We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Astoria” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pompeii
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Astoria Restaurant
Save Saved
You added Hotel Astoria Restaurant to your Saves list
viale Giuseppe Mazzini, 87, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Pompeii
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompei
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Location The hotel Pompeii right, near the center and amazing archeological site of Pompeii. Rooms are large, comfortable bed, was an extra bed room, so there is a possibility to come with children, there is in, have a balcony, shower room with WC. But breakfast very disappointing, only toast, a packet of jelly, no butter or bread or roll, one croissant per person, coffee or tea and that's it. this is not like being called "Astoria"

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel for 2 night , near the hotspots and walking distance to the stations but .. Ashame they have no lift -:( have to carried my luggage to the second floor, the room was clean with really basics stuff .. Shower and restroom was really outdated .. One of the staff was a bit funny (i guess he is a son of the owner) never smiled and looked at you with a bit weird expression .. But the owners both are really awesome .. Breakfst was good .. And thanks god they have a good parking lot at the backside of the hotel -:) .. But fir my next visit to Pompeii i would chosen another hotel -:) .. Cheers

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed here one night and although the room was clean and perfect, it was very noisy. There were people in the hall ways and the room was not sound proof at all. It was also a lot of money for what it was. The location is great and their are not a lot of options in Pompei, so worth a visit of you are battling to find something and only there a short while.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

It´s a very comfortable hotel, a walk distance from train stations and center piazza. 20 minutes walk from Pompei scavi. A pleasant surround, plenty of shops and supermarket, but no movement in the evening. Front street is a little noisy during high season, but nothing that could bother sleeping. In fact, it´s a very nice view from the big balcony, at the mountains. The hotel has a nice appearance, immaculate clean, very big rooms and nice furniture; marvelous bed. Tv, good shower in a big bathroom, wardrobe and desk, air conditioning. Continental breakfast: tea, juice, bread, toasts, crispyies, cheese etc. I missed fruits, nevertheless. No lift. Internet was free but there were no pc available, so they gently allowed me to use their own pc. Anyway, it would be better to have a pc for use of guests because there was no privacy (always someone from the staff looking at my screen). But very nice and helpful staff, a family in fact. Only a guy (not from the family) that strangely didn´t talk to me, but I guess he couldn´t understand me completely (people there spoke napoletan dialect. By the way, all them speak only Italian. I chose for half board and their dinner were superb! Complete, very tasteful! To be improved it could be served more quickly, so I could go for an evening walk before going to sleep, or preparing my next day trip (dinner took me around 2 hours…). The door of my room was left unlocked after cleaning, one day, and that may show hotel can be somewhat unsafe, but nothing bad happened in fact. tv never lit on, unfortunately... It´s a good idea to choose for a half or complete board because there are NO good places for eating around, only fast food. I would stay with them again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prahova County, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I liked the room, the food, very convenient location. Nice people.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We arrived early at the hotel and were warmly received by the hotel lady owner. There was free secure parking right behind the hotel building. Our room was not ready, so we left our luggages with the hotel and was given a free shuttle to the Pompei archaeological site. We could have walked to the site as it didn't look far on the map but the lady owner explained that there are two gates and we should be driven to the gate that is the farthest and slowly make our way to the other gate while exploring the site. It was good advice indeed. The room we had was very spacious for two persons. Furniture and fittings were no frills but good enough for a comfortable sleep. The hotel seemed to be run by the whole family and the breakfast they prepared & served was one of the best we had in our two weeks in Italy. This hotel was popular with locals as we saw many Italian families staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astoria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria Restaurant

Address: viale Giuseppe Mazzini, 87, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria Restaurant was recently renovated and is found in a central location in Pompei around 200m away from the railway station and from the Santuario, 300m away from the southern entrance to the excavations. This location makes it the ideal place from which to explore the city of Pompei rich in history and culture with its famous excavations, the Amphitheatre and the Foro, and is also convenient for reaching the cities of Naples, Sorrento, Amalfi, Positano, Capri, Ischia, Paestum, Mount Vesuvio and several other cultural and tourist sights. The parking lot can be accessed directly from the hotel, and is one of the many conveniences appreciated by our guests. Our staff are always available to provide a shuttle service from the hotel to the main sights in the area. L’Hotel Astoria Restaurant, di recente ristrutturazione, si trova in posizione centrale a Pompei, a circa 200 mt dalla Stazione ferroviaria e dal Santuario, a 300 mt dall’ingresso sud degli Scavi. La sua posizione lo rende un luogo ideale per visitare la città di Pompei ricca di storia e cultura, con i celebri e suggestivi Scavi, l'Anfiteatro, il Foro, in posizione perfetta per raggiungere la città di Napoli, Sorrento, Amalfi, Positano, Capri, Ischia, Paestum, il Vesuvio e tanti altri luoghi di interesse culturale e turistico. Il parcheggio, da cui si accede direttamente nell’interno dell’albergo, è sicuramente tra le comodità più apprezzate dagli ospiti in quanto permette di lasciare la propria auto internamente all’hotel in un ampio spazio. Il personale è disponibile ad effettuare il servizio navetta tra l’hotel ed i luoghi di maggiore interesse della zona. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.