We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vesuvius view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pompei Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pompei Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Pompei Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Unita d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Coleraine
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Vesuvius view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Spa Resort’s trump card is its staff and access to the Pompeii ruins some 10-15 minutes walk away. Walking is good as local taxis are outrageously priced and prefer not to operate by the meter. . The hotel itself is glitzy in a Costa del Costa manner. Unfortunately the marble corridors echo and the walls are thin. Being out-of-season meant we were only treated to a diatribe of Italy’s shortcomings by the Americans next door on one occasion. In high season – earplugs. The room had a view of Vesuvius and caught the evening sun – very welcome after a day of site hiking. Breakfast offered everything from cake to hard boiled egg but again this flavoured sugar drink where fruit juice might be expected: there is a del Monte plant on the road to Naples. Food and service in the dining room were fine. When tired on arrival and when sheet lightning lit up the mountains for two hours on end it was good to eat in the hotel. Wi-fi requires a password delivered by text for 24hr access. When explained that each text was costing me £5 in roaming charges a permanent password was issued (or at least valid for the remaining 5 nights). The staff were excellent with such glitches – once a problem was clarified they acted immediately. Wear and tear beginning to show on some room fittings. Our shower was supposedly equipped with facilites for radio, coloured lights and a variety of jets from all angles: need I say only the standard overhead shower head actually worked : who needs coloured lights ? The bidet was very useful for soaking “ruined” feet. There are small pools and showers on the rooftop – dry in May when we visited – possibly a lovely spot from which to admire Vesuvius erupting some other day. No coffee maker in the room but a very handy fridge/mini bar. Location, location,location: staff, staff, staff

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    310
    76
    15
    11
See reviews for
212
408
24
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prosperity, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. Ornella was a wonderful hostess!!!!!! Our accommodations were extremely comfortable with all the amenities of. 5 star hotel!! Best value in Europe that we have experienced and we have been all over annually!!! The entire staff exceeded our expectations!! The evening dinner specials were the best gourmet values in Pompeii! Highly recommended!!! Concierge service was impeccable..... Shuttle service, tours, we wanted for nothing!!!

Room Tip: There were 4 of us with 2 rooms needed . We weren't there to pend time in the rooms, but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel room was tidy and washroom was large and clean. Our room had a balcony where we could sit and relax which was very nice. Staff was professional but at times not that helpful. I had some questions about getting around in Pompeii and the lady at the counter didn't seem to want to help out. Besides that everything else was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed one night at Pompei Resort. It is the perfect location to visit Pompei ( no car necessary) and pretty close to the Autostrada. The hotel staff were very professional. In fact, we had mistakenly taken a key from our previous hotel and the staff were nice enough to take the key to the Post Office and mail it for us for a charge of only 2€. The breakfast was the best we had during our 2 week tour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights to visit the ruins here and in Erculano. It was an easy walk of about 15 minutes to get to the main square and just a couple minutes from there to the ruins. The welcome was very friendly. We had originally scheduled only one night there and had no problem getting the second night added to our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable. They have shutters similar to hurricane shutters used in Florida which made it so you could totally black out your room. They had free parking and free wifi. The breakfast was the best we had on our three week trip. Ornella was terrific. She helped us through out the stay and was right there all the time to make sure we were happy and satisfied. We ate dinner there one night. It wasn't our favorite meal but it was good. Nothing to complain about. I would recommend the hotel as long as you don't mind walking a little.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Pompei resort hotel is a really great hotel,modern,cosy with excellent service,really nice,comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms,nice lobby,very experienced stuff and excellent restaurant.We had a great stay.Ornella Gramagwa was always present and with her great capacity of coordinating everything made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

...this place would get a poor. So let's start with the shower. I don't know what space-age emporium they bought it from, but damn. That machine had a rain shower setting, foot-massage setting, even disco lights! (No spinning ball, but multi-color lights.)

Overall, it did feel a bit like a resort. The decor was pretty spiffy/tasteful. The room was quite big, had a large bed, and balcony with a view of Mt. Vesuvius. There were even free, replenished hygiene products in the bathroom. That's right. You could brush your teeth with the little travel brush and toothpaste, throw them away, and do it again the next morning with all-new items!

Let's get down to tacks. The WiFi was a joke. Yes, it existed in the room, but you had to go to the front desk and get a card with a unique username and password. Every day. Oh, yes. It was basically a little one-use phone card that you had to specifically request. And it only worked on one machine, for example if you got one for your phone, you couldn't also use the same username/password on your computer. Absolutely ridiculous.

The food was like eating at the mall. All the in-room brochures boasted high and mighty about the custom-designed cuisine by celebrity chefs, blah blah, bs. It was bland, small portions, and expensive.

Finally, the service. It wasn't bad, exactly, it just didn't seem to really be there. When we went to check out, no one was behind the desk. For a couple of minutes. Then, she came running as if she'd forgotten she was at work. Then she had to check basic things two or three times before seeming to know what she was doing. Then this card didn't work. Or that reader didn't work. Or this form needed to be signed. Or, oh, wait, no it didn't.

The thing about this place was that the high points were really good. (That shower!) But the low points were inexcusable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pompei Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pompei Resort

Address: Viale Unita d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pompei Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute stroll from Pompeii's ruins, stylish and modern Pompei Resort offers a convenient location near the motorway, the main railway station and the Circumvesuviana line. A free scheduled shuttle takes guests to the town centre. The luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated and well-equipped, containing hydromassage showers and saunas as well as standard amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pompei Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pompei Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.