We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Schilizzi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Schilizzi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schilizzi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Matteo Schilizzi, 16, 80133 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 352 Naples B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very, very basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is actually several rooms within an apartment block with other very noisy residents and businesses within the building. Our room was very small with a cot(although we had no children with us) and a wardrobe with doors hanging off the hinges and no rail hence the cot came in handy to hang our clothes on. The TV had no signal but hey it was clean! Breakfast was two tables in a small space with croissants, apples, cereal and thats about it for choice. The location was pretty good, not far from the bus stop for the airport and city sights were close by. The staff were friendly and helped us with directions for Pompei and recommended a nice place to eat. Two tips: watch your head on the way in and dont forget your city tax!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
8
30
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at ~6:30 am, coming straight from the ferry from Palermo. There was no problem leaving our bags so early, even though our room was not available.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the ferry port, and similar into the centre of Naples. The staff were excellent, helpful and efficiant. The room was pleasant and comfortable, if nothing special. Breakfast was fairly standard.

It was great value for money, and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

A well located hotel for exploring Naples. Near enough to the central station for trips out to explore the wider region but not too close to suffer for it.

The hotel is actually in a typical Napolese apartment building, with the hotel reception and breakfast room on a different floor to our room and (I think) private apartments around us. The room was in a little suite of four rooms accessed from the hallway, so be ready to not be 'locked away' inside a hotel perimeter,

On the plus side, our room was clean and the staff friendly and helpful and with good English. On the downside there were some holes in the sheets and the shower head blasted water in all directions, making it slightly less than relaxing to take a shower.

If you're a traveller on a budget who's not too fussy about the little details than you'll find this a perfectly good hotel for exploring Naples.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice and cozy hotel, very well placed, we found a nice personnel wich gave us good tips about where to eat and what to visit in the city. The room was a little bit small but that wasn't a problem sice we were away all the day long visiting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good location, interesting Art Deco style.
Thin walls, so we heard a lot from other noisy residents at various times of the night and morning.
Easy walking access to most sites, and generally good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowhurst
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our room had damaged wall corners, twelve non functioning wall switches, small wc/shower room with broken shower fittings/door, loose wc seat, wc flush panel missing from wall. Sitting on wc seat a danger from inadequate space can cause user to hit wall with head


No rich dishes as promised on website, just a croissant/jam, toast, small pot of yogurt, apples/tea and coffee. Breakfast is mean and almost non existant. Definitely not of hotel standard and not 3 star
Entering from the street which is permanently full of parked vehicles, into an old building through a large double door without disabled access, no indication of any existence of hotel, building porter tells us it is on first floor up stairs. Lift is available via payment of coins. We walk up to first floor and enter via electronically locked door into reception with 1 staff. Confronted with one room leading to small domestic kitchen/diner there are two branches of 4 rooms either side of reception. The kitchen/diner is smaller than you would expect to see in a one bedroom apartment. It had 3 tables and 6 chairs for a hotel which had 12 rooms on two floors and a potential total of 24 plus people staying each night. We had to queue for a minimal breakfast on two occasions because of the lack of space.
Although smoke detectors are evident within ‘hotel’ and two small fire extinguishers on floor, there are no fire escapes, no fire safety instructions, no fire hoses one would expect to be in any hotel. Building has no fire alarms, smoke detectors and no fire hoses. Any fire in other parts of the building could spread without the knowledge of ‘hotel’ residents. Building is not a hotel, it contains a mix of businesses and residential uses. An accountancy business occupied the other part of the 1st floor. A porter at the bottom is like a caretaker for the building and is no help to people visiting the hotel. I am 65 and my wife is 58 and our heavy luggage we had to lift up to 1st floor. The only help he offered on our arrival was to tell us we needed money to use the lift.There was no way of contacting reception to ask for help.
The door to reception is normally locked. On arrival we were given 3 keys. One for the room door, one for the reception door and one for the ground floor door to the building. Whilst in our room the only way to ensure privacy was to lock ourselves in. At night if we had to exit quickly(in event of fire) we would have to negotiate through three locked doors.
This is neither a hotel and not a 3 star standard or even one star. The so called ‘Hotel’ is grossly misrepresenting itself as one. It is also a potential death trap in case of fire, which although unlikely, is the reason why hotels are normally required to satisfy specific fire safety measures. As this building is not a Purpose built hotel and also very old, this may be the reason why the normal fire safety measures were not installed. That doesn’t of course explain why the ‘hotel’ owners haven’t even issued visitors with fire safety instructions that Hotels normally do.
All rooms including ours was next to reception and noise throughout day/evening was constant. Phone ringing, other residents coming/going, one member of staff arriving for work in morning to prepare breakfast, talking with other residents all caused a constant cacophony of sound that was far from relaxing.
One member of staff was on duty each day from 6.30am to 10.30pm approximately. This person was responsible for all cleaning/reception/breakfast preparation duties. On our first night I asked for an additional pillow and this was not supplied with no staff to ask. There was no minibar. On our checkout the staff member was a university student working part time and spending much of her time doing homework. I wonder if she had been trained in Hotel management and fire evacuation procedure? A receipt was not offered for payment tourist tax and was only given only when asked for.
Tourist information that hotels normally have were not available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is in a great location! You are within walking distance of all the wonderful sites in Naples. The staff is helpful and kind. The rooms are spacious, clean, and the bed and pillows are comfortable. For the price, you can't get much better. We are so happy with our choice to stay at this hotel, and look forward to visiting again next time we are in Naples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Schilizzi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schilizzi Hotel

Address: Matteo Schilizzi, 16, 80133 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 352 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Schilizzi Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schilizzi Hotel is an Art Deco Style Boutique Hotel; it is placed into an ancient 18th century noble palace and strategically located at a few steps from core areas of the Neapolitan business and the main historical and cultural places of interesting; within minutes you can get carried by the charm of the intricate city texture and trip through the history of the city of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Schilizzi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schilizzi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.