We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff in a city hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel of the Sun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel of the Sun to your Saves list
Hostel of the Sun
15 Via Melisurgo, 80123 Naples, Italy (Porto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff in a city hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is one of my favourite hostels in Italy. The staff were really friendly and helpful and Carla made my life so much easier. Everyone warned me about Naples and the problems you can face but the hostel made me reaklise that it is a wonderful safe city with such warm people.

If you go to Naples, definately stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    94
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
22
66
98
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

honestly, I never felt so welcome and home in any place! you are not a tourist, you are a guest there! I also loved the evening program the had some nights like aperitivo or pasta together! and I loved their advices for the city!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

It was my first trip to Italy and Naples was the first city of the trip. First expression of the city was not so good as the first expression of this hostel.
So funny and open guy and girl on reception made me laugh from the first minutes. Hostel hall and the rooms also looks excellent. We booked room for 4 person with separate bathroom. Our room was cleared everyday.
Also there was a rather good breakfast, especially big Nutella containers which made me shocked, I don't believe that they're real.

Hostel also organised free excursion around Naples for their tourists.
So I will advice Hostel of the Sun as for a friend's company vacation or for single trips, so you can meet some other foreign travellers here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. While the dorms are a bit stuffy and cramped (as dorms usually are) the private rooms are excellent (hotel quality) and the staff is simply phenomenal: I stayed in both, and the private room was suite. The breakfast is for the price way above average: there's plenty of protein on offer, which I dug.

But it's the energy that makes the place: it's got one of those vibes, where if you come open and interested, and hang out in the common areas, you'll definitely make some friends to experience the city with.

The hostel is in a high rise right on the waterfront, and is divided across several floors. During weekday business hours you need one of those bronze 5 cent coins to activate the elevator up to reception.

HoTS is centrally located downtown in the port, a short walk to the ferry, and just don the street to the SITA bus to the airport. There are a couple Pilipino markets directly opposite the ground floor entrance, and a few middling restaurants (Chinese food, etc.) there on the block. Some of the best pizza on the planet, and most of the rest of what Naples has to offer is within a ten to thirty minute walk, and the staff at the hostel will fill you in on all the details and give you all the necessary info to enjoy the city as much as you can.

Room Tip: If you can afford it reserve a private room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

When i first booked this hostel, I was a bit skeptical. Surely not everyone could love it. Surely its not as great as everyone says. But I was wrong! I loved it! It has to be one of my fave hostel experiences so far!!!
The staff are so friendly and helpful. I did the horse ride up Mt Vesuvius which was great. Breakfasts were busy but good. Theres a whole kitchen you can use too.
I stayed on level 7 (I think it was?) - the same level as reception and the hang out lounges. I stayed in a mixed 8 person dorm and everyone was lovely. Bathrooms were pretty good. Wifi was excellent. I really couldn't have wanted for much more.
A fantastic place to stay when you're traveling by yourself.
Also, remember the 5 cent coins for the lift (no one wants to carry bags up that many stairs).. and it would help to google street view the place before you go.. there is only a tiny sign on the building.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is hands down the best hostel I've ever stayed in (and I've stayed in a fair few).

First of all the staff were so friendly. They learn everyone's names which is so nice and makes you feel a bit special. One day when I missed breakfast one of the staff, Valerio, even made me an espresso but I don't mean to single anyone out as all the staff were so helpful and most of all fun! The cleaning staff are also amazing, they seem to be there all day long cleaning. They wash up at breakfast, make and tidy your beds and generally keep the place spotless - I've honestly never been in a cleaner hostel.

I stayed in a six bed dorm and from the balcony there was a wonderful view of Castel Sant'Elmo which is certainly more than I would ever have expected from 18 euros a night! The beds, naturally, weren't the most comfortable but certainly not the worst I've encountered. However I did have the bonus of a feather duvet which was brilliant, as even most hotels in Italy only seem to have blankets, and all the duvet covers, pillowcases, curtains, sheets etc were nice in jolly colours from IKEA. The beds squeak, yes, but I have never been in a hostel where the beds don't squeak. Something has to give for paying so little money.

The bathrooms were one of the best parts of the hostel of the sun. Instead of the usual hostel bathrooms with a room full of shower cubicles and toilet cubicles there were various actual bathrooms like in a proper house and although they weren't ensuite I never had to wait for one in the five days I was there. They were also completely clean every time, had proper shower mats (not those hideous plastic-y things), the water was hot and there wasn't hair everywhere forgoing the need for shower flip flops. Oh and there are proper hairdryers you can borrow which is pretty useful :), and even an iron I think!

Now breakfast was fantastic. There was cereal - coco pops, cornflakes, museli, - yoghurt, bread/toast, pane tostato, ham, salami, cheese, giant nutella, jam, orange juice, coffee, tea, milk... It's included in the price whether you're in a dorm or private room and you can have as much as you want between 7.30 and 10.30ish, it usually starts a little earlier and goes on a bit later. Also if you have to leave early to get a train or something and you let them know they will see what they can do about getting you something to eat a bit earlier.

The kitchen is amply supplied with pots, pans, cutlery, utensils, olive oil, spices etc to suit all your culinary needs should you want to cook. I did a few times while I was there and there was plenty of space in the fridge to store my food which I bought from the grangusto supermarket just a short walk away. They advise you to keep your food in a bag with your name on it and the date you are leaving so that old food is easily recognised and nothing goes bad and no-one's food gets taken by mistake. The only thing is that the hob is a little difficult to turn on as you need a lighter but there is always someone around to help you if you're scared of burning your thumb!!! It's also a pretty great source of amusement!

In general this hostel just has a fun, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Of course it changes with the different people coming and going and we had one more quiet night during our five days stay but also met some lovely people from all over the world and nearly everyone was excited to talk about their travels or what they were doing in Naples. Another advantage is that the location is excellent, in the centre, easy to get to the main train station at Garibaldi to go to Sorrento, Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, Herculaneum etc and right by the port to go to Capri, Ischia or Procida by ferry.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hostel to anyone and would definitely plan to stay there again myself, however I would advise booking early as it gets full up quickly - a true testament to its excellence!

Oh and p.s. They run trips, walking trips for cites around the historic centre of Naples, Kayak trips along the Amalfi Coast and a horseriding trip up Mount Vesuvius which I went on last year and was absolutely incredible! On the way back from the horseriding they can drop you at Pompeii or Herculaneum also to make the most of your day.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 4, which is where the view from the balcony is taken of Castel Sant'Elmo at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

It was clean and staff friendly. There was no atmosphere in the place at all, the bar didn't open till 7pm. The beds squeak so you wake up whenever you or someone's else moves. My locker always jammed. The location is somewhat secluded, it's a long way from the centre, from restaurants and bars, I felt uneasy walking alone at night (single female). And if you don't have 5¢ it's a long walk up and down 7 stories .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel of the Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel of the Sun

Address: 15 Via Melisurgo, 80123 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel of the Sun is located in the safest part of Naples and just a few steps from the ferry terminal and bus station. Experience our award-winning service yourself with a warm bed and 5 min walk for an easy day-trip to Pompeii, Capri, Ischia, Amalfi Coast, Sorrento, Mount Vesuvius and Hercolaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostel of the Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Of The Sun Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel of the Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.