We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pompei Tour Guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guide Pompei

Guide Pompei
Porta Marina, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
+393331198806
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Official tour guide, specialized in excursions all around Naples Area and throughout the territory defined Campania region. Thanks to the experiences acquired directly with customers in the territory, have selected a circle of collaborators and tourist services that will make your trip simply unforgettable.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Naples, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pompei Tour Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I'm italian from Naples and for business purposes had to take few collegues to Pompei tour.
I was very lucky to contact Mr. Giovanni who gave us an excellent guide which spoke perfect english and found out to be an excellent tour guide. Among all I was impressed and amazed listening about the story of Pompei. Two hours sounded like 10 minutes!!
I really recommend should you like to stop by Naples and definitely not miss Pompei!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    9
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pompeii Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We took the Pompeii tour and in 2 hours our guide Giovanni brought the city back to life with many informative and entertaining stories that even our children (10 and 8) enjoyed.. Thanks Giovanni from the family that argued that the Pharaohs did invent some things before the Romans :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Memorable Tour of Pompeii, Herculaneum, and Mt. Vesuvius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We took this tour as our Naples shore excursion on our Mediterranean cruise. It was a perfect combination of attractions/activities. We saw Pompeii, which is grand and large, and has a variety of buildings/ruins (homes, temples, public baths, brothels, fast food shops). We then went to Herculaneum, which is a smaller site that was destroyed by the same volcano that subsumed Pompeii. Herculaneum has several houses with intact mosaics and frescos on the walls and floors, and offers more small details than Pompeii. Together, the two archeaological sites provide a window into ancient life. They are not duplicative of each other; we were glad we did both. We capped off our day by climbing Mount Vesuvius. Climbing the still active volcano was dramatically different from any of our other cruise excursions. (Mediterranean cruises can involve seeing lots of ruins, archaeological sites, and ocean views, which is nice, but sometimes you want some variety.) Climbing Mount Vesuvius was challenging; at the start of the trail we were given walking sticks, which were really useful since the ascent is quite steep at times. At the top of the trail you can see inside the cone from which smoke wafts out. On a clear day the view down to Naples Bay would be awesome, but we were there in overcast weather. Guide Pompeii may be the only tour company to offer this particular combination of activities on one tour. (In my research I did not find any other companies who offered it.) Guide Pompeii was extremely accomodating of our needs. We enlarged our group from 6 people to 8 people, but did not want to pay the extra cost for a mini-bus. As a result, there was no seat on the van for our Pompeii/Herculaneum guide, so she came by train to meet us at Pompeii and then traveled by train to meet us at Herculaneum, while we took the van. She was wonderful. The driver of our van was excellent too and gave us a running commentary and answered any questions we had while on the road. I highly recommend Guide Pompeii.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rosaria was a fabulous guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is my first time to Italy and number one on my list to see was Pompeii. We decided to take a private tour......the only way to go. As always, we relied on Trip Advisor for tips. It did not disappoint. Guide Pompeii gave us Rosaria....a lovely young woman who is a wealth of historical info. She skillfully guided us through the throngs of group tours and provided us with an intimate picture of Pompeii 2000 years ago. We would not hesitate to use this company for other tours.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Guide for Pompeii”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we contacted Guide Pompeii for our May visit to Naples. We'd visited Pompeii before but without a guide and it was challenging. This time, we took advantage of the door to door transportation plus the professional guide. We were very pleased with our service. The driver was terrific-very knowledgeable and personable. The Pompeii guide was excellent: she was a trained archeologist so we felt like we had a special experience. We had a 2 hour Pompeii tour, which was perfect for my attention span.All and all, I recommend Pompeii Guide highly and urge you consider the door to door service as well.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guide Pompei also viewed

Pompeii, Province of Naples
Pompeii, Province of Naples
 

Been to Guide Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guide Pompei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.