We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pompei Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pompei Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Pompei Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Unita d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best value for money hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was the cheapest hotel in our entire trip in Italy.

We had a bit of a hard time finding it, although it is on a main road (though on the opposite side of Pompei from the ruins) but it was also our fault because we didn't have a detailed map.

It was a very pleasant hotel (although a relatively big hotel with many tours using it) and our room had a balcony with views to nice gardens, air conditioning, a "space-age" shower with colour lights, radio, etc (although it took quite a while to figure out and the water jets for the back did not work), free wifi (though one of us couldn't get it to work because the server was overloaded) and free parking.
It included all amenities and there was also a welcome gift in the room: a pastry and a little tourist ceramic greek plate (of course, made in China, but still nice).

Breakfast was very nice buffet with outside seating but it wasn't good that there was a charge for a second cup of coffee.

The one thing we missed was a swimming pool, which could have easily fitted in the big gardens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    310
    76
    15
    11
See reviews for
212
408
24
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Not bad value for money but definitely not a four star. Reception staff (possibly owners and family) not that friendly. Room average but at least overlooked Mount Vesuvius. Fancy looking shower not as good as it looked. Restaurant manageress however was very friendly and very helpful actually made our stay worthwhile. We stayed 3 nights and ate in the restaurant the first 2 but the food was pretty ordinary so on the 3rd night we picked up a take-away from the nearby shopping plaza and had a picnic on our balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff are excellent, helpful, resourceful and courteous.
The room was phenomenal one of the best I have stayed in ever, price excellent for quality
Location easy access to any where you want to go
Food one of the best breakfasts in Italy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Not recommended for more than 1 or 2 nights.
The staff didn’t mention a free shuttle bus (and I never saw one), only the 15 minute walk. They said that local parking was expensive for the archaeological site. However the local parking was only 5 euros for the whole day. Drive!
I’ve never stayed in a 4 star hotel that charges you extra for a cup of coffee at breakfast. Tinned fruit salad too ! No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The rooms were snug and the bed hard. Air con was poor.
Views of Vesuvius? Just lean all the way out your balcony, just don’t fall.
If you have a car, stay further out from Naples and drive to Pompeii.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for a night, during our Italy tour. Our aim was to visit the ruins in the evening and relax a bit, after a couple of days of very hectic schedules at Florence and Rome. This place turned out to be perfect for that!

We had a bit of confusion to start with. We had seen that they have a shuttle service from the railway station and to the ruins. But when we called them from the railway station, the person who attended the phone simply said shuttle was not available and suggested we take a taxi. We had to struggle for 15-20 mins to get a taxi. But, it turned out to be a bit of a misunderstanding, not helped by language challenges. You should book the shuttle in advance if you want to use it. We understood it when we talked to the friend desk staff. Later in the day, they sent us the shuttle promptly to pick us up from the ruins.(and they did not charge anything for the shuttle service)

Front desk staff was very friendly and always helpful.

The room was very colorful and modern. spacious and comfortable. Our kid enjoyed the shower cubicle with steam and jets etc. The room had a balcony with views to the mountain.

We had our dinner at their restaurant. Very good service and good food, prices were really reasonable. Breakfast was also good.

Overall - we had a relaxed and comfortable stay. Highly recommended if you are planning to stay at Pompeii. I wanted to give this place 4.5 stars, since that is not possible, I am limiting to 4 :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is NOT a four star hotel, more like a two star pushing three star. We arrived having booked two rooms. The first (for my daughters) had a broken window. Our room was dirty, had broken air conditioning and a broken door (the handle was off). After waiting ages for a “repair” we asked to change room. After a great many arguments we were shifted to a room with a working door – but then the hotel would not honour the pre-booked rate and charged us double!
The air con is switched off at night so the rooms are stuffy and VERY HOT. Our room was not serviced, and all the beds were VERY hard.
The restaurant is OK. Think UK motorway service station and you will get the idea. Poor food and over-priced but it won’t kill you. Breakfast is very carefully portioned out – 1 thin bit of ham, 1 thin slice of cheese and two thin slices of salami and only one cup of coffee. If you want another cup - €7.20!
The staff are lazy and surly and the hotel management simply not honest. My advice, AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

A lovely modern and clean hotel with great service but we were disappointed that there was no pool. As some other reviews have mentioned the area it's in isn't great and about of a walk from the restaurants In Pompeii. It's also a fair hike to the ruins but they do put on a free shuttle bus. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we got a 'buy 2 nights get 1 night free' deal but there isn't enough to do in Pompeii to warrant that but the train line takes you to maples or sorrento very easily, definately worth a look

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pompei Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pompei Resort

Address: Viale Unita d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pompei Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute stroll from Pompeii's ruins, stylish and modern Pompei Resort offers a convenient location near the motorway, the main railway station and the Circumvesuviana line. A free scheduled shuttle takes guests to the town centre. The luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated and well-equipped, containing hydromassage showers and saunas as well as standard amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pompei Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pompei Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.