We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel of the Sun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel of the Sun to your Saves list
Hostel of the Sun
15 Via Melisurgo, 80123 Naples, Italy (Porto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Informative staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great hostel, the staff were so informative about what to do and see around town. They recommended the pizza street to us and it was seriously the best pizza I have ever eaten!
Very clean and an amazing breakfast!
Thanks for making Naples an awesome experience!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    96
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
69
110
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Arriving in Naples I did no research on what to do or where to go. When I arrived at Hostel of the Sun, I was greeted with enthusiasm and was treated as a friend not a guest. I was told everything I should see during my visit and was helped every morning when I had questions on how to get places. The rooms are extremely clean and mixed rooms are evenly divided between female and males. There is a very relaxing atmosphere and a great place to meet people and enjoy the city. Breakfast was filling every morning and the staff gave excellent recommendations for the best pizza in Naples. I truly appreciated the great hospitality and security I had in Hostel of the Sun.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Very friendly staff. Together with the check-in orientation, they told me the must-visit places in Napoli, together with some restaurant information. Room was 4 people dormitory room. It is comfortable. Hostel staff keeps a dog named "Billy" and he is so cute. I want to hug him again, therefore I may want to visit Napoli again!

Room Tip: To get in touch with kind hotel staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Excellent hostel. Extremely friendly staff who are there 24 hours today to help out or just chat, especially if you come back late after partying and have some stories to tell!

The best part was checking in and getting a great introduction to Naples. After hearing all the stories of how hectic this city is, most of that seemed over the top once you knew about all the different quarters and where I was interested in going. The staff set provide a map and talk you through all the different sites and things to do. I think you should add Piazza Bellini to the introduction for younger or solo travellers guys! I loved Naples, so much so that I ended up missing Pompeii, which I think most people would think is crazy. But after getting to walk around a lot I never wanted to leave! All of my knowledge was provided by hostel staff, including where to find Alimentary to eat buffalo mozzarella, the best pizza shops and the oldest, walking routes and transport alternatives, and beaches outside of the city.

The place was quiet and well equipped. Breakfast every morning was basic but substantial and a good way to fuel for the day, especially if you're planning on climbing one thing or another, of which there are many.

Big thanks to Valerio and team for making the stay so good! Hopefully I'll make it back some day!

My only problem was the doorbell as I could hear it from my bed and it tended to go off a fair bit at night-time. But this really wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in this hostel for 2 nights in a private room and enjoyed our stay!

We found the staff very friendly and helpful, especially when it came to helping us when we discovered that my girlfriend had lost her passport between there and our previous hotel in Rome. They were more than willing to call our previous hotel to ask (in Italian) if it could be found there and call back 2 more times to chase them. They were also very quick with advice on what we should do next (or atleast where to start) when we had no luck locating the passport.

Also, the overview of Naples that was given to us on arrival was very helpful.

The Room was clean and spacious, with a large balcony that had a (partial) view of the castle and the Docks. Even though we were 2 floors above the main reception and communal area, it felt safe. Sharing 2 bathrooms on this floor wasn't an issue as 2 rooms were un-suite.

The Breakfast was stuffiest and rekindled my love affair with Nutella! :-)

The hostel was easy to find and idealy located for exploring the centre, if a bit of a trek from the central train station. I can't say it was my most enjoyable experience navigating my way across the crazy Naple roads on a busy Saturday afternoon, but we were greeted with a great welcome, which helped put us at ease.

We went on the free walking tour that was organised through the hostel, which we thought was a great way to get an overview of the city from a local, who knew where he was going (and how to cross the roads!).

I would (and will) recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: A corner Private Room will a good balcony to relax on
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Not sure why it has been certified as the best hostel in Europe..
We were greeted by a cockroach, 2 bathrooms for the whole of the hostel which were absolutely disgusting. The beds were the most uncomfortable we stayed throughout our trip, also giving one of us back ache for the rest of the journey.
I give credit to the people that work there they are extremely nice.. But the place is a bit of a disaster unfortunately. Was really expecting different especially as it was suppose to be "the best hostel in Europe".. Maybe Naples don't have great hostels?!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I had a mixed experience at this hostel so its hard to write a solid review. Firstly, easy to find - really accurate directions from the email confirmation which was brilliant. In a seemingly dodgy part of town super close to the port. Great for ferry transfers but probably not brilliant for solo female travellers. Interesting set up with rooms all part of an apartment complex with all rooms on a variety of floor levels serviced by a small very dodgy lift requiring 5 cents to run midweek??? Reception is on 7th floor. Small lounge, small bar not nearly enough room for good socialising. Reception team are friendly and really helpful. i went private and my room was fabulous no complaints at all, however............i specifically told the lovely guy at reception i wanted to confirm 2 nights stay but as he was busy i did not follow up him processing it into the computer system so consequently the next day i went off to visit and swim at Procida for the day and returned to discover there had been another booking for my room and i was thrown out of my room which i was pretty bloody upset about as all my private stuff was strewn around my room as i had been sorting ready for moving on and the hostel staff had collected and thrown all my things in bags and dumped them in the lounge which i discovered on walking back in. My things including laptop and passport just left unattended in the public area. Not good. Again the lovely guy at reception who admitted feeling bad about what had transpired had taken the initiative to book me into a hostel across the road. The next morning I was encouraged to leave my luggage in the Sun's room whilst visiting Ischia for a few days which i did. So all was fine until..................i returned to get my luggage with another hostel visitor and a very rude man questioned who i was so i informed him i was the guest who had the room issue a few days ago only to have him go off at me and say it was lll my fault and i caused them to be stressed etc i tried to tell him that the other lovely guy had accepted his role in the miscommunication only for him to yell louder at me that it was not him at all it was entirely my fault. This guy was scary. He had no right to even enter into this conversation and completely undermined the professional integrity of the rest of the team. He needs sacking as i know i was not the only person who was offended by this guy and he seriously has anger management issue. Sorry Sun

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel of the Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel of the Sun

Address: 15 Via Melisurgo, 80123 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel of the Sun is located in the safest part of Naples and just a few steps from the ferry terminal and bus station. Experience our award-winning service yourself with a warm bed and 5 min walk for an easy day-trip to Pompeii, Capri, Ischia, Amalfi Coast, Sorrento, Mount Vesuvius and Hercolaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel of the Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Of The Sun Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel of the Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.