening meal.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The room and facility was well kept and clean. The reception was very friendly and accomodating. Our purpose in staying their was in visiting the ruins of Pompei. The hotel was a short walk (200 meters) to the site entrance. Although we are in our 60's and not in the best condition we found the walk doable considering we had Pompei to navigate. Other reviews found the proximity to the train an issue however our room was quiet and comfortable so we never found this to be an issue. This is not a luxury hotel but we would not hesitate to stay again in the future. Very friendly and accomodating staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

this was a good surprise! the hotel is very close to the main gate at pompeii and the room was quite spacious and we had a small balcony (good to sit outside plus dry washing!) staff were very helpful and friendly and we ate there as well and the food was great. it was very quiet though. they have a large pool which we did not use but was very clean. if you want to visit pompeii this is very convenient, and if you wanted to stay a few days for a break this would be a good choice at an attractive price.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony and ensure there is air-con
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just ten minutes walk from the main entrance to the Archaeological Museum of Pompeii, in the wooded area in front of it, is this small Motel which can provide you with a lovely stay to visit the famous archaeological site and its surroundings. It is quite extraordinary that this hotel is not as used as it should be, given the thousands of people that visit the buried city everyday. And yet, it remains still an oasis of tranquillity. At 6 o'clock, as the Museum crowds disappear, the Villa dei Misteri comes of its own. This slightly old fashioned hotel/motel was realized by its owner in the 1950s like a Roman building, built as an ellipse around its attractive swimming pool, was drawn in full Pompeian spirit by its owner (So I am told by his wife, Signor Clara.) In fact all the rooms on the three floors with their small balconies overlook it, as all rooms in a Roman House look towards their garden. The rooms, all en suite, are simple, practical with nice bathroom - all very plain, not luxurious. But so are their prices. What is lovely is their outlook all towards the garden and pool and the terrace on the first floor where is the restaurant where you can it "al fresco". Their a la carte food is very good and fresh, but they also offer a menu, cheaper but with simpler food. From the spring to the autumn the atmosphere is lovely and in summer as soon as you arrive after an archaelogical visit under sun, to jump in the pull is magic! and so close to the real Villa dei Misteri!

Room Tip: With balcony overlooking the pool, and with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Perfect hotel for visiting the Pompeii site and only 80 m from the rail station too. Its a old hotel with a huge pool and light airy rooms. Extremely good value with helpful staff and free parking but no restaurant in the Autumn

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#1 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#2 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pompei Resort
Hotel Pompei Resort
#3 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albergo Pompei Valley
Albergo Pompei Valley
#6 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Iside
Hotel Iside
#5 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#8 of 23 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa dei Misteri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa dei Misteri

Address: Via Villa dei Misteri 11, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa dei Misteri 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pompei Villa dei Misteri, near Pompeii excavations; a perfect location for tourist routes to Sorrento, Naples, the Amalfi Coast, Capri. The hotel has: swimming pool, restaurant, parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Villa dei Misteri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dei Misteri Hotel Pompeii
Hotel Dei Misteri
Dei Misteri Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa dei Misteri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.