We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary sushi and modern design” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kukai Nibu

Kukai Nibu
Via Carlo de Cesare 52 (Angolo Piazza Trieste e Trento) | San Ferdinando, 80132 Naples, Italy
+39 081 425888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #457 of 1,994 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $29 - $43
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Indonesian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Contemporary sushi and modern design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Wonderful sushi in a surprising place. It is not often I am happily walk away from a Japanese restaurant. The fish was fresh and the rolls were wonderfully made. The building was designed in a modern design that could be from the top restaurants in New York City. I would go back in a heart beat when given the chance. Not only would I recommend going for just the sushi, but you have to go to at lest try the green tea chocolate cake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    252
    95
    47
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london- Tuscany
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great sushi with a NYC feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had the best japanese lunch ever!!! Great sushi, great presentation and a fantastic dessert make Kukai really a great place to go.
Every time i am in Naples i am happy
To eat quality food at Kukai
The interiors are very modern and staff is very friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful sushi in a stunning restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

After eight days, I needed a break from Italian food. It was a toss between Thai and Japanese but I'm glad we chose the latter.
The setting is up a tiny street, near Teatro San Carlos. The interior is very modern and stylish. The staff were efficient, friendly, spoke English and French and knew the menu inside out. It is not cheap but the quality is excellent. I would eat there again if I lived in Naples

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food but overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice and cozy,modern restaurant. The staff was a bit rude. Sushi was good, but the entire menu was way overpriced! Green thee for €5,50, cheapest bottle of wine €16,-. service €2,50 per person, just a bottle of water is even €3,50! cheapest sushi set (9 pieces) was €12. Wouldn't recommend this place because of the prices. Other than that,is was ok.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“In a word: poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Massively rubbish. Admittedly might have been spoilt by London Japanese but this was just disappointing in the extreme.

Food: sushi was decent but they served Chinese noodles as ramen with overcooked pieces of chicken. My friend's Salmon Don was tasteless and rubbery.

Service: indifferent, unknowledgable and so so slow. They were very good looking but not really the important thing

Value: ridiculously expensive for such poor food, really managed to make it all add up

Atmosphere: very stylish and pretty and that seemed to be what it was going on but you know what a restaurant is there not to just look good but also serve good food. This place sadly failed in the latter which I am sure we all agree is far more important.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kukai Nibu also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Kukai Nibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kukai Nibu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.