We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality staff with comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pompei Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pompei Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Pompei Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Unita d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Saint-Raphael, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“quality staff with comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A very pleasant stay in a conveniently placed hotel with comfortable rooms and free parking.
The reception desk, bedroom and dining room staff are particularly attentive and charming. One lady Ornellla Gramagna stands out with her enthusiasm and professional approach to her work.
A delight to be attended by her.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    310
    76
    15
    11
See reviews for
212
408
24
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We had originally planned to stay here for two days, but liked the hotel so much, we stayed another day.

The hotel offers a free shuttle bus service to anywhere you want to go. They will also pick you up when ready.

We walked into reception and were greeted by two lovely young ladies very warmly.

Check in was fast and efficient. One girl escorted us to our room.

Our room was adequate set up quite modern. The bed is low but comfortable. Ample pillows are provided.

We needed to slam our door shut to ensure that it was locked, as did other hotel guests by the constant sound of doors closing.

The bathroom is compact, but workable. Our room was serviced every day with our towels being changed also.

Soap, shampoo, etc., is also provided and replenished when needed.

There is an on site restaurant, which is quite nice and reasonably priced.

Staff in the diningroom were attentive and efficient.

Breakfast is your typical Italian meal - lits of cakes and sweets. Fresh fruit salad with yoghurt. Some cereal and fruit juice. Hard boiled eggs, ham and cheese also.

There is sliced continental bread provided but no toaster, which was disappointing.

There is a bar located in the same room, so any request for coffee or tea is done quite quickly.

You can order cooked eggs but at an additional cost.

The hotel provides free WiFi although you need to register via a mobile phone number.

In the lobby you have access to a computer and printer, although if internet access is required, there is a charge of Euro5,00 per hour. Not sure why when WiFi access is free throughout the hotel.

This is a family run hotel and the "extras" show. Personal service as needed/required is accommodated.

The decor is very modern as is the lighting in throughout the hotel.

The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the town centre and the same distance to reach one entrance to the Pompei archeogical site.

There isn't much around the hotel, so unless you have a car, you have to walk or rely on the shuttle bus.

The hotel doesn't have many brochures on sites and places to visit, which they should have so that you can plan your time in Pompei.

The only down side of this hotel, as it is so modern is the lack of a gym, pool, sauna, etc. As it is so far away from town, one would like to relax in a pool or sauna after a day of being out and about walking.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel if you are thinking about stopping in Pompei.


  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Front Desk help wasn't so friendly when asked why they needed our passports by my travel partner. The lady pretended not to understand English and the young man working behind the counter really didn't speak English very well so he just smiled and ignored the question.
Went to the Bistro to have coffee and met "Michele" who was very friendly and made us feel very welcome, he was also there to serve dinner. He is a great asset to the hotel. The hotel seemed very average but he definetly made our stay at this hotel.
We also liked the small gift of cookies wrapped and set on a little pomeii saucer when we walked into the room.
Clean large room, fair price, beds and pillows were a bit firm but normal in Italy, nice breakfast, clam with pasta was extremly salty.

Room Tip: If you are a big person the showers here are very, very small. For a small person, I could barely m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Driving from Rome to the Amalfi coast, we decided to have a night in Pompeii. Booking this hotel through a phone app, i was a little worried that it may not turn out to be what the reviews said, but i was pleasantly surprised!

The room was great, big enough for one night. Although the ben was incredibly low!

The bathroom was great. The brilliant shower was just what you needed after a long day of traveling and driving.

Staff were great, and gave us a fantastic recommendation for dinner. They also booked a taxi for us. The driver dropped us off and collected us from the restaurant when we called. He was very well priced!

All in all, if your passing through and need a great, VERY well priced hotel, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay at the hotel to see the Pompeii archaeological site and surrounding sites based on the very good reviews on Tripadvisor. The room and hotel were very comfortable, modern & well decorated and equiped. Staff helpful but could have been more knowledgeable regarding how to get to Herculaneum & Naples. No information about local places of interest, local travel information (which train station served which destinations) was provided in the room which we would have found very useful.
Our problem with the hotel is that it is a good distance from the town centre of Pompeii (15 - 20 minute walk) and slightly further away from the nearest main site entrance (20 -25 minutes walk). After a day walking around the site a taxi was essentially to get back to the hotel.
Although it did not effect us, it was noticeable that noise may be a problem when the hotel has more guests.
A previously posted comment regarding the good food at the hotel should also be treated with caution. Adequate is the best comment we can use about the food although the service was good. We did eat at 2 excellent restaurants in the town "Add'u Mimi" and "la Bettola del Gusto". Both recommended on Tripadvisor and both excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Selected this hotel based on reviews. Turned out to be very, very nice. Great location for Pompeii ruins and short distance from Autostrada. Rooms are as pictured and advertised. Front desk service very friendly, courteous, and great English. Restaurant service especially great from head waitress/manager, all others very good. Close to town so we drove in finding local restaurants easily. Some shuttle service to ruins if you make the cutoff times OK; but taxi service also good for short drive. Great Internet access, TV w/BBC and furnishings. Did not notice any excessive noise so rest was great. As European tourist hotels go, this one is one of the better we have stayed. We would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Pompei Resort Hotel is located approx 15 minutes walk to the ancient ruins of Pompei, and 10 minutes walk to the main railway station in the town of Pompei ( main line to Naples ). To travel to Sorrento the train station is about 25 minutes walk to Pompei Scavi - opposite main entrance to ancient Pompei ( nearest entrance to ancient Pompei is 15 minutes from the hotel ) .The Pompei Resort Hotel is modern, colourful but tastefully done, with a high standard of decor throughout. The reception staff were extremely helpful / pleasant and carried out their duties in a competent and professional manner. The restaurant staff were also very attentive and polite - recommend the food! Last but not least, the cleanliness throughout the hotel was faultless - extremely clean. The enclosed garden with seating and barbeque/bar with tropical plants makes for a pleasant relaxing environment. In conclusion, excellent value for your money - well run hotel - highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms front and rear have good views either towards the Bay of Naples or the mountain range incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pompei Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pompei Resort

Address: Viale Unita d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pompei Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute stroll from Pompeii's ruins, stylish and modern Pompei Resort offers a convenient location near the motorway, the main railway station and the Circumvesuviana line. A free scheduled shuttle takes guests to the town centre. The luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated and well-equipped, containing hydromassage showers and saunas as well as standard amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pompei Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pompei Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.