We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good airport stop over for Early flight.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charming International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Charming International Hotel to your Saves list
Charming International Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charming International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Umberto Maddalena 35, 80144 Naples, Italy (San Carlo Arena)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 193 hotels in Naples
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good airport stop over for Early flight.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel was selected as a one night close to the airport base and it met that requirement.
The location was very convenient right next to the car hire return center and about a 15 minute walk from the airport. Hotel was clean and basic and the cost met the functional requirement of the selection.
Facilities were limited and location not suitable for tourism but is was easy to walk to the airport and catch transport to down town. Naples was however very dirty and full of trash and graffiti surrounding some magnificent Churches.
Wi fi was only in the lobby and had the longest sign on code at 26 characters I had experienced.
Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    14
    19
    14
See reviews for
13
21
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Missed a flight so decided to stay at this hotel which is walking distance from the airport. Very friendly bunch of people at the reception and office. Went straight for breakfast at 10 (before the deadline), but had to settle for toast and jam as everything else was over.

The room given at 65 Euros is a small room...really small. Bathroom and toilet are clean.
Since I had nothing to do but wait for the next flight, I spent the time working on the PC. Internet, though is available only in the lobby.
Difficult to really move the chair in the room to sit comfortably and use the desk, as the room is really small.

Took a walk around using the back entrance and looking at the pretty flowers. There were a lot of insects though.
On going back to the room, realized that opening the window resulted in a lot of mosquitoes in the room. Asked for a spray, but the reception had run out of it.
Slept through the night and checked out at 4.30

Overall, it's a good experience for those who just wnt to stay in a basic hotel outside the airport. Else, for those with a small budget.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the main road, and go for a double room if the difference in cost between t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Neither charming nor attractive, but it is an excellent location if you are catching an early morning flight. As it is in an area that does not feel at all safe, being able to walk through the well lighted car rental lot at 5AM to get to the airport was a comfort. The airport is also the only place to get dinner and breakfast. Old, tired but clean enough and it is right next to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Our family of 4 (kids 10, 12) stayed at the hotel in August as we had a very early morning flight to catch and hoped to squeeze in a bit more sleeping time by staying overnight near the airport. We took the Alibus to the airport and then walked 10 minutes to the hotel (it's just past the rental car parking lots) so it certainly is close. It also has a small pool area which is nice on a hot afternoon though bring your mosquito repellant because they were swarming during our visit. The hotel is clean, but somewhat tired and a bit old-fashioned. Moreover, we paid a hefty sum for a quad room which consisted of a queen bed and double hideabed. I'm always a little resentful when that happens as the sleep quality on a flimsy mattress is usually poor. When we got to our room we discovered that the staff had turned off the air conditioning and opened the windows until we arrived. Not a problem since the A/C came up quickly except that there were no screens on the window and several mosquitos had made it into the room. We all awoke with multiple bites the next morning which was very annoying. The hotel also lacks a restaurant. The staff directed us to a nearby place for dinner, which was very inexpensive, had good food and a great view, but sadly required wading along a worse-than-usual (which is saying a lot in Naples) garbage strewn street to get there. You're better off going to the airport and paying a higher price for food there. That way you'll still have an appetite when you arrive. If we had it to over again, we'd stay downtown at a newer, fresher hotel. We would have paid more for a taxi instead of the Alibus, but traffic would have been minimal early in the morning and we would have had a much more pleasant overnight stay. If you need a basic hotel to stay overnight in order to catch an early morning flight then this hotel fits the bill. Or if you're arriving late and will be picking up a rental car to drive and you don't want to start off in the dark, the hotel is adjacent to all the rental car companies so you could save an overnight's car rental cost by picking up your car in the morning and leaving in the morning. Otherwise, the "Charming" hotel isn't so much charming as much as it is "adequate."

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We chose this hotel because it was the only airport hotel in Naples and we had a 6:40 am flight. I knew it was not in a great neighborhood and would be a marginal hotel. In retrospect, I wish we never stayed there. Yes the hotel did back up to the car rental return and it was beyond convenient for us but that is as far as it goes. In my opinion, the neighborhood is beyond scary. When we got to the front door of the hotel it was locked and you had to be buzzed in. In its heyday this was probably a cute hotel but it has not been updated in a significant period of time. Room was large but dated. Cleanliness was okay but not good. Plumbing was marginal and didn't work well. Thought there was a pizzeria next door which there was but it was closed. We had not eaten all day so hotel staff directed us to another pizzeria about 5 blocks away - it was a frightening 5 blocks with more trash than I have ever seen in a city in a developed country. I felt unsafe and out of place. Pizzeria was inexpensive and actually very good but not worth compromising my safety. Would never stay here again - if ever again, I would stay in sorrento and get an hour less sleep and stay in a quality establishment.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011 via mobile

It takes literally 3 minutes drive from the airport, parking was free and easy to get to on hotel grounds. Rooms very basic and slight problem with air con unit but with small baby couldn't be bothered to move. They brought a crib when we asked but forgot sheets..! Overall it's good enough if you want a stop off for airport transfers etc but would never stay here other than that.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011 via mobile

As everyone says, very convenient for early flights and dropping off the hire car.

Don't however accept a room at the front of the hotel. Very very noisy plus road vibration so request a room at the back and you'll probably be fine.

Decor is dated, must be 10+ years since the last redecoration and room smelt musty. A real shame as this hotel could make a fortune due to it's location near the airport and lack of any competition.

Staff were very nice and make the best of it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charming International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming International Hotel

Address: Viale Umberto Maddalena 35, 80144 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Carlo Arena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Charming International Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Charming International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charming International
Charming International Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charming International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.