We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend in Naples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cimarosa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cimarosa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cimarosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Domenico Cimarosa 29, 80127 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 193 Hotels in Naples
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice weekend in Naples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great locations , 5th floor building , outside look awful without indication but very centrally, near to City Center with connection metro to move around , hotel very good and clean. Very comfortable room with view, bathroom with shower not bath , continental breakfast . Stuff very friendly , thanks to Antonio.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    76
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
62
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel was just we needed for our one night in Naples before flying home from Naples airport. However the hotel is very difficult to find - our shuttle service had to ring the hotel for directions. There is hardly any signage at the front of the hotel which makes it difficult even when you are in the right location. Having said that as soon as you reach the fifth floor and the internal hotel entrance there is a warm welcome and the staff are very helpful. The room was fine and very quiet considering we were in a city. Nice to be able to see out to the sea and Capri. Referring to another recent review there were no signs of smoking in our room or on its balcony. Breakfast was perfectly adequate - range of fresh croissants, bread, yogurts, cereal,fresh fruit, 3 different cakes. Coffee from a machine but range of teas also available. Breakfast was included in our room rate which we felt was very reasonable for the facilities and location. Hotel really well located for metro and funiculore whch connects quickly to Naples historic centre. Vomero district felt safe in the evening and plenty of restaurant choice. 15 minute taxi journey to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view /Capri
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeno, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very good position on the hills of Vomero, which is a very nice part of Naples with a view on Capri, having good restaurants and bars with well dressed guests of kind behavior. The hotel is all located in the 5th and 6th floor of an older "palazzo", rooms ar nice, well designed and, what's outstanding for average italian hotels, the room size is big enough and the bathroom as well. Breakfast is good italian style (if you do expect english, american or german breakfast you have not to complain but simply remind that you are in Naples and an italian Hotel not in a Sheraton, Marriott or Steigenberger). From the Hotel it takes only a few minutes to go with the cable railway down to the seaside of Chiaia and if you need any kind of advises or suggestions, the hotel manager will be happy to give you very good ones.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a late review. I'm at a loss as to why so many people think this hotel is ok. Good points - it's next to train/funiculare and area is airy, pleasant, near the castle and great viewpoints. Some nice restaurants and shops too.
Bad points...the hotel in general! Breakfast was cake with more cake. After two days of next to nothing, we bought our own and ate it in their kitchen. Even the coffee was bad. Room was bare, simple and grubby. We had a balcony ....yay but fag ends in the window box, no plants and not clean. The bathroom had a broken towel rail, broken shower rail and v thin towels. Someone else said upmarket hostel. I totally agree. Give it a miss. You can find far better for the money. Thinking of it now gives me the shivers. Oh and we never saw anyone else in the 3 days we were there. Strange?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiloo, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated near 2 funicolares and 1 metro station. And it is a small hotel situated on the 5th floor. It is a clean, modern and new hotel with friendly, helpfull and attentive personel. The room was also new and clean, with a nice bathroom. Door to the balcony can be opened with a beautiful view over the island of Capri. The room is well isolated against noise. Airconditioning is present. Breakfast is basic italian, which mainly consists of sweet products together with some fruit. The hotel has a good price/quality ratio especially because everything looks new and well maintained.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite difficult to find and not very well signed outside. I arrived at 7.00pm and it was quite dark which made it even harder. After 7.00pm the front doors are locked and you have to use an intercom. There are also residential apartments in the same building, not quite what I was expecting. However the guy on reception, Antonio was very pleasant although he couldn't speak English and my Italian is too limited. A very strange little lift to my floor where you have to hold the button in the whole time or the lift stops! Upon arriving at my room I was very surprised at the size and my view of Sorrento and Capri. As a smoker they put me in a room with a balcony so I could smoke outside. All in all a very nice pleasant little hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Conveniently located in the heart of the Vomero neighborhood, the Cimarosa Hotel is just a few steps away from the Funiculare (which takes you to downtown Naples) and within walking distance to San Martino Museum, the Villa Floridian and Castel Sant’Elmo. The hotel is on the fifth floor of a residential building - you may need to be buzzed in if you get there when the main entrance is closed (dial 1010 on the intercom). The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The European style beds have crisp white linens and big pillows. The property has a modern, euro-chic décor and the rooms on the right hand side offer a beautiful view of the Sorrento peninsula and the island of Capri. There is a complementary breakfast buffet in the morning w/ self-serve coffee, cappuccino, caffe' latte, croissants, cakes, yogurt, etc. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Manuele, Massimo and Antonio (at the front desk) were all absolutely charming and very helpful. I very much enjoyed my stay at the Cimarosa Hotel and would definitely recommend it.
Luisa P.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cimarosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cimarosa

Address: Via Domenico Cimarosa 29, 80127 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Naples
#20 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#31 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cimarosa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a marvelous hillside in the chic Vomero neighborhood is Naples' Hotel Cimarosa. This elegant establishment is fully immersed in one of the city's most fascinating districts. Renowned among Naples' hotels for the high quality of its services and original, uniquely designed furnishings, the hotel, at just a short walk from the city's most famous sights, is the perfect starting point for an amazing stay. Every corner of Naples tells the story of Italy's history; museums, squares, and churches are all around you. The Mediterranean climate and the splendor of the unique coastline will accompany you on various itineraries to Capri, Ischia, and along the nearby Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cimarosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimarosa Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cimarosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.