We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food - we visited three times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pulcinella Bistro

Pulcinella Bistro
Via San Giovanni Maggiore a Pignatelli 1/C | angolo via benedetto croce, 80134 Naples, Italy
+(39)0814971119
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 1,994 Restaurants in Naples
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The mask of Pulcinella is one of the most enigmatic icons of Italian culture. So, wanting to create a place where you gather such a vast heritage, we wanted to make Pulcinella bistro, a cultural space in the heart of the historical center of Naples where they join folklore and Neapolitan cuisine
Burscough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb food - we visited three times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My wife and I spent a week in Naples. We were recommended Pulcinella and enjoyed it so much on the first night we went back on the second evening.

We did try a few more restaurants in the region but the this was the best and we returned on our last night.

Great service, fine food and an impeccable friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    45
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very nice food but charged 3 euro per person for coperto”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

we visited the bistro in mid July 2014 and I liked the food. especially the ravioli was excellent. But I cannot understand why the cover charge - coperto was 3 euro per person. In more expensive restaurants the coperto was 1.80 euro maximum . No where we went in our 5 days trip to Naples charged us more than 1.80 per person for coperto. Some restaurants charged nothing, or it was included. We were 6 people and at this bistro they charged us 18 euro for coperto total. That's not nice...

Food was ok though!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Deserves all the praise it gets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I am not one for reviews but I felt this restaurant was excellent. Located in the centro storico the food and service were of the highest order. My family and I don't really do seafood which is a bit sad when you're staying in Naples! The Bistro however, had a super selection of meat/non-seafood dishes. The price was very good (about 25 Euros a head) and as most reviewers have said it really is a wonderful change from the usual pizzerias, trattorrias, etc. We knew nothing of this place and just stumbled across it - an absolute find!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“ask for Genni!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were here in June for my girlfriends birthday and this restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel, and it was so good we went back twice!
An excellent choice of menu, but if you're unsure of what to have, ask for Genni who will gladly advise you of something to tempt your palate.
Excellent value for money, and well worth a visit of you're in Naples.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fine Neapolitan cuisine in an intimate space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Wonderfully fresh and locally sourced, the offerings of this restaurant are a fine departure from the usual restaurant offerings in Naples. The space is small, with a vaulted ceiling and interesting decor. The steak salad was melt in your mouth tender and the greens tasted fresh from the garden. The veal and artichoke pie was sensational, light, flaky and full of flavor. For some reason we had trouble with the Visa card and had to go back to the hotel and get some cash,which was a true pain, but that is not the restaurants fault, and they waited patiently for our return to pay the bill. A fine dinner for two with wine was 48 euro, and good value. Friendly and helpful service. Our finest dinner in Naples the six days we were there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulcinella Bistro also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Pulcinella Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pulcinella Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.