We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel with quirky shower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pompei Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pompei Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pompei Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Unita d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Pompeii
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Modern hotel with quirky shower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights whilst visiting pompeii. If arriving by train make sure you get the right train line and get off at the right station. it is close to the FS station rather than the main circumvenia line for pompeii which is a 45 minute walk away. The hotel is modern and brightly decorated inside. Our room had a quirky shower with lots of different water jets and flashing coloured lights! It is situated about 10 minutes walk from the centre of modern pompeii and about 15 minutes walk from the third entrance to the ruins near the amphitheatre. Breakfast was fine but there was an abundance of cakes and sweet pastries and not a great deal of savoury options.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    553
    288
    53
    11
    8
See reviews for
189
368
19
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Pompeii is a small city with a wonderful history. A visit to the ancient city ruins and the Vesuvius is worth the trip. However aside from these attractions and the city center, the rest of the town is very dirty and neglected. In the middle of this unappealing background stands the Hotel Pompei Resort.
This hotel is very classy and beautiful, which sharply contrast with the background. It is very clean, comfortable and quite modern. Food and service are also very good. It includes parking which is a must for anyone traveling by car.
The price is also very reasonable. In my opinion it is cheap, considering all of what it includes.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in the vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Pros:
Hotel was very well situated and only a 20 minute walk from the ruins of Old Pompeii. Parking was free in the complex and WiFi was available throughout the hotel. The staff were impressively friendly at both the front desk and the restaurant, especially by European standards. The rooms were reasonably sized and certainly unique. Colour palettes that would be considered down right unusual among most hotels seemed to be the theme.

Cons:
The rooms had countless switches which didn't actually seem to do anything. Also, the shower was far too complex for its worth and seemed to only be usable by individuals under 6 feet. The breakfast, though tasty, was far too heavy on the sweets and pastries. Savouries, cereals, or fruits would certainly have been appreciated.

Overall a very good stay and an excellent value for money!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was such a surprise for us, we thought we were at the wrong place! We paid only 28 euros per person so when we arrived we expected much less than what we got!
Brilliant and spacious room and a very clean bathroom with an AWESOME shower that lit up like a disco and practically gave you a full body massage! Aircon was great, the best we had on our trip around Italy. The staff were really kind and helpful, they gave us a map and explained how to get to the ruins which was very helpful. Breakfast was included which was great as we ate loads!

However stay clear of the Vesuvius trip that runs from the hotel unless you want to get charged more that what you were told.

Overall phenomenal pricing for a brilliant stay, would recommend it highly. Absolute luxury compared to the places we had stayed before. All this place is missing is a pool!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel is - very clean and very eager
helpful staff. The Maitre D' was especially nice and very conversational. Lovely outdoor
dining areas for breakfast and dinner. (No swimming pool though as builders are not allowed to
excavate this close to the ruins,) which are a 15-20 minute walk away. This was also
the least expensive hotel we found but there was nothing cheap about it. Paid more for
a much worse room in Assisi afterwards. The room was not large, but clean and the
air conditioning worked perfectly well for a change. I would recommend this hotel to
anyone who wants a good quality hotel for less money and doesn't insist on being located across the street from the archeological zone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here two nights because we wanted to visit the ruins of ancient Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius. It is a nicely decorated, colourful and clean hotel with free parking and free internet access, located in short walking distance from city centre of Pompeii. We had a balcony - a pleasant surprise. The staff should be mentioned for kind services and information. The breakfast buffet offers alternatives to a large selection of sweets which seems to be standard in Italy. We had to pay for an additional cup of coffee, which is a bit annoying. Pompei Resort is not expensive and good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just about Ok with very good size room. Very pleasant restaurant outside hotel on opposite side of road.
Staff were either overly effusive & gushingly helpful or totally unhelpful; inconsistent behaviour. Distance from Ruins was not 10 minute walk but 20-30 minute walk through quite unpleasant parts of Pompei. Room seemed to have been designed from catalogue as part of high school project by someone who had never stayed in hotel; no bedside lights, no hooks for bathrobes, very modern shower cubicle but only just big enough for average to small person and a strangely huge basin that could only be used by 1 person at a time. Breakfast was mostly sweet confectionery & cakes; very little fruit or savoury items from which to make your selection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pompei Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pompei Resort

Address: Viale Unita d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pompei Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute stroll from Pompeii's ruins, stylish and modern Pompei Resort offers a convenient location near the motorway, the main railway station and the Circumvesuviana line. A free scheduled shuttle takes guests to the town centre. The luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated and well-equipped, containing hydromassage showers and saunas as well as standard amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Pompei Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pompei Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.