We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giuseppe Mazzini, 87, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at Astoria Pompei despite reading some of the lukewarm reviews and had a really good experience. So good that I feel compelled to respond to some of the (I believe unfair) criticisms.

Firstly: It is budget priced hotel. I think some of the reviewers here expect 5 star facilities for 2 star prices. The rooms are big, light and airy (ours had a private balcony) with big comfortable beds, the place is well kept and very clean and your room gets serviced daily. If you expect more then pay for a more expensive hotel.

Secondly: I read a lot of whining about the hotel breakfast here... I personally didn't try it because THE HOTEL BREAKFAST IS OPTIONAL!!!! Seriously! Why would you sit in the hotel and have breakfast when there is a supermarket and a plethora of cafes serving awesome (and cheap) Italian food in the immediate vicinity?

Thirdly: This seems to be a family run hotel. Over the last few days we have interacted with all the staff and despite a bit of a language barrier at times - none of them have been anything but helpful.
The only negative thing we encountered in our entire stay was the usual bevvy of loud, obnoxious tourists (no nationalities mentioned but we all know who I'm talking about) that you find at any popular tourist location.

Great location too, within walking distance to one of the archaeological site entrances.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    11
    10
    7
See reviews for
21
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent two weeks traveling in Italy and the young man working the front desk during the day here was by far the rudest person I met in all of Italy. Although the room was acceptable for the price, I felt sick knowing that any of my money went into this guy's hands. I seriously was truly disturbed by his attitude, it was completely uncalled for and made feel very uncomfortable. Besides my experience with him (which apparently I wasn't the only one with that interaction because I met an Italian couple two hours later that said he was the rudest they've ever known), the room was very noisy, right on the main street of town, the wifi was never offered, and the shower did not drain at all. Within a couple of minutes the shower basin was flooded and overflowing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Location The hotel Pompeii right, near the center and amazing archeological site of Pompeii. Rooms are large, comfortable bed, was an extra bed room, so there is a possibility to come with children, there is in, have a balcony, shower room with WC. But breakfast very disappointing, only toast, a packet of jelly, no butter or bread or roll, one croissant per person, coffee or tea and that's it. this is not like being called "Astoria"

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Booked this hotel for 2 night , near the hotspots and walking distance to the stations but .. Ashame they have no lift -:( have to carried my luggage to the second floor, the room was clean with really basics stuff .. Shower and restroom was really outdated .. One of the staff was a bit funny (i guess he is a son of the owner) never smiled and looked at you with a bit weird expression .. But the owners both are really awesome .. Breakfst was good .. And thanks god they have a good parking lot at the backside of the hotel -:) .. But fir my next visit to Pompeii i would chosen another hotel -:) .. Cheers

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed here one night and although the room was clean and perfect, it was very noisy. There were people in the hall ways and the room was not sound proof at all. It was also a lot of money for what it was. The location is great and their are not a lot of options in Pompei, so worth a visit of you are battling to find something and only there a short while.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

It´s a very comfortable hotel, a walk distance from train stations and center piazza. 20 minutes walk from Pompei scavi. A pleasant surround, plenty of shops and supermarket, but no movement in the evening. Front street is a little noisy during high season, but nothing that could bother sleeping. In fact, it´s a very nice view from the big balcony, at the mountains. The hotel has a nice appearance, immaculate clean, very big rooms and nice furniture; marvelous bed. Tv, good shower in a big bathroom, wardrobe and desk, air conditioning. Continental breakfast: tea, juice, bread, toasts, crispyies, cheese etc. I missed fruits, nevertheless. No lift. Internet was free but there were no pc available, so they gently allowed me to use their own pc. Anyway, it would be better to have a pc for use of guests because there was no privacy (always someone from the staff looking at my screen). But very nice and helpful staff, a family in fact. Only a guy (not from the family) that strangely didn´t talk to me, but I guess he couldn´t understand me completely (people there spoke napoletan dialect. By the way, all them speak only Italian. I chose for half board and their dinner were superb! Complete, very tasteful! To be improved it could be served more quickly, so I could go for an evening walk before going to sleep, or preparing my next day trip (dinner took me around 2 hours…). The door of my room was left unlocked after cleaning, one day, and that may show hotel can be somewhat unsafe, but nothing bad happened in fact. tv never lit on, unfortunately... It´s a good idea to choose for a half or complete board because there are NO good places for eating around, only fast food. I would stay with them again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#1 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pompei Resort
Hotel Pompei Resort
#3 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#12 of 23 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#2 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa dei Misteri
Villa dei Misteri
#17 of 23 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#11 of 23 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Viale Giuseppe Mazzini, 87, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria Restaurant was recently renovated and is found in a central location in Pompei around 200m away from the railway station and from the Santuario, 300m away from the southern entrance to the excavations. This location makes it the ideal place from which to explore the city of Pompei rich in history and culture with its famous excavations, the Amphitheatre and the Foro, and is also convenient for reaching the cities of Naples, Sorrento, Amalfi, Positano, Capri, Ischia, Paestum, Mount Vesuvio and several other cultural and tourist sights. The parking lot can be accessed directly from the hotel, and is one of the many conveniences appreciated by our guests. Our staff are always available to provide a shuttle service from the hotel to the main sights in the area. L’Hotel Astoria Restaurant, di recente ristrutturazione, si trova in posizione centrale a Pompei, a circa 200 mt dalla Stazione ferroviaria e dal Santuario, a 300 mt dall’ingresso sud degli Scavi. La sua posizione lo rende un luogo ideale per visitare la città di Pompei ricca di storia e cultura, con i celebri e suggestivi Scavi, l'Anfiteatro, il Foro, in posizione perfetta per raggiungere la città di Napoli, Sorrento, Amalfi, Positano, Capri, Ischia, Paestum, il Vesuvio e tanti altri luoghi di interesse culturale e turistico. Il parcheggio, da cui si accede direttamente nell’interno dell’albergo, è sicuramente tra le comodità più apprezzate dagli ospiti in quanto permette di lasciare la propria auto internamente all’hotel in un ampio spazio. Il personale è disponibile ad effettuare il servizio navetta tra l’hotel ed i luoghi di maggiore interesse della zona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.