We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbearable foul odor in the room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Schilizzi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Schilizzi Hotel to your Saves list
Schilizzi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Matteo Schilizzi, 16, 80133 Naples, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 412 Naples B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Unbearable foul odor in the room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel after finding a great rate on booking.com. The location is OK and the room spacious. The problems were: (a) a dingy little TV set on the wall which was smaller than the monitor of my home PC; (b) very few channels available; large bathroom with no window and an extremely offensive, foul odor coming out of the sink drain and every other drain around. It was unbearable beyond belief! We had to sleep with the bathroom door shut and the window open. Needless to say, with the window open we were forced to hear every single noise coming from the narrow street underneath. Breakfast was essential and obviously meant to be for an international clientele: not even an espresso coffee but only plenty of American (nto even the original type) coffee and hot water for tea. The toaster didn't actually work and the jam was insipid. The price was cheap but it covered for what you got: I will definitely never go back though the people at the desk were kind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
9
41
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just returned from staying in the Hotel. Spent 4 days there whilst not the poshest Hotel it is well located for sightseeing and it is very clean and comfortable, clean sheets and towels were provided everyday of our stay. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. It is situated within an apartment block but the neighbours are not a problem. Breakfast is nice and there is plenty of food provided and tea and coffee all in all its a great place to stay, we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is actually several rooms within an apartment block with other very noisy residents and businesses within the building. Our room was very small with a cot(although we had no children with us) and a wardrobe with doors hanging off the hinges and no rail hence the cot came in handy to hang our clothes on. The TV had no signal but hey it was clean! Breakfast was two tables in a small space with croissants, apples, cereal and thats about it for choice. The location was pretty good, not far from the bus stop for the airport and city sights were close by. The staff were friendly and helped us with directions for Pompei and recommended a nice place to eat. Two tips: watch your head on the way in and dont forget your city tax!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at ~6:30 am, coming straight from the ferry from Palermo. There was no problem leaving our bags so early, even though our room was not available.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the ferry port, and similar into the centre of Naples. The staff were excellent, helpful and efficiant. The room was pleasant and comfortable, if nothing special. Breakfast was fairly standard.

It was great value for money, and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

A well located hotel for exploring Naples. Near enough to the central station for trips out to explore the wider region but not too close to suffer for it.

The hotel is actually in a typical Napolese apartment building, with the hotel reception and breakfast room on a different floor to our room and (I think) private apartments around us. The room was in a little suite of four rooms accessed from the hallway, so be ready to not be 'locked away' inside a hotel perimeter,

On the plus side, our room was clean and the staff friendly and helpful and with good English. On the downside there were some holes in the sheets and the shower head blasted water in all directions, making it slightly less than relaxing to take a shower.

If you're a traveller on a budget who's not too fussy about the little details than you'll find this a perfectly good hotel for exploring Naples.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice and cozy hotel, very well placed, we found a nice personnel wich gave us good tips about where to eat and what to visit in the city. The room was a little bit small but that wasn't a problem sice we were away all the day long visiting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good location, interesting Art Deco style.
Thin walls, so we heard a lot from other noisy residents at various times of the night and morning.
Easy walking access to most sites, and generally good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Schilizzi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schilizzi Hotel

Address: Matteo Schilizzi, 16, 80133 Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 412 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Schilizzi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schilizzi Hotel is an Art Deco Style Boutique Hotel; it is placed into an ancient 18th century noble palace and strategically located at a few steps from core areas of the Neapolitan business and the main historical and cultural places of interesting; within minutes you can get carried by the charm of the intricate city texture and trip through the history of the city of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Schilizzi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schilizzi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.