We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and drama on the doorstep!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Spartacus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pompeii
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Spartacus
Save
You added Camping Spartacus to your Saves list
Via Plinio 117, Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Pompeii
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“History and drama on the doorstep!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A 'campsite' with cabins and small caravans to rent opposite Pompeii scavi (the ruins of world fame). small grassy pitches with electricity and clean functional showers, toilets and sinks. There is a washing machine and dryer for a nominal sum too. We stayed in our VW camper for three nights spending a day in the ruins and a trip to the top of Vesuvius (ticket office opposite the campsite). The staff (Archangelo in particular); were the most helpful and kind people we had the pleasure to meet in just over three weeks touring Europe. The site could'nt be better placed for seeing Pompeii. Should we return to Italy we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    19
    18
    10
See reviews for
21
30
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My partner and I stayed in a small air conditioned bungalow (Casette) for 2 nights while we were visiting Mount Vesuvius, Pompeii Ruins and Herculaneum Ruins.

The bungalow could more appropriately be described as a hut, only large enough to accommodate a double bed and small table, with a small en-suite shower, toilet and sink.

Our bungalow was situated directly next to the train track. I'm quite a heavy sleeper so this didn't disturb me too much, however my partner didn't get as good a sleep because of it (if booking here it might be an idea to ask for accommodation further away from the train track).

The air conditioning was also stuck on a very cold setting so it was either too cold or too hot in the bungalow and we had to take it in turns during the night to turn it off/on when the extremes in temperature became intolerable (I think we were just unlucky with this).

On a positive note tho, all the staff were very friendly and helpful (a family run campsite) and went out of their way to accommodate our needs. The onsite pizzeria was very reasonably priced and offered very good pizzas.

The location was also very good. We were just over the road from the entrance to Pompeii ruins, the train station (which we used to visit Herculaneum Ruins as we were told it is all but impossible to find car parking nearby), and a few other nearby pizzerias/restaurants (outside the entrance to the ruins). There was a large supermarket only 200m down the road, and it was only a relatively short drive away from Mount Vesuvius.

Overall if you are on a budget, then this is good value for money. We would consider staying here again (however would make sure we asked for somewhere further away from the train track!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't next to the train track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompeii, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We where here in juli 2011 for 10 days.
Its a nice litle camping whit all the things you need for a camping vacation.
We staid in a big bungalow, me, my wife and our little boy.
The staff is verry nice and helpfull.
The most we enjoyd the swimmingpool thats open from 2 pm at 8 pm.
Camping Spartacus is on a nice location in Pompei, near the "circum vesuviana" a train that brings you to the most nice places of the region Napoli.
This year we will come back at 3 juli untill 16 juli.
We can't wait!!
Greets Fam. Cherillo

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The ruins were cool. But whatever you do, do NOT stay in Pompei. It's a second world country. Drunks passed out on the train. Credit card machines out of order. WiFi never worked but no refund. Locals trying to rip off tourists. Train and highway noise until all hours. We made this mistake. Learn from my mistake and stay in Sorrento.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Pre-booked a pitch for our VW camper website. Chosen solely on proximity to Pompei. Used to UK club sites so was a bit taken aback by size of pitch and closeness to neighbours. Right next to all amenities, pool, restaurant & ablution block. Just fitted in van & awning and had great 3 nights using pool and eating in site restaurant. Very friendly and informal. Pool was smaller than expected but great to be able to use it whenever. Children loved the 'pop-up' pool and preferred this site to our next nearer Rome despite the bigger pool and on-site entertainment. Would definitely return if we come back to area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here to use as a base and location is great. Right outside Pompei ruins and only a bus ride away to the volanco and also cheap and regular trains to Sorrento ...
Great base, a little quiet in the evenings however pefrect for a couple.
Campsite clean and friendly. We stayed in a caravan however moved after 2 nights as kept getting bit and wanted air con but they were really nice and moved us striaght away!

Great for families and a great location

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed two nights in a 'caravan' or trailer. It was reasonable and very close to the 'scavi' or ruins.
I was there in great weather, so needed neither heating nor cooling.
It was not 'scrubbed in the corners' clean, but reasonably well washed.
The caravan has three narrow singles - two as a bunk and one stand-alone.
There was enough hot water for me.
There were lots of towels, but they are linen towels - flat, not fuzzy like I'm used to in real hotels or at home. They worked okay though.
Noise was no problem for me - the near railway is the commuter line which doesn't have much traffic and it's slow. My neighbours were quiet.
No screens on the windows - I haven't seen them yet in Euorope, even though they're expected in North America - but very few flying bugs either.
I saw only one very small ant even with food in the trailer.
The toilet is quite intriguing - used a lot of water without quite doing the job if you get my drift.
WiFi works fine, but is Eu5.00 per 24 hr period (max 5 hours, but I don't know how they measure that). Free only on the third day.
The office is staffed 24/7 so always someone to ask for help.
My rate was Eu25.00/night somehow related to not staying over a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Spartacus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Spartacus

Address: Via Plinio 117, Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Pompeii
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Camping Spartacus Hotel Pompeii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Spartacus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.