We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How wrong can dinner go?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Umberto

Umberto
Via Alabardieri, 30 - Piazza dei Martiri, 80121 Naples, Italy
+39 081 418555
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Umberto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #387 of 1,854 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Doing business, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The history of our restaurant began in 1916 when Ermelinda and Umberto Di Porzio opened a little trattoria, known to most as "Don Umberto". Our menù is rich and varied with its main section built on traditional Neapolitan recipes. Seasonal variations are made throughout the year, our traditional Neapolitan pizza menu and the exquisite family atmosphere all form part of the 'Umberto' identity. During the year we offer a variety of degustation menus to accompany cultural events and local festivals, revising classical Partenopean recipes with an often contemporary twist. We dedicate several areas of our restaurant to Neapolitan and foreign artists with a bi-monthly change. We organise food and wine courses with highly respected organisations such as Slow food, The Authentic Neapolitan pizza and Sommelier Association. Above all we endeavor to continue to care for customers with the dedication expected from a family with over a century of experience in welcoming, recommending and delivering dishes according to the Partenopean tradition.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“How wrong can dinner go?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Restaurant suggested by our hotel as good for local faire-so off we walked. Yes, close to the hotel and the upper fashionable district, however poor for service and food! We ordered Spaghetti al vongole and Lightly salted Cod, with a side salad, dark beer and house red wine. We also ordered the house dessert. The wine came, and was very tanic, the beer delivered was not what I ordered (it was exchanged for the correct beer 1/2 way thru the meal); Salad good, delivered quickly. Salad was the best part of the meal. The spaghetti was the first sign all was going down hill! Altho Italians don't over cook their pasta, this was stiff and cardboard--very under cooked. The quantity was minimal. A poor showing for sure! Then arrived the "lightly salted cod"--I had to send it back, it was supposed to be grilled...it was solid, cold in the middle and not appropriately cooked. Their explanation was that it was "thick" and hard to grill. Well, does that mean I need to eat it cold & raw? When we sent it back to be re-cooked, it finally was edible. The dessert was forgotten about, we reminded them that it was ordered, they apologized a lot...it finally arrive. They did give us dessert for free...as it had been forgotten. Overall the experience was not one I would like to repeat, and warn others not to waste your money on this establishment. Yes, they claim they have been around and serving customers since 1916...highly popular with locales........but we don't think it was worthwhile, and definitely not true Italian service or food. I think they are living on "past notoriety"...and should improve or close their doors.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteUmberto, Proprietario at Umberto, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
How unfair a customer could be? Your description of the dinner and the food is a bit different from what really happened. We tried very hard to satisfy you needs, but was impossible. I'm the owner of the restaurant and I took care of you, without any response, apart from you fixed sight while I was trying to explain things. We was very busy and understuffed as one of the waiter had a flu. I personally changed your beer (probably if I didn't do that you never realize that wasn't what you ordered, as it was always double malt beer, only the glass was different!!) and how big portion of spaghetti could you expect if you divide it for two?? We use only Pasta di gragnano, dryied at low temperature and we serve always it 'al dente'. If you are american and want it overcooked or simply more cooked you should ask it before. The same for the cod. We use the best quality of cod, and the fillet in the middle are very high, sometimes, when you grill it, could happen that is a bit undercooked, but we don't cook it too much (like all the fish) to preserve the taste and the quality of the fish. The wine was tannic? Why didnt't ask me to change it? It was aglianico wine, that is tannic always!!! Anyway the most unfair thing of your review is the end: in three year our restaurant is going to become one hundred running restaurant from the same family (at the forth generation) and we are not living on the 'past notority' as you think... We serve thousands of customers and sometimes they are not glad of the service or of the food, but a very few judge our professionality and history like you did, and I warn people don't lose time to read what your review, because it's not true, it's not fair and unpolite. Glad not see you again! Regards. Massimo Di Porzio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    195
    76
    40
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“fine food, great service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Went to Umberto's today, and had a great experience. We came in late for our own standards, as we had adapted to the local timings, so we ate at atound 2215hrs. Fine with us, and the restaurant was full and friendly. Staff was very nice and forthcoming, the place inviting and the menu was expansive. One of us is vegetarian and there are a lot of veggie pastas and just plain veggie dishes (formally side dishes but served as a main) on the menu, next to pizzas and meat and fish. I had the napolitanean meatloaf with eggplant parmigiano and my partner a lovely pasta with smoked provolone, vesuvian tomatoes and green peppers. Both where ok, the meatloaf was a little of an acquired taste, as i expected a ground beef pattie, but this was a dense,probably pork, loaf with an egg in the middle covered by tomato sauce. It was nice though. The pasta was simple but yummie, nice smokey flavour, with the bitter edge of the peppers and the sweet tomatoes... mmm. Second we got the side dishes as main, a zucchini parmigiano and green peppers with tomatoe and basil sauce , both good and fresh. Accompanied by a nice wine ( at a more than reasonable price) from Pompei, this was a complete and lovely meal. Service was good, the people nice and called a taxi for us. We also like the fact that the restaurant caters especially for people with a gluten allergy. The minus is the lighting:it is quite brightly lit, a lot of lamps, it would be nicer and more intimate if it would be toned down a little. We would come again and recommend.


Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteUmberto, Proprietario at Umberto, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear customer, thank for your review. We are glad thet you had good time and good food at Umberto, and we wait for you again. One stars more would have been better for us!!! ;-) Your review is a four star review!!! Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dragan Belgrade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This restaurant is placed in very atractive area of Naples, has a long tradition, almost one century, and it is very nice place to spend time with dear person in it .
You will feel the spirit of the south of Italy and the staff will only reinforce this friendly feeling . Let them to guide you through this trip in the best menu which feeling currently for you .
We are left to, and here are the results in the photos. Just to point out, make a place for limoncello (a sweet liqueur) which is something completely unique and awesome .
For the first dish we had fried zucchini, and stuffed zucchini flowers. For the second we opted for the spaghetti alle vongole and Pizza Margherita . And for the end sweet Babaaaaaaaaaaaaa !

Vi auguro un buon appetito !!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteUmberto, Proprietario at Umberto, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks Dragan, I'm happy that You had a wonderful meal with your nice wife. Anytime You will be in Naples in the future Umberto will be your home. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent dining place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This restaurant was next to our hotel and we have tried it when we arrived. we were too tired after long flight. It was very good choice! Place is very nice and popular. I have got there fried anchovies I loved. Wild strawberries desert was amazing! Mozzarella for starter, seak! Food was very delicious. As a result we dined there all 3 evenings we had in Naples. Event after opera we went home to "our" restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteUmberto, Proprietario at Umberto, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Tanya, thanks very much for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed the dinners at Umbertos and we hope to see you again if you come around Naples, Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came here due to the recommendation in tripadvisor. Location was ok, but the service was not great. But the worst was the food. Old chicken only half cooked and probably not fresh prepared, several days old antipasti, untasty sides, pasta not al dente, .... we all felt bad after this dinner. We left more then 50 % of the food ... actually we should have left immediatedly after the antipasti desaster.
Needed afterwards a lot of grappa to get rid of the bad taste.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteUmberto, Owner at Umberto, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Customer, sorry for what you think was a bad experience. I'm surprised of what happened to you, as we prepare most of our food at the moment. You wrote that you drink a lot of grappa at the end of the meal, and probably that was the reason of indigestion you were talking about. Sorry anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umberto also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umberto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.