We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, awesome people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel of the Sun

Save Saved
You added Hostel of the Sun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel of the Sun
15 Via Melisurgo, 80123 Naples, Italy (Porto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 Specialty lodging in Naples
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great hostel, awesome people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great hostel, very well run by lovely enthusiastic people! Everyone who manned the reception was really friendly. We did pizza night and had an absolute ball trying out different pizzas and of course, a gelato to end the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    77
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
61
78
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very underwhelmed with the whole experience. The room we were given was 2 floors down from the main area and reception with a shared bathroom and very basic facilities. There are other hotels/hostels/B&B's that offer a higher standard of accommodation in a similar area for a similar rate. I'd give this a miss if I were you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in a private double it was two floors below reception shared bathroom stained sheets six euros out of season look around there are far better options to be had at a similar price at this time of year

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was on a 15 days trip across 4 different cities and stayed everywhere in a hostel. This undoubtedly was the best place i stayed in. The place is cozy enough, the breakfast is decent and the best part is the helpful staff. Helped me planned my travel and also advised me on what should i see and what should i skip. I will definitely return to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can spend a little more, take the private room. The other room/dorms are equally good. Hostel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The staff make the place. They are hugely enthusiastic and friendly (as mentioned elsewhere, even remembering most of the names of the many people passing through). They couldn't be more helpful and set everyone up to have a really enjoyable stay in Naples.
The facilities are generally good and everything is clean. The location could be a little better, but it is within easy reach of plenty of the places that you might want to visit and public transport is good for the rest.
Oh, and did I mention, the staff are excellent !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed two nights in a double room - shared bathroom. Room was basic but good for the value compared to other hostels.

We missed the pasta party put on by the hostel staff - not sure if a regular thing.

We were getting the ferry to Capri - good location for the port if you have heavy bags!! Also within walking distance from the station (about 25mins!)

Staff were really helpful an friendly - definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Struggled to find the place at first! However, it was the best hostel experience I have had in my life! The best atmosphere, the nicest staff. I can't fault this place, there were no problems! The staff remembered my name too! Not one hostel has done this before, and I was there for 2 nights! The recommendations I was given by the staff were fantastic, oh I want to go back already!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel of the Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel of the Sun

Address: 15 Via Melisurgo, 80123 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Specialty lodging in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel of the Sun is located in the safest part of Naples and just a few steps from the ferry terminal and bus station. Experience our award-winning service yourself with a warm bed and 5 min walk for an easy day-trip to Pompeii, Capri, Ischia, Amalfi Coast, Sorrento, Mount Vesuvius and Hercolaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hostel of the Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Of The Sun Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel of the Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.