We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Napolean Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Starita a Materdei

Pizzeria Starita a Materdei
Via Materdei 27, 28, Naples, Italy
0815573682
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 1,876 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Napolean Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was a long cab ride from our hotel, but it was well worth it. Pizza was delicious and it was inexpensive. I think 3 of us ate with appetizer and a litre of house wine for 30 euro. Local place not a tourist destination.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,351
    647
    200
    66
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Angioletti fritti the best dish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I was in Pizzeria Starita in 2011 and few day ago was my second visit. I absolutely agree with the comment below, this is not a classical pizzeria anymore, it offers too many pizzas with some scary ingridients combination.

I ate DOP Pizzai with buffalo mozzarela and san marzano pomodore it was too oily and too heavy. I would rather have normal margharita next time.

However, the best dish in Starita is by far Angioletti fritti with little cherry tomatos made as a salad. Little "fingers" fried dough is a miracle and of the best dishes I ever had. If you gomto Starita you can only eat this, you can order this dish for 2,4 or 6 people, you may as well go for 6 people option and have it as the main dish for 2.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great pizza, but not my favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Napoli has quite a few great Pizzerie and arguing which one is better is really a matter of taste. Starita is among the best but for my money it doesn't win the crown of queen of pizzas for a couple of reasons: one is the pizza, the other a more idealistic one.

Before I explain why, a little note on the location and restaurant. The area where Starita is located is an old down to earth Neapolitan neighbourhood: a bit rough around the edges maybe, but a reflection of the city. The inside of the restaurant and the service in a way mimic this too, basic, maybe a bit in need of polishing up but still friendly at the core. One note on wait times: Starita is and remains very popular, but thanks to a couple more rooms being now open as dining space, the waiting times have shortened. Also if you really do not want to wait, come around 8 PM for dinner as most of the crowd starts coming in around 8:30-9ish.

Back to the food. The fried starters are all good, but quite filling so be careful in overindulging unless you are really hungry: we visited with a large groups so we got to taste a few different ones and none disappointed, we especially liked the diavolilli (pizza dough chips with fresh tomato salad) the corna di Maradona (fried calzone with ricotta and cicoli, a Neapolitan classic), Still the pizza is the real star of the show and Starita's more traditional pies are very good. The ingredients are good and fresh, prepared by masters of the art of pizza according to how tradition dictates and maybe this is why I think the pizza is very good but not great: on my last visit my Margherita DOP was tasty, well baked and all a Neapolitan pizza should be but as many traditional pizzas in town it was a little bit too oily for my taste and the dough was just slightly heavy.

What I really dislike about the menu is the newer, more "creative" items that to my eye just try to appease the out of town crowd with overindulgent, baroque and sometimes downright scary topping combos. The beauty of Neapolitan pizza is in its simplicity and that part of the menu betrays that spirit. So stick to the more traditional pies and you will get a good taste of what a proper Neapolitan pizza should be and all for a great price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Super miracle tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went for lunch and there were locals and tourists, no waiting time.
The pizza was amazingly tasty, I've never had a tasty pizza like this before!
Worth going to Starita!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mamma mia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A very simple place in a very ordinary street.
But what a pizza!!
Wonderful pizza, fresh beer on the tap.
A place not to miss in Naples.

Think of planning a taxi to go back to your hotel if you are going late at night. The region is not nice when it is dark and streets are desert.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Starita a Materdei also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Pizzeria Starita a Materdei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Starita a Materdei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.