We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Starita a Materdei

Pizzeria Starita a Materdei
Via Materdei 27, 28, Naples, Italy
0815573682
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,874 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth the wait ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I knew Starita would be busy, as we arrived around 10pm on a Friday. We gave our name and then waited for about 40 mins for a table.
There's a gelateria opposite so you can grab a beer for the wait. I didn't hear any other tourists, only Italians, so I knew it must be good pizza.
And it was. Amazing crust, thicker than in other Naples pizzerias. I had an olive/anchovy pizza. There's a lot of choice on the menu. Prices amazingly reasonable.
Nutella pizza for dessert was probably overkill, but when you're on a gluttony holiday who cares..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,349
    645
    200
    66
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have been living in Naples for thirty years and I think this pizzeria is really the best. The ingredients are always fresh and the base is just perfect.Go either really early or late to avoid the queues,just excellent!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

With a location (slightly) off the beaten track, Starita probably gets slightly fewer tourists than the places in the center of the city. The menu is large, as is the restaurant itself. We started with fried zucchini flowers filled with ricotta, which we really nice. For pizza, we ordered the fanciest variety of margherita, with San Marzano DOC tomato sauce and bufala mozzarella. The tomato sauce was amazing and the cheese as good as you would expect. The crust was good but maybe good have been more flavorful. The center is very soupy, as it should be. We also ordered the Salsicce e friarielli pizza (sausage and a bitter type of broccoli). The sausage here was a little weak (just kind of bland) but the friarielli was simply amazing. Bursting with flavor in every bite. The woman across from us was eating a fried pizza -- I wish we had had time to come back to try that!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pizzas and more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Read about this in a blog and it's known to be one of the most popular pizza places in Naples. I had the Miss Italia pizza with proscuitto and arugula. It was good but I must say the best pizza in town is still da Michele. However, this place has a fantastic choice of pizzas. Da Michele only serves Pizza Margherita and Pizza Napoletana...but they are to die for. Starita serves a variety of traditional sides such as friend squid, fried eggplant, etc.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Napoli pizza that is the real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

After having very good pizza in Rome and Sorrento on previous trips we finally had a chance to have the classic Naples pizza at Starita...it lived up to the reputation. This is a busy place and we happened to have just the right timing as it was already busy but soon had a long wait time. The four of us ordered different pizzas which allowed us to experience just a small variety of the huge assortment of pizzas. I believe we had pizza fritta, Margherita, tartufo & porcini and lastly the basic Napoletana with San Marzano tomatoes) which was classic and most everyone loved it. So much so that we had to order another. Wish we had time to come back but we only had a few hours in Naples on the way to Sorrento again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Starita a Materdei also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Pizzeria Starita a Materdei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Starita a Materdei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.