We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Caprese

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Caprese to your Saves list
Luna Caprese
Via Chiatamone 7, 80121 Naples, Italy (San Ferdinando)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 378 Naples B&B and Inns
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We recently spent three nights in this B&B in Naples. We had hear all sorts of stories about how dangerous the city is and, having driven through some rather dodgy looking areas on our way from the airport, were not sure what to expect. When the taxi dropped us off outside a tatty-looking green door, we really did start to wonder if we had made a mistake. We need not have worried as Arnaldo came down and took us upstairs via a rather small lift to the gracious, charming and cool Luna Caprese. It is ideally located near the promenade and within easy walking distance of the centre of Naples. Arnaldo was very helpful and gave us lots of information about what to do, where to eat and how to use public transport to get to Pompeii. We spent two days wandering round the city enjoying the sights and sounds and did not feel threatened at all. However, I would not venture into some areas at night but the promenade area was fine and there are lots of good restaurants and cafes. The room was huge, the bed was very comfortable and, with the shutters closed, you could not hear the outside traffic. There was a small balcony from where we could watch the comings and goings on the street below. My only slight quibble is with the breakfast which was a little limited and the croissants did not seem absolutely fresh. That said, Arnaldo made us tea and cake when we got back after a day's sightseeing and was most welcoming and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
14
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at Luna Caprese and were very pleased with the area, room and service. Arnoldo checked with us a few days before our arrival to ask when we would be arriving. Our room was ready early and we were our warmly welcomed. That afternoon Sarah sat down with me to give a a bit of history about the city and various castles. She made several recommendations for dinner and gave me directions and a map. My husband was in Naples for a business meeting and when the person arrived to pick him up and take him to the office Sarah offered a spot there for them to meet and offered them refreshments as well. The next morning we had a nice breakfast and Arnoldo helped us down with our bags and saw us off. We plan to travel back to Naples in a few months and will definitely be staying at Luna Caprese!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Myself and my 2 daughters stayed at Luna Caprese fromo 17th-24th May 2013. When we arrived at the B&B we didn't know what awaited us as we had heard loads of terrible stories about Napoli hotels etc. But we were so shocked when the door opened to reveal a "chic, elegant B&B". Our room was large with a double, single and sofa bed. Out room had a small kitchen too. It was amazing and the bathroom was clean.....!!! The staff were friendly, helpful and the owner was fantastic. It was also 2 minutes walk from the seafront. A great location for getways to Capri, Amalfi Coast, Sorrento, Pompeii, Vesuvius etc. Also you are minutes away from one of the most elegant shopping centres, 5 minutes away to Via Chiaia for those who are into designer labels...also it is so "safe" we were out late at night with no problems. We had easy access to the buses and the Port where we caught the ferry to Capri. I will definitely stay at Luna Caprese again and if you are in Naples - do stay there, you will love!.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We wouldn't have stayed here as we didn't book this place initially as it was categorised as a B&B in the website. However, due to a cancellation for our reserved apartment, the apartment owner referred us to this cosy and warm B&B. Initially, I was quite worried as I read some reviews in trip advisor that there is no use forkitchen. We needed the kitchen as our little Bambino requires certain diet which I prepare whenever we are travelling. We made it clear to Mr Arnaldo,the Owner, and although this was not specifically acknowledged in email, I was so happy we were given the room with thekitchenette.

The entire place has a very nice ambience, all warm and cosy with beautiful decoration. Our room is big (One king bed and a little bed for mybambino) and comes with a kitchennette all equipped with kitchen necessities. The Bed is large with comfortable beddings and pillow - very important for me for a good nite's sleep. Bathroom is also large comes with nice perfumed toiletteries.

Mr Arnaldo himself is nice and friendly and made us feel very welcome. The location is the very best about this place...we walked everywhere, just across is already the seaside where you can see the magnificent view of the infamous Vesuvius...it was breathtaking. We had dinner and lunch in the many, many reastaurants facing the sea...all with fresh seafood and amazing view! There was a little shop selling grocery tucked just around the corner if you need anything...

If you walked further, you can even go to ferry terminal to other island- this may take you upto 30 mins with our tot on tow. But we had to take the taxi the next day to catch ferry as we had just too many baggages. The Chiaia,main shopping centre is just 15-20 mins by foot.

As for the breakfast, love the fresh coffee prepared for us and the alternate breads, cheese,croissants and of course Nutella offered. The best is their lemon pie,it was scrumptious.

This place is highly recommended for its location, beautiful setting and nice, friendly warm napolitans running the place.

Room Tip: If you require kitchen use, request for a room with kitchenette asnot all rooms comes with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Going to Naples was somewhat intimidating. We are mid-50's on our honeymoon and not sure where to stay. We were VERY happy with our choice and the room at Luna Caprese exceeded our expectations.
The area was perfect to walk and explore - very safe and close to the beautiful wharf.
Our room was clean, beautiful decorated and the breakfast was very generous.
DO NOT let the entrance fool you! Naples has many wonderful alcoves and this hotel is located in one of them. Get past the door to the interior of the alcove and be surprised! Our room was well above the traffic and with windows closed - completely quiet. The hotel has been very nicely decorated and I would go back in a heartbeat! Clean, safe, quiet and the service was exceptional.

Room Tip: Ask the Arnaldo for your specific needs - he was very helpful to provide whatever we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised with Luna Caprese. The website and trip advisor ranking dont do this little gem justice. The location of the B&B was perfect and within perfect walking distance of sights, restaurants, and the promenade. Its also in an ideally safe location.

The rooms are very large and I felt like I was staying in a house of someone I know. It's extremely comfortable! Staff are friendly and I was very well treated by the owner who presented me with delicious coffee upon my arrival.

Bottom line: clean large rooms, better quality than most 4 stars in Napoli, modern bathrooms, great antique interior in the common areas, homey feel and friendly staff!

I'd definitely stay in this B&B when I return to Napoli.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Naples was the second stop on our honeymoon, and we had an absolutely fantastic time. After the relative calm of Rome, the non-stop buzz (not to say roar) of Naples came as something of a shock, and Luna Caprese was a more than welcome relief. We soon settled into the Neapolitan way of life, but Luna Caprese's cool, quiet oasis was always lovely to return to. Our room was huge, with quiet and efficient air-conditioning, great soundproofing from the busy roads (thankfully four storeys below), and always spotlessly clean. Breakfast was underwhelming, but as a sit-down breakfast is not part of most Italians' life, we could hardly complain, and there were always fantastic cafes if we needed a top-up! We also found that, while communications in advance of our arrival were perfectly professional, the welcome itself was less than warm - no local tips or guidance (apart from business cards of local restos in the "lobby"), and rarely did we see anyone at the desk. In a B&B of this size (4 or 5 rooms), this is perhaps not surprising, and we were more than able to find our way around (finding a bad restaurant in Naples is much more of a challenge than finding a good one!), but it explains the 4- rather than 5-star review. Wonderfully quiet, perfectly secure and fantastically located - but a couple of small changes away from perfection. That said, when we return to Naples, we'd definitely return to Luna Caprese.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Caprese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Caprese

Address: Via Chiatamone 7, 80121 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 378 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luna Caprese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Caprese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.