We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it weren't for that amazing shower...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pompei Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pompei Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Pompei Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Unita d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If it weren't for that amazing shower...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

...this place would get a poor. So let's start with the shower. I don't know what space-age emporium they bought it from, but damn. That machine had a rain shower setting, foot-massage setting, even disco lights! (No spinning ball, but multi-color lights.)

Overall, it did feel a bit like a resort. The decor was pretty spiffy/tasteful. The room was quite big, had a large bed, and balcony with a view of Mt. Vesuvius. There were even free, replenished hygiene products in the bathroom. That's right. You could brush your teeth with the little travel brush and toothpaste, throw them away, and do it again the next morning with all-new items!

Let's get down to tacks. The WiFi was a joke. Yes, it existed in the room, but you had to go to the front desk and get a card with a unique username and password. Every day. Oh, yes. It was basically a little one-use phone card that you had to specifically request. And it only worked on one machine, for example if you got one for your phone, you couldn't also use the same username/password on your computer. Absolutely ridiculous.

The food was like eating at the mall. All the in-room brochures boasted high and mighty about the custom-designed cuisine by celebrity chefs, blah blah, bs. It was bland, small portions, and expensive.

Finally, the service. It wasn't bad, exactly, it just didn't seem to really be there. When we went to check out, no one was behind the desk. For a couple of minutes. Then, she came running as if she'd forgotten she was at work. Then she had to check basic things two or three times before seeming to know what she was doing. Then this card didn't work. Or that reader didn't work. Or this form needed to be signed. Or, oh, wait, no it didn't.

The thing about this place was that the high points were really good. (That shower!) But the low points were inexcusable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    310
    77
    15
    11
See reviews for
212
409
24
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lomita, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Hotel building quite new(I heard 5 years old) and rooms are very clean and comfortable. Hotel staff are friendly and quite helpful. Among them, a young lady named Ms. ornella Gramaglia was superb. She seemed really enjoying her work in trying to help her customers. My wife and I stayed for two nights in May 2013. The hotel provided a free shuttle bus service for our visit to the Pompei ruins and also to the railway station for our departure. We highly recommend this hotel for everybody. We also stayed in Naples for three nights with much higher hotel room rate. Maybe next time we go to the Southern Italy, we might stay in Pompei and have a full day excursion to Naples and nearby cities to save our total hotel expense. Pompei is more relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in the hotel 16th-20th May. We did have trouble finding the Hotel as it is a 30min-40min walk from Pompeii station. However the hospitality and service on arrival including the welcome drink more than made up for it.Ornella seems to be on duty day and night with a welcome for everyone regardless the time of day or night. The gardens are a pleasure to sit in and the room was spotless. Breakfast was plentiful and filling. The set menu in the evening was good value. All in all I would highly recommend the hotel even though it is slightly out of the main drag of Pompeii. They do provide a shuttle service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel on May 24 till 28th.
Lovely rooms comfortable and clean, the hotel was clean all over and had well kept gardens.
Staff were very helpful and when I called the hotel to ask for a view to Vesuvius they provided for me. perhaps the only thing is perhaps breakfast as although good, perhaps a selection of hot dishes would be nice, other wise good. I would stay again and would recommend it to anyone who is visiting Pompeii.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel was a great place to stay, with everything we needed in the room and a lovely balcony to relax on in the evening.

There was a wide selection of food at the buffet breakfast and it kept us full for much of the day! We only ate in the restaurant once and had the set dinner menu. This was acceptable, but we found nicer and cheaper food in the centre of the town. The a la carte options may be better however.

The hotel is a short walk to the centre and the nearest train station, and in the brilliant weather this walk was quite enjoyable each day! However it is a further walk to the ruins and to the other Pompeii station. We enjoyed this walk, but the hotel did provide shuttle services as well for those who don't want to walk so far. The one bad point was we had some difficulty finding the hotel on our first night, but this was partially our fault for not printing off a map! I would definitely recommend having one!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stay here. Pompeii the city doesn't have much to offer, so you'll spend most of your time in your hotel as we did. There was a balcony, room service, gardens, cool shower, great breakfast. And all fo an amazingly low price. Seriously, if you're going to stay in Pompeii, treat yourself. We were on a budget and this place didn't come close to breaking the bank, AND it was the fanciest hotel we stayed in. A heart recommend!

Room Tip: **See if you can get a room high up facing the volcano if you can... the sight is truly breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The design and decoration of the hotel are unique ad beautiful. The location is perfect for walking to the train, the ruins and town. The rooms were large and very clean. We had only a short period of time and the Ornella G set us up with a guide for an immediate tour! It was so much appreciated:)
We will recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pompei Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pompei Resort

Address: Viale Unita d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pompei Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute stroll from Pompeii's ruins, stylish and modern Pompei Resort offers a convenient location near the motorway, the main railway station and the Circumvesuviana line. A free scheduled shuttle takes guests to the town centre. The luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated and well-equipped, containing hydromassage showers and saunas as well as standard amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pompei Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pompei Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.