We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astoria Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Astoria Restaurant
viale Giuseppe Mazzini, 87, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Pompeii
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I travelled through Italy last year and this hotel was great for what we needed. The bathroom and bedroom were both clean, the bed was comfortable and the hotel is walking distance to some of the archeological sites of Pompeii. The owners of the hotel were very helpful in arranging the bus to Vesuvius, which I recommend you do, its an incredible site!!! For the price you can't go wrong. I would def recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at Astoria Pompei despite reading some of the lukewarm reviews and had a really good experience. So good that I feel compelled to respond to some of the (I believe unfair) criticisms.

Firstly: It is budget priced hotel. I think some of the reviewers here expect 5 star facilities for 2 star prices. The rooms are big, light and airy (ours had a private balcony) with big comfortable beds, the place is well kept and very clean and your room gets serviced daily. If you expect more then pay for a more expensive hotel.

Secondly: I read a lot of whining about the hotel breakfast here... I personally didn't try it because THE HOTEL BREAKFAST IS OPTIONAL!!!! Seriously! Why would you sit in the hotel and have breakfast when there is a supermarket and a plethora of cafes serving awesome (and cheap) Italian food in the immediate vicinity?

Thirdly: This seems to be a family run hotel. Over the last few days we have interacted with all the staff and despite a bit of a language barrier at times - none of them have been anything but helpful.
The only negative thing we encountered in our entire stay was the usual bevvy of loud, obnoxious tourists (no nationalities mentioned but we all know who I'm talking about) that you find at any popular tourist location.

Great location too, within walking distance to one of the archaeological site entrances.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent two weeks traveling in Italy and the young man working the front desk during the day here was by far the rudest person I met in all of Italy. Although the room was acceptable for the price, I felt sick knowing that any of my money went into this guy's hands. I seriously was truly disturbed by his attitude, it was completely uncalled for and made feel very uncomfortable. Besides my experience with him (which apparently I wasn't the only one with that interaction because I met an Italian couple two hours later that said he was the rudest they've ever known), the room was very noisy, right on the main street of town, the wifi was never offered, and the shower did not drain at all. Within a couple of minutes the shower basin was flooded and overflowing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompei
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Location The hotel Pompeii right, near the center and amazing archeological site of Pompeii. Rooms are large, comfortable bed, was an extra bed room, so there is a possibility to come with children, there is in, have a balcony, shower room with WC. But breakfast very disappointing, only toast, a packet of jelly, no butter or bread or roll, one croissant per person, coffee or tea and that's it. this is not like being called "Astoria"

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel for 2 night , near the hotspots and walking distance to the stations but .. Ashame they have no lift -:( have to carried my luggage to the second floor, the room was clean with really basics stuff .. Shower and restroom was really outdated .. One of the staff was a bit funny (i guess he is a son of the owner) never smiled and looked at you with a bit weird expression .. But the owners both are really awesome .. Breakfst was good .. And thanks god they have a good parking lot at the backside of the hotel -:) .. But fir my next visit to Pompeii i would chosen another hotel -:) .. Cheers

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed here one night and although the room was clean and perfect, it was very noisy. There were people in the hall ways and the room was not sound proof at all. It was also a lot of money for what it was. The location is great and their are not a lot of options in Pompei, so worth a visit of you are battling to find something and only there a short while.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Astoria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria Restaurant

Address: viale Giuseppe Mazzini, 87, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria Restaurant was recently renovated and is found in a central location in Pompei around 200m away from the railway station and from the Santuario, 300m away from the southern entrance to the excavations. This location makes it the ideal place from which to explore the city of Pompei rich in history and culture with its famous excavations, the Amphitheatre and the Foro, and is also convenient for reaching the cities of Naples, Sorrento, Amalfi, Positano, Capri, Ischia, Paestum, Mount Vesuvio and several other cultural and tourist sights. The parking lot can be accessed directly from the hotel, and is one of the many conveniences appreciated by our guests. Our staff are always available to provide a shuttle service from the hotel to the main sights in the area. L’Hotel Astoria Restaurant, di recente ristrutturazione, si trova in posizione centrale a Pompei, a circa 200 mt dalla Stazione ferroviaria e dal Santuario, a 300 mt dall’ingresso sud degli Scavi. La sua posizione lo rende un luogo ideale per visitare la città di Pompei ricca di storia e cultura, con i celebri e suggestivi Scavi, l'Anfiteatro, il Foro, in posizione perfetta per raggiungere la città di Napoli, Sorrento, Amalfi, Positano, Capri, Ischia, Paestum, il Vesuvio e tanti altri luoghi di interesse culturale e turistico. Il parcheggio, da cui si accede direttamente nell’interno dell’albergo, è sicuramente tra le comodità più apprezzate dagli ospiti in quanto permette di lasciare la propria auto internamente all’hotel in un ampio spazio. Il personale è disponibile ad effettuare il servizio navetta tra l’hotel ed i luoghi di maggiore interesse della zona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Astoria Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.