We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giuseppe Mazzini, 87, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Pompeii
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
94 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Booked this hotel for 2 night , near the hotspots and walking distance to the stations but .. Ashame they have no lift -:( have to carried my luggage to the second floor, the room was clean with really basics stuff .. Shower and restroom was really outdated .. One of the staff was a bit funny (i guess he is a son of the owner) never smiled and looked at you with a bit weird expression .. But the owners both are really awesome .. Breakfst was good .. And thanks god they have a good parking lot at the backside of the hotel -:) .. But fir my next visit to Pompeii i would chosen another hotel -:) .. Cheers

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ephie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed here one night and although the room was clean and perfect, it was very noisy. There were people in the hall ways and the room was not sound proof at all. It was also a lot of money for what it was. The location is great and their are not a lot of options in Pompei, so worth a visit of you are battling to find something and only there a short while.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennavm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pompeii hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

It´s a very comfortable hotel, a walk distance from train stations and center piazza. 20 minutes walk from Pompei scavi. A pleasant surround, plenty of shops and supermarket, but no movement in the evening. Front street is a little noisy during high season, but nothing that could bother sleeping. In fact, it´s a very nice view from the big balcony, at the mountains. The hotel has a nice appearance, immaculate clean, very big rooms and nice furniture; marvelous bed. Tv, good shower in a big bathroom, wardrobe and desk, air conditioning. Continental breakfast: tea, juice, bread, toasts, crispyies, cheese etc. I missed fruits, nevertheless. No lift. Internet was free but there were no pc available, so they gently allowed me to use their own pc. Anyway, it would be better to have a pc for use of guests because there was no privacy (always someone from the staff looking at my screen). But very nice and helpful staff, a family in fact. Only a guy (not from the family) that strangely didn´t talk to me, but I guess he couldn´t understand me completely (people there spoke napoletan dialect. By the way, all them speak only Italian. I chose for half board and their dinner were superb! Complete, very tasteful! To be improved it could be served more quickly, so I could go for an evening walk before going to sleep, or preparing my next day trip (dinner took me around 2 hours…). The door of my room was left unlocked after cleaning, one day, and that may show hotel can be somewhat unsafe, but nothing bad happened in fact. tv never lit on, unfortunately... It´s a good idea to choose for a half or complete board because there are NO good places for eating around, only fast food. I would stay with them again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margarete p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I liked the room, the food, very convenient location. Nice people.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IoanaVDoftanei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We arrived early at the hotel and were warmly received by the hotel lady owner. There was free secure parking right behind the hotel building. Our room was not ready, so we left our luggages with the hotel and was given a free shuttle to the Pompei archaeological site. We could have walked to the site as it didn't look far on the map but the lady owner explained that there are two gates and we should be driven to the gate that is the farthest and slowly make our way to the other gate while exploring the site. It was good advice indeed. The room we had was very spacious for two persons. Furniture and fittings were no frills but good enough for a comfortable sleep. The hotel seemed to be run by the whole family and the breakfast they prepared & served was one of the best we had in our two weeks in Italy. This hotel was popular with locals as we saw many Italian families staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWELSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Okay the building is tired, but this is a short walk from Pompei, has secure parking and the owner is very friendly - he even gave us a lift to Pompei as our youngest was not feeling great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilsondan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed in two triple rooms for 4 nights. The rooms each with a balcony were spotless and furnished to a high standard . Rooms were cleaned every day with new bedsheets and towels supplied each day. Free car parking is behind the hotel and the hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk from the square and the very pretty Virgini Rosarii church / basilca and the surrounding shops and restaurants. Pompeii ruins is at a walkable distance of about a 1km. It is a family run hotel who put alot of effort into their customer focus. Breakfast is basic and the service was a bit poor as they were slow to restock the breakfast buffet. Overall, many thanks to the Hotel for making our last days in Italy very pleasant and one to remember .

One more thing there is no lift in the building.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank javed00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 24 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#14 of 24 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#9 of 24 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 24 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#3 of 24 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#11 of 24 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Viale Giuseppe Mazzini, 87, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria Restaurant was recently renovated and is found in a central location in Pompei around 200m away from the railway station and from the Santuario, 300m away from the southern entrance to the excavations. This location makes it the ideal place from which to explore the city of Pompei rich in history and culture with its famous excavations, the Amphitheatre and the Foro, and is also convenient for reaching the cities of Naples, Sorrento, Amalfi, Positano, Capri, Ischia, Paestum, Mount Vesuvio and several other cultural and tourist sights. The parking lot can be accessed directly from the hotel, and is one of the many conveniences appreciated by our guests. Our staff are always available to provide a shuttle service from the hotel to the main sights in the area. L’Hotel Astoria Restaurant, di recente ristrutturazione, si trova in posizione centrale a Pompei, a circa 200 mt dalla Stazione ferroviaria e dal Santuario, a 300 mt dall’ingresso sud degli Scavi. La sua posizione lo rende un luogo ideale per visitare la città di Pompei ricca di storia e cultura, con i celebri e suggestivi Scavi, l'Anfiteatro, il Foro, in posizione perfetta per raggiungere la città di Napoli, Sorrento, Amalfi, Positano, Capri, Ischia, Paestum, il Vesuvio e tanti altri luoghi di interesse culturale e turistico. Il parcheggio, da cui si accede direttamente nell’interno dell’albergo, è sicuramente tra le comodità più apprezzate dagli ospiti in quanto permette di lasciare la propria auto internamente all’hotel in un ampio spazio. Il personale è disponibile ad effettuare il servizio navetta tra l’hotel ed i luoghi di maggiore interesse della zona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing