We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pompei Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pompei Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Pompei Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Unita d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very friendly staff, especially in the restaurant. Rooms clean and tidy. The hotel is a short drive to the Pompeii ruins. Very central if you are driving in this area. Our sat nav took us on a very interest route to get to the hotel so it would be better to rely on map direction.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    310
    77
    15
    11
See reviews for
212
409
24
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel was great value for money and breakfast was included. The rooms were very nice and clean - with the funkiest shower we had ever seen! Very new and modern hotel with a great restaurant and friendly staff. Only negative was that it describes itself as being only a few mins away from the Pompeii ruins, be warned that this means car not walking.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lovely little hotel with a good restaurant. The price is very reasonable and the hotel is clean and modern. From what we saw this is the only option you should consider when staying in Pompeii. The town is very run down and so are the hotels. This was the only place we visited where we ate in the hotel. The host in the restaurant was charming and all the staff were very friendly. The lady in charge seemed a little full on but she was very customer orientated. Make sure you go to the gate where they offer the tours of Pompeii, either audio or guided, as this is not available at all gates. Don't worry about going to Herculaneum if you don't have the time as Pompeii is huge and fantastic. Make sure you make time to go to the museum in Napoli as all the stuff from Pompeii has been transferred there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I travel often through out the world be it for recreational or business purposes and we have stayed at many many hotels to date- therefore we can DEFINATELY say Pompei resort will stand out to us for a long time to come. The staff at the front desk are simply fantastic. They are very friendly yet professional. I speak English and husband French and the staff were able to resolve our queries in whichever language we spoke to them. The bedroom we took was the "basic" one..however compared to many other hotels out there, it was really good. The paint and decor were modern and tv, airconditioner, heater etc all in working order ( we weren't impressed with the channel choices though, they had about 6 channels from several countries but all pretty dull and boring..) and everything else was spotless. The walls i must admit were quite thin as we could sometimes hear conversations from other rooms. What we liked the most was the bathroom. The shower featured a rain shower head along with many other features such as an inbuilt radio, coloured changing lights, steam/sauna option etc. as far as toiletries are concerned, they have taken care of everything- shower gel, shampoo, soap, ear buds, nail filer, tooth brush with tooth paste, one cotton makeup remover bad etc. moving on to the food restaurant- I would say its average.. Too gastronomic and if you want the real traditional Italian food then it's better to try the local restaurants. The breakfast is for people with a sweet tooth or for those that start their day with sugar. Nothing was savory apart from the bread and some cheese. Everything else is cakes and cakes and more cakes. The latte we always had was tops though. Pompei resort is located about 30-40mins walk from Pompei scavi. The resort offers a free shuttle bus which dropped us off and then picked us up from the Pompei ruins (scavi). We were told the shattle bus would take us anywhere as long as its within Pompei. You got to give them notice when you would like to use the shattle bus services and then you are good to go. Overall, we had a fantastic experience. Several times the staff went out of their way to help us. Everyone was exceptionally understanding and met our needs quickly. We highly recommend this place to everyone who looking to have a good, hassle free time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

When one is travelling, the differences between one hotel and another is more than the square foot area of the room, and the number of advertised features, it comes down to the quality of the service provided by the people who work there. We arrived at Hotel Pompei Resort in a distressed state because we had been robbed on the Circumvesuviana train delivering us from Naples train station. We were penniless, and I had lost my visa card.The receptionist on duty, Ornella, organised for a taxi to pick us up and helped us lodge a complaint with the police (essential for insurance puposes) furthermore the taxi driver did not charge us for the pick up and they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine to soothe our shattered nerves.From this moment onwards everything began to heal, we were able to continue with our holiday, visit the ruins, and most importantly maintain our high opinion of the local people. it is so easy to become angry and prejudiced when something like this happens to you. These things are repaired by the kindness of strangers. We left the hotel and Pompei, with a good feeling. Our heartfelt thanks go to Ornella, Aldo and all the others who work there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I found Pompei to be much like Hilo, Hawaii - pretty run down with no "big chain" hotel options. Most of the buildings looked to have had their heyday sometime in the '50s. Also like Hilo, the only reason anyone goes to Pompei is because of the volcano (or, in this case, the aftermath of the volcano).
Note that this property is about a 30 minute walk from Pompei Scavi, the train station nearest the main entrance to the ruins. This train station is poorly staffed, and the cab driver on call when we arrived refused to take us to Hotel Pompei Resort because it was not enough of a fare. We wound up having to walk from the station to the hotel at night with all of our bags. Recommendation: arrive at "Pompei," not "Pompei Scavi" train station!
The hotel itself was fine. The bathroom was one of the best appointed I have seen throughout our travels as far as toiletries are concerned. Shoe shine, travel tooth brushes, toothpaste, etc were all provided upon arrival. I thought it was a nice touch!
I had to put a towel under our door to block the cigarette smoke from coming in. There was some sort of party in the bar downstairs and our room filled with the second hand stuff. Also, the party was quite loud and when the guests left around 2:00 AM we heard them in the parking lot for a while. Not the hotel's fault, but worth mentioning.
The hotel staff was fabulous. Their English was adequate, and they were very helpful when we ran into a variety of issues including a bag lost by our airline and a bottle of wine that leaked into our backpack of electronics. Note: If your hotel package includes a bottle of wine, as ours did, the hotel opens the bottle for you before it is delivered to your room since you likely do not carry around a corkscrew. Do not, as we did, come home from a long rough day, decide to save the wine for tomorrow, and put it in your bag without realizing the bottle is open. It will leak!
Breakfast was pretty awful. It was like walking in to an Entenmann's showroom of stale leftovers. Lots of processed sweets, cakes, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeiresort, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Pompei Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
I have read your review with attention, as I like the long and well detailed reports of our guests. This is the main instruments I have to look after problems or suggestions of our guests
Thank you for your raccomandation.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our overnight stay in Pompei was wonderful. When I made the reservation online -- after making our hotel reservations for Rome -- I couldn't believe the low prices. I figured there must be a mistake, or the hotel wasn't what it was advertised to be. My jaw dropped when we pulled up to the spacious hotel grounds, and from the first moment onsite it was wonderful. The staff were helpful (especially Emilia and Ornella), the breakfast was outstanding, and the accommodations were spacious compared to Rome. I'd return in a heartbeat!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeiresort, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Pompei Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
I have carefully read your review. I am happy to see that your stay was as good as you expected.
I hope to see you again at the Pompei Resort.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pompei Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pompei Resort

Address: Viale Unita d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pompei Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute stroll from Pompeii's ruins, stylish and modern Pompei Resort offers a convenient location near the motorway, the main railway station and the Circumvesuviana line. A free scheduled shuttle takes guests to the town centre. The luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated and well-equipped, containing hydromassage showers and saunas as well as standard amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pompei Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pompei Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.