We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giuseppe Mazzini, 87, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Comfortable place to stay. You can walk to the ruins. Good restaurants close by. NO wifi in the room but is available if you want to sit in the lobby.

It appears to be a young family running the Hotel. Very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    10
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I travelled through Italy last year and this hotel was great for what we needed. The bathroom and bedroom were both clean, the bed was comfortable and the hotel is walking distance to some of the archeological sites of Pompeii. The owners of the hotel were very helpful in arranging the bus to Vesuvius, which I recommend you do, its an incredible site!!! For the price you can't go wrong. I would def recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at Astoria Pompei despite reading some of the lukewarm reviews and had a really good experience. So good that I feel compelled to respond to some of the (I believe unfair) criticisms.

Firstly: It is budget priced hotel. I think some of the reviewers here expect 5 star facilities for 2 star prices. The rooms are big, light and airy (ours had a private balcony) with big comfortable beds, the place is well kept and very clean and your room gets serviced daily. If you expect more then pay for a more expensive hotel.

Secondly: I read a lot of whining about the hotel breakfast here... I personally didn't try it because THE HOTEL BREAKFAST IS OPTIONAL!!!! Seriously! Why would you sit in the hotel and have breakfast when there is a supermarket and a plethora of cafes serving awesome (and cheap) Italian food in the immediate vicinity?

Thirdly: This seems to be a family run hotel. Over the last few days we have interacted with all the staff and despite a bit of a language barrier at times - none of them have been anything but helpful.
The only negative thing we encountered in our entire stay was the usual bevvy of loud, obnoxious tourists (no nationalities mentioned but we all know who I'm talking about) that you find at any popular tourist location.

Great location too, within walking distance to one of the archaeological site entrances.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent two weeks traveling in Italy and the young man working the front desk during the day here was by far the rudest person I met in all of Italy. Although the room was acceptable for the price, I felt sick knowing that any of my money went into this guy's hands. I seriously was truly disturbed by his attitude, it was completely uncalled for and made feel very uncomfortable. Besides my experience with him (which apparently I wasn't the only one with that interaction because I met an Italian couple two hours later that said he was the rudest they've ever known), the room was very noisy, right on the main street of town, the wifi was never offered, and the shower did not drain at all. Within a couple of minutes the shower basin was flooded and overflowing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Location The hotel Pompeii right, near the center and amazing archeological site of Pompeii. Rooms are large, comfortable bed, was an extra bed room, so there is a possibility to come with children, there is in, have a balcony, shower room with WC. But breakfast very disappointing, only toast, a packet of jelly, no butter or bread or roll, one croissant per person, coffee or tea and that's it. this is not like being called "Astoria"

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Booked this hotel for 2 night , near the hotspots and walking distance to the stations but .. Ashame they have no lift -:( have to carried my luggage to the second floor, the room was clean with really basics stuff .. Shower and restroom was really outdated .. One of the staff was a bit funny (i guess he is a son of the owner) never smiled and looked at you with a bit weird expression .. But the owners both are really awesome .. Breakfst was good .. And thanks god they have a good parking lot at the backside of the hotel -:) .. But fir my next visit to Pompeii i would chosen another hotel -:) .. Cheers

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#14 of 23 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albergo Pompei Valley
Albergo Pompei Valley
#6 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#8 of 23 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#1 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Pace Pompei
Albergo Pace Pompei
#16 of 23 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Sogno Hotel
Piccolo Sogno Hotel
#18 of 23 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Viale Giuseppe Mazzini, 87, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria Restaurant was recently renovated and is found in a central location in Pompei around 200m away from the railway station and from the Santuario, 300m away from the southern entrance to the excavations. This location makes it the ideal place from which to explore the city of Pompei rich in history and culture with its famous excavations, the Amphitheatre and the Foro, and is also convenient for reaching the cities of Naples, Sorrento, Amalfi, Positano, Capri, Ischia, Paestum, Mount Vesuvio and several other cultural and tourist sights. The parking lot can be accessed directly from the hotel, and is one of the many conveniences appreciated by our guests. Our staff are always available to provide a shuttle service from the hotel to the main sights in the area. L’Hotel Astoria Restaurant, di recente ristrutturazione, si trova in posizione centrale a Pompei, a circa 200 mt dalla Stazione ferroviaria e dal Santuario, a 300 mt dall’ingresso sud degli Scavi. La sua posizione lo rende un luogo ideale per visitare la città di Pompei ricca di storia e cultura, con i celebri e suggestivi Scavi, l'Anfiteatro, il Foro, in posizione perfetta per raggiungere la città di Napoli, Sorrento, Amalfi, Positano, Capri, Ischia, Paestum, il Vesuvio e tanti altri luoghi di interesse culturale e turistico. Il parcheggio, da cui si accede direttamente nell’interno dell’albergo, è sicuramente tra le comodità più apprezzate dagli ospiti in quanto permette di lasciare la propria auto internamente all’hotel in un ampio spazio. Il personale è disponibile ad effettuare il servizio navetta tra l’hotel ed i luoghi di maggiore interesse della zona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.