We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse stay ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Camera Con Vista Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Camera Con Vista Apartments to your Saves list
Camera Con Vista Apartments
Vico Secondo della Quercia 4, 80134 Naples, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worse stay ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our stay started with a taxi ride where the cab driver couldn't find our hotel so dropped us off in a dodgy street after charging us extra for our luggage....two bags! The place is a misnomer.....the only view is off a filthy graffiti strewn street. You can watch teens in the street graffitiing on walls and lighting fires inches from motorbikes. I have never felt more unsafe in all my life. As we were given no toilet paper at all and had arrived in the evening we had to find a restaurant just so we could go to the toilet. When we returned there was a large group of young people drinking in the doorway of the building. Juggling the pile of keys to get in safely was a challenge. The tv remote batteries didn't work and the internet too slow to load any pages without continually crashing. Room was noisy with sirens and people having very loud domestics in neighbouring buildings. An electric kettle would have enabled us to make a cup of tea....we ended up improvising by boiling water in the microwave. The shower was the smallest I have ever seen....was hard to jump out the way of the ice cold water when the hot water disappeared after 5 seconds. I am not one for leaving bad feedback but I cannot find much positive to say. Arriving on a Saturday night was perhaps not a good idea but no toilet paper is inexcusable!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giusi L, Direttore at Camera Con Vista Apartments, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Kind Kim,
we are really sorry for your bad stay with us.
When we wrote, we have indicated the way from the station by public transport, it was our fault not even tell you the right precautions for the taxi,but normally, since we are in the historical center, the taxi drivers know all the area very well.
Unfortunately, we can only respond for what concerns the structure and not for the surroundings.
Generally, as it's a vacation home, and not an hotel or a bed&breakfast, we provide the basics, a toilet paper only for the first night of arrival and the guests should supply for the rest of stay. But, however, we'll put more attention in adding more paper rolls.
The electric kettle was in the apartment, but maybe some guests had taken away with them and we have had not time to replace it. As for the surroundings, the building is in the heart of the old city with all the pros and cons that this may entail. And 'in the heart of the old city, close to all major attractions, but it also means being in a place of great movement sometimes confusing, especially in the evenings weekends.
The old town is characterized by buildings very close to each other and often it is unavoidable that the voices of the neighbors feel even in your own apartment.
We understand that for people not used to it and does not know our history may seem unbearable, but this also gives you the size of what it is to live in an old building in the center of an ancient city.
Naples is a busy city, chaotic and as far as our little street is closed to the traffic,the noise from the street can be up to our building.
we apologies again that your stay was negative but we will use your information to try to improve some services of our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    25
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
40
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We chose to stay in an apartment for 3 nights as we wanted the convenience of making a quick snack for my toddler. The studio apartment was quite small (equivalent to the size of a deluxe hotel room?) and it included a wash basin, stove, small refrigerator and some crockery and cutlery.
Roseanna was lovely. She provided us with information on how to get to the apartment(instructions for the taxi driver) and approximate taxi fares from Naples Central Station. She arranged to meet us at check in, offered to arrange a baby cot for my son and gave directions to the Port of Naples.
The room was quite cold the first night, however on the second and third night it felt a bit more warm. Tried to turn the air-conditioner on with no luck.
Wi fi was quite good on the laptop and mobile phone.
No heater in the bathroom.
Be sure to bring your own toiletries. The warm water in the shower worked well, which was a blessing.
No dishwashing soap and scrub provided to wash utensils after use. So all we did was rinse the glasses and bowls after use.
Housekeeping needs more looking in to. We had dog fur on our luggages (which were set on the floor), more dog fur on our socks, clothes and jackets. Nothing a good vacuum cleaning won't fix!

Located 'in the heart of the historic centre" as we were told, the neighborhood was only slightly dodgy, but with cafes just around the corner and taxis on the left side near the piazza, it was a good find. I didn't look for the metro as we took the ferry from the port to do a couple of day trips to Capri and Sorrento.
An easy walk to Via Toledo with so many choices of great food and gelato treats.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at small studio without washing machine for 4nts.
The studio is small but located at just an entrance of Spacca Napoli, and 15mins walk to ferry terminal and alibus.

It has a kitchen but no seasonings such as salt, oil etc, if you are planning to cook something, you will need to buy all in super market nearby.
No bathtub, only with small shower room with limited hot water, so be aware that water might get cold during the shower.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice appartment, clean and kitchen was well equipped, but WIFI reception was very poor. Close to Dante metro station and Via Toledo, if you have some time you will figure out the (very well organised and cheap) public transportation system. Neighbourhood is a bit rough. Airconditioning was not working the first night, and it took some time and energy to get it fixed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

While walking to Camera Con Vista (CCV) from Dante Metro station, I asked our host Valentina why it's named so and her reply was - you get a view of life from the apartment. Bang on, I'd say. CCV is essentially a large apartment and you get to stay in one of the rooms with an attached bathroom et al. The apartment itself faces another set of apartments and if you stand in the balcony, you'll get a good view of the houses opposite you...

That aside, CCV is located very close to the Dante metro station (a 7 minute walk probably) and i situated practically on Via Toledo. The apartment is quiet and you can get a good night's sleep without being disturbed by traffic / people noise. It's roomy and well lit though the wifi signal wasn't particularly effective. Clean and efficient, it's one of the best places to stay in.

It's not very close to Napoli Centrale (you have to change two trains and cross some serious staircases with luggage to get to Dante / back). Also, there aren't too many supermarkets around so you may want to stock up for breakfast (it isn't part of the deal) when you come across one.

Overall a good place to stay in and we'd recommend you stay here, if you're okay with a slight commute to Napoli Centrale.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our stay at Camera Con Vista was very good, being well located in central Naples, with easy access to all of the key locations within half an hours walk. The surrounding area is urban and appears scruffy at first look, but is full of character and history on closer inspection. We travelled extensively around Naples and beyond, and had a wonderful holiday. Valentina was a delightful host, and the apartment is spacious and well appointed. I would recommend this to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The camera con vista apartments are very near to the Dante metro.We were met there by the owner Valentina,who took us back to the apartment. The apartment is on a narrow street, which is safe and clean.

We stayed in the studio, which had an en suite bathroom. The room was large, bright, airy and we loved it. The kitchen is well equipped. Bathroom is clean. The only drawback is wifi isnt available all across the room,

The apartment is value for money. The location makes it easy to explore naples using the metro or walking down via toledo and all the way to the port !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camera Con Vista Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camera Con Vista Apartments

Address: Vico Secondo della Quercia 4, 80134 Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely and relaxing mini-apartments, right in the center, on a nice and safety area, close to the public square of Gesù Nuovo and near to the most important tourist attractions of the city. They are bright and quiet, made up of one/two bedrooms, one living room with equipped kitchen corner and one bathroom with shower. They are inside an elegant building with lift, on the third floor. Nearby you will find restaurants, bar, shops, groceries, cinemas, theatres and all kind of means of transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Camera Con Vista Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camera Con Vista Apartments Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camera Con Vista Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.