We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down the best pizza in Naples!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Pizzeria e Friggitoria Di Matteo

Antica Pizzeria e Friggitoria Di Matteo
Via dei Tribunali, 94, 80138 Naples, Italy (Pendino)
39 081 455262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 1,861 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Pendino
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Hands down the best pizza in Naples!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Slowly but surely I have been trying all the most famous pizzeria in Naples and for several years this has definatley been my favorite. The pizzeria only services marinara (red sauce) or margherita (mozzerella) pizzas in a very small location. The pizzas are cheap (EUR4.50) arrive piping hot and melt in your mouth. When I visited, my boyfriend and I each got a pizza. I was full after the pizza but it was so good I was tempted to get another.... can't wait to go back. A word of caution- don't go around lunch or dinner time on the weekends when the wait to get a table will exceed 2 hours.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    977
    550
    159
    92
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Some of the best pizza I have ever eaten. Chased it with an ice cold beer. Yum! It was also very reasonably priced! A happy experience all around!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magione, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the Top Pizzerie of Naples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I have been going to Di Matteo for a pizza since 1985. The quality has never changed. Having a pizza here is an unforgettable experience. The best pizza ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Good Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visited in November 2012. Via Tribunali is an interesting street with many restaurants. Pizzzeria Di Matteo has two floors. It is easy to overlook so watch the numbers. They serve take away foods at the front door with the pizza oven right behind. Margarita pizza and prosciutto version are both 3.50 euros and are both delicious. There was no cover or service charge. Pizza was the best we had in southern Italy for the two weeks we traveled. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Magnifico :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Di Matteo needs no recommendation from a guide book, the crowd of locals outside the take-away serve-over speaks volumes. Inside, to the left, there are a few tables for a sit-in pizza. Prices between 3 - 6 Euros an 18" pizza, you'll struggle to finish one yourself (a challenge, especially if you've also had an antipasti - which are HUGE in portion size). All the pizza's are simply delicious. If you eat in only 1 place in all of Naples, make it Di Matteo and you will not be disappointed! YUM.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Pizzeria e Friggitoria Di Matteo also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Antica Pizzeria e Friggitoria Di Matteo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Pizzeria e Friggitoria Di Matteo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.