We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tour Guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tours Pompei

Tours Pompei
Porta Marina 28, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
39-339-3718429
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 29 activities in Pompeii
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visit the Southern Part of Italy with your personal guide Sasha Bianco. It has been said that the destiny of a person is written in their DNA...and this couldn't be more true for me. My father has been a tour guide for the last 45 years and I learned the very best from him. I have followed in his footsteps for 13 years and have developed a strong passion for educating people about the "wonders of Southern Italy".
New York City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A group of 8 friends visited Pompei for a morning, guided by the incredible Sasha Bianco. Booking this trip was amazingly simple with Sasha responding almost immediately to my email with information, prices types of tours etc. This was confirmed by email too together with phone contact numbers. We were on a cruise and on the agreed date and time, Sashas driver met us at the dockside and gave us an informative drive to Pompei, describing the local area and setting ther tone for our Pompei visit without spoiling any suprises.
Sasha met us at the entrance with tickets already purchased so our entrance to this wonderful place was immediate. His exceptional knowledge and ability to explain the history and pre history of Pompei brought it to life for us all- so much so that I have read 2 books on the subject since we left. He took us to places in accessible to other tour guides and without queing at other busy places. Sasha is a great personality with a great sense of humour that made our tour of Pompei truly memorable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to everyone ans will definitely use his services again on other tours. Thanks Sasha for making our day so memorable

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Tour of Pompei with Sasha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a great time and experience with Sasha’s tour of Pompei. We were a group of 3 staying in Positano and Sasha had arranged a driver (Carlo Arcucci [who was excellent too and friends with Sasha]) for roundtrip transportation and received a 2-2.5 hr tour of the site. Sasha is very knowledgeable of the site/history and has a great sense of humor. In addition, he was great navigating around the huge hordes of groups that descend upon Pompei via the cruise ships and buses.

I would definitely recommend his tours and we’ll plan on using his services again for future visits to southern Italy.

Our trip was in September 2012

Jeff and Beth (San Diego)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our most excellent tours with Sasha and Gianluca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our experience with these two brothers; Gianluca and Sasha Bianco was the best of the many private tours we booked during our trip to parts of Europe. They are both very nice and you'll wish that you were related to them so that you could meet their Mama. They talked about her a lot, she sounds like a saint and a great cook to boot. Gianluca promptly picked us up at our ship on the pier of Naples at 8 a.m.. Off we went in the very nice vehicle. He was such a sweetie and very accommodating. Full of information, humor, kindness and good advice. He drove us to Sorrento where we spent a few hours on our own after getting some good instructions about where to go and what to see. Met Gianluca again and our next stop was Positano. The drive along the Amalfi Coast was so beautiful and Gianluca was happy to stop along the way for photos and to answer our questions. He recommended a restaurant for lunch. We did some shopping, ate a leisurely lunch and slowly headed back to meet Gianluca. He took us to a ceramic shop at my request. We saw some absolutely gorgeous tableware! We also bought some, We can't wait until it arrives at our home. Between the two brothers they seem to know where you can go to get the best deal and the most beautiful items to purchase. I'll think of Gianluca everytime we use the tableware we chose. Finally it was time to meet Sasha at Pompeii. Sasha is very charming and friendly. We meet their father, who was a tour guide at Pompeii for decades. Then off my husband and I went with Sasha for our tour. A note: bring decent walking shoes. I did but left them in the car so Sasha had to make sure I didn't kill myself on the uneven stones and walkways. He was very conscience of our safety and also of others on other tours. He is a real professional, knows his way in and out and everything worth seeing and hearing during our 3 hours with him was accomplished. We should have booked more time! Pompeii is amazing, intriguing, oddly beautiful and tragic. Before we parted Sasha introduced us to a most charming older gentleman, at my request. My daughter-in-law also met this artistic cameo carver earlier this year and raved about him and his work. Needless to say someone or two will receive an excellent cameo from Pompeii for Christmas. We were concerned that we would be spending more money on private tours than we would have than if we scheduled excursions using the ship. It turns out that we did pay somewhat more but compared to nine hours on a tour bus with 50 other people and a crabby tour guide, at a cost of $200 each, we think we were pretty smart to arrange private tours as much as we did. In the future that is what we will do. To Sasha and Gianluca...Grazie and Ciao, thank you for such a wonderful day. Remember to call us if you get to our city in Florida this winter. We'd love to see you again. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND these two. You cannot go wrong, give them a try. Francine and Dean

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
1 review
“Tours Pompeii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Spent the morning with Vincenzo Bianco, father of Sasha Bianco. Vincenzo's tour of Pompeii was fascinating. He was not only extremely knowledgable, but engaging and truly enthused about Pompeii. He never rushed through any of the stops and managed to keep us apart from the huge group tours that can make things chaotic. I highly recommend his services and the prices are quite reasonable as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grateful American's...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Sasha was not our original choice for tour guide in Pompei. Our local travel agent gave us a name when my wife and I decided to visit the south of Italy on a recent trip abroad. Amazingly, we read a few reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to give Sasha Bianco a try.Thank you to my wife Joanne for this. Sasha was, from the first 2 minutes through the end of our tour and beyond (because we stayed in contact with him,) absolutely fantastic-10 of 10. Very knowledgeable having grown up a few minutes from Pompei (and his father is still a Pompei guide), eminently likable, so connected with other guides that we literally went to front of any line at every area of Pompei with the other guide's blessing no less, genuinely appreciative of Americans in general...just a fantastic guy and guide. You cannot do better. You can stop looking now. This is your guide. Doc MW, Michigan, US

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours Pompei also viewed

 
Pompeii, Province of Naples
Pompeii, Province of Naples
 

Been to Tours Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tours Pompei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tours Pompei to your Saves list