We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe I needed to do more research...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Pompei Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Pompei Valley to your Saves list
Albergo Pompei Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fossa di Valle 23, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
“Maybe I needed to do more research...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This hotel wasn't exactly what we had in mind, and maybe I'm to blame. Make sure you do your research...

The hotel is a beautiful new building with a beautiful garden, pathways, roof top lounge and pool area. The pool is small, but the outdoor area is quite big. The rooms are on the smaller side and decorated with cool vibrant colours (as their photos suggest). The rooms come with a spacious bathroom, but the shower is horrible and the toilet takes 10 minutes of interesting noises to reset itself after a flush. Finally, the towels have the texture of triscuit crackers, no joke.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. It would be very difficult to access this property unless you have your own vehicle. It is 750m away from home nearest main road. It is not nearly as close to the ruins as the map would suggest (again, maybe more research was in order). It is about 10 minute drive to the closest entrance to the site.

The WiFi only works for one device per room and worked ok for a laptop, but not at all for my phone.

The breakfast was good for Italy, but nothing special.

The staff were friendly but English was limited. They could explain everything well, but were unable to help with recommendations or directions.

This hotel might be perfect for some, but wasn't at all for us. There is nothing wrong with the building, the rooms or the area, just not what we had in mind.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    31
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
36
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Found this place on the day we entered Pompeii. Great price for last minute booking. We were surprise to drive down a small dirt road and find this large home turned hotel. Very beautiful place. Clean and has the aroma of a day spa. So relaxing and the best part was the outdoor decor. Best of all it has a pool, Turkish spa, free breakfast, parking, and wifi, and a large rooftop patio that overlooks the beautiful valley of Pompeii. The staff are very friendly I wish we could stay longer. We will be back.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived and the two men who ran the place were just rude and awful the entire time. They seemed bothered every time we had a question and just did not want to help. The breakfast was barely edible and the pool was out of service. So please spend the extra cash and avoid this disaster of a hotel if you can. But the Pompeii ruins were very nice and a good visit.

Stayed June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A family run place located about 5 minutes from Pompei's center, this hotel is convenient, clean, and well run. We spent three nights here and found it a great base for exploring Pompei and other sites in the area (it also makes an easy day trip to Naples). Parking is available across the street. This place has an authentic Italian charm. And the excellent breakfast, included in the price, makes it a great deal. (Look for the homemade coffee cakes made daily).

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice on a very poor location...the cleaning lady should get a medal...she is the best...but while we were there...the owner was working and he is very unfriendly ..and i dont know how someone can try to do bussines and not speak a word of english..not only he...but no one from staff...that seems very disrespectfull to the guests...second and the most important...THE BREAKFAST IS SOOO POOR..they put a few slicez of chease...and if i take everything the guests that come after me wont get a new one...and if u ask for more bread the owner says no...but the same owner while we were sitting in front of the hotel and drinking coffie gave us some moldy cake..and after he tryd to charge it even if we didnt ask for the cake...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yungaburra, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Wanting a place out of the hustle and bustle but close to Vesuvius and Pompeii ruins, we were a little put off by a review that suggested the neighbourhood was a little dodgy! Could not be further from the truth, it is just that this little inn is buried amongst backyard and market gardens on the edge of old Pompeii. It is eclectic! In fact it is everything an Australian who has never travelled would expect an Italian B&B to be like! What we had was a spotless room, very quiet neighbourhood, glorious views over Vesuvius, rooftop terrace for that quiet picnic/tete-a-tete all to ourselves, spotless but small pool and sun bathing area, quiet walks around the neighbourhood and a good 30min walk to the ruins, but there is also plenty of parking. Breakfast was continental and very fresh if unsurprising. Staff don't speak good English, but I don't speak good Italian and yet we all understood each other, they could not do enough. We stayed an extra night, we enjoyed it so much. The only down side, there was a lot of noise coming from staff watching television in the lobby - so much so that we had to ask them to turn it down, a bit weird since they'd asked us to turn the TV down by the couple in the next room - the couple did not realise it was downstairs, we didn't have the TV on!

Room Tip: Overlooking Vesuvius if possible - the sunset is to die for. Away from noise echoing up the stairwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I loved my stay here. The staff is very friendly and willing to help out with anything. They do not speak good English but they are patient and usually figure it out. The rooms were excellent and clean. Bathroom was clean and new. Our room had a balcony outside. This hotel has a water fountain to sit by and have dinner and a roof top dinning area facing the mountain. The views from the roof top are wonderful. The pool area was nice with lounge chairs and a little water fall in the pool. The hotel offers a bar area and a very well prepared free breakfast. Everything about this hotel impressed me. The area is not to desirable and in fact scared me a little when driving up to it. It is located on a dead end road and parking is across the road behind a house. The location was very quite despite the looks of some of the homes. I was go back again and again to stay here. Top notch rooms, excellent staff, great views and out of the hustle and noise of Pompei!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pompei Resort
Hotel Pompei Resort
#3 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#1 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#2 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#9 of 23 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Visagi
Hotel Visagi
#4 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa dei Misteri
Villa dei Misteri
#18 of 23 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Pompei Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Pompei Valley

Address: Via Fossa di Valle 23, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Pompei Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Albergo Pompei Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Pompei Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.