We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greater on the block” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buono Hotel

Save Saved
You added Buono Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buono Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nuova Poggioreale 158/G, 80143 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 193 hotels in Naples
Perugia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Greater on the block”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel several times during the year and it is always a good choice. The breakfast is not the best around here, you could enjoy a lot of typical cafe near the hotel. The personnel and the hospitality are good, so are the rooms.recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    35
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
18
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bristol uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This Hotel does not deserve the one stars that some people have given it (though we booked the hotel off the back of the "treated like a filthy bum" review! we just had to see what it was like!). Yes the area is a bit rough, but then again so is most of Naples! The hotel is gated from the main road and feels very secure, the staff were fairly helpful although couldn't speak much English and the room was clean and comfortable. we paid 40 euros on a late booking site and we felt it was a great bargain.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We turned up ( approx 9p30pm) after booking this hotel on wotif.com, to be told that we did not have a reservation. After much arm waving and pleading to use google translate, we finally managed to show that we did and still had to provide a credit card as collateral as the hotel had not received payment from the booking company yet. We then had to pay an extra 10 euro to park a motorbike on the premises. We entered the room which was fairly sparse with no fridge, limited air con capacity and no wifi as the signal is so weak. When we re entered reception to use the internet we were told it worked in the room. we tried to explain that it did not but was yelled at by the manager. I was then woken at 3 am by all the movement outside our room. The night manger was obviously shifting furniture and watching tv until 5am when it went silent again for an hour. We then got up to wtch the staff eating breakfast as we tried checking out. Would not return, service and facility appaling for the money paid.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I prepaid for this hotel. I arrived at this hotel in the morning, and asked if I could leave my bag there and come back later in the PM for the check-in. The front desk receptionist told me that before noon, there is nothing he would do for me, not even keep my (small) bag at the reception. He told me to toss it in a shady corner of the lobby. He was extremely rude.
Despite his awful attitude, I asked him if at noon he could put my bag in the room, and he agreed. When I came back in the PM, the guy had left, and my bag was still in the same hole as before.

The hotel is located underneath an overpass, one block from the Naples Penitentiary. Across the streets are cheap hookers. To reach the hotel you need to walk in the middle of a busy street as the sidewalks are jammed with trash: see pictures!

If you like trash, penitentiaries, hookers, awful demeaning front staff, book this place.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones not located there ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel might state that it's close to the airport, but what they don't say is that it takes the taxi driver forever to navigate the one-way system AND it cost us £25 to get there!Don't expect any food or snacks to be served - they're not. If you want breakfast, you must order it when you book the room. The staff said there was a cafe nearby, but we walked up and down the seedy street, but found nothing - not the sort of place you want to walk around at dusk.
We had a room on the ground floor close to the Reception. It was noisy with loud voices and 'comings and going' in the neighbouring room.
The room and bedding were clean, but the services offered were non-existent.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

We booked this hotel at the last minute while already traveling in Italy. It seemed newer and clean and a decent bargain. The hotel is newly renovated and is very clean and modern. It is however off the beaten path and would not be a good choice for older travelers, travelers with children, or someone with mobility issues. You can get to the hotel via cab from the train station for around 10 euros or you can take a bus (which can be a bit annoying if you are carrying larger bags) that gets you just outside the front gate in about 12 minutes. We walked to the train station once or twice from the hotel which was fine during the day -- but a bit sketchy at night.

If you can handle the fact that you will not be located near tourist sites then this hotel is a good value.

The front desk staff for the most part (while not as fluent in English as many other hotels in Italy) were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast offered is decent -- and again -- the staff is very helpful.

The room is clean and updated -- bed comfortable -- and the bathroom practical. The only problem we had was that the water temperature the first morning was very cold -- which seemed to have been remidied the following morning.

Again -- if you are willing to sacrifice location and views for value and comfort then this would be a great hotel for you.

  • Liked — The value
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buono Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buono Hotel

Address: Via Nuova Poggioreale 158/G, 80143 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 193 hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buono Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Buono Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buono Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.