We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in Naples” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Schilizzi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Schilizzi Hotel to your Saves list
Schilizzi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Matteo Schilizzi, 16, 80133 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #221 of 378 Naples B&B and Inns
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location in Naples”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good location, interesting Art Deco style.
Thin walls, so we heard a lot from other noisy residents at various times of the night and morning.
Easy walking access to most sites, and generally good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
8
32
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crowhurst
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our room had damaged wall corners, twelve non functioning wall switches, small wc/shower room with broken shower fittings/door, loose wc seat, wc flush panel missing from wall. Sitting on wc seat a danger from inadequate space can cause user to hit wall with head


No rich dishes as promised on website, just a croissant/jam, toast, small pot of yogurt, apples/tea and coffee. Breakfast is mean and almost non existant. Definitely not of hotel standard and not 3 star
Entering from the street which is permanently full of parked vehicles, into an old building through a large double door without disabled access, no indication of any existence of hotel, building porter tells us it is on first floor up stairs. Lift is available via payment of coins. We walk up to first floor and enter via electronically locked door into reception with 1 staff. Confronted with one room leading to small domestic kitchen/diner there are two branches of 4 rooms either side of reception. The kitchen/diner is smaller than you would expect to see in a one bedroom apartment. It had 3 tables and 6 chairs for a hotel which had 12 rooms on two floors and a potential total of 24 plus people staying each night. We had to queue for a minimal breakfast on two occasions because of the lack of space.
Although smoke detectors are evident within ‘hotel’ and two small fire extinguishers on floor, there are no fire escapes, no fire safety instructions, no fire hoses one would expect to be in any hotel. Building has no fire alarms, smoke detectors and no fire hoses. Any fire in other parts of the building could spread without the knowledge of ‘hotel’ residents. Building is not a hotel, it contains a mix of businesses and residential uses. An accountancy business occupied the other part of the 1st floor. A porter at the bottom is like a caretaker for the building and is no help to people visiting the hotel. I am 65 and my wife is 58 and our heavy luggage we had to lift up to 1st floor. The only help he offered on our arrival was to tell us we needed money to use the lift.There was no way of contacting reception to ask for help.
The door to reception is normally locked. On arrival we were given 3 keys. One for the room door, one for the reception door and one for the ground floor door to the building. Whilst in our room the only way to ensure privacy was to lock ourselves in. At night if we had to exit quickly(in event of fire) we would have to negotiate through three locked doors.
This is neither a hotel and not a 3 star standard or even one star. The so called ‘Hotel’ is grossly misrepresenting itself as one. It is also a potential death trap in case of fire, which although unlikely, is the reason why hotels are normally required to satisfy specific fire safety measures. As this building is not a Purpose built hotel and also very old, this may be the reason why the normal fire safety measures were not installed. That doesn’t of course explain why the ‘hotel’ owners haven’t even issued visitors with fire safety instructions that Hotels normally do.
All rooms including ours was next to reception and noise throughout day/evening was constant. Phone ringing, other residents coming/going, one member of staff arriving for work in morning to prepare breakfast, talking with other residents all caused a constant cacophony of sound that was far from relaxing.
One member of staff was on duty each day from 6.30am to 10.30pm approximately. This person was responsible for all cleaning/reception/breakfast preparation duties. On our first night I asked for an additional pillow and this was not supplied with no staff to ask. There was no minibar. On our checkout the staff member was a university student working part time and spending much of her time doing homework. I wonder if she had been trained in Hotel management and fire evacuation procedure? A receipt was not offered for payment tourist tax and was only given only when asked for.
Tourist information that hotels normally have were not available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is in a great location! You are within walking distance of all the wonderful sites in Naples. The staff is helpful and kind. The rooms are spacious, clean, and the bed and pillows are comfortable. For the price, you can't get much better. We are so happy with our choice to stay at this hotel, and look forward to visiting again next time we are in Naples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

If your looking for a clean hotel, good location, and a great price, look no further. The hotel is basic, but very clean. The breakfast is better then any other continental breakfast I've ever had. The staff is extremely helpful and polite. In fact, one of the staff members offered to drive us to Da Michelle Pizzeria after we told him we couldn't find it. We took him up on the offer and he took us to Da Michelle, but not before giving us a quick tour of the city by car. Overall our two night stay was better then any other hotel in Italy, and our expectations were more then surpassed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter (23yrs) for four days before moving on to Ischia, the rooms are clean and cozy. The staff are amazing and nothing is too much for them. They are very helpful and friendly.

The hotel is close to all major tourist attractions ie walking distance, the area around hotel is safe at night and sometimes we returned after 22.00hrs on a couple of nights. I would recommend this hotel to everybody it is an absolute gem...
I am so glad to have found it ... and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Biggest complaint about the hotel was the noise around it. The air conditioning did not work and we needed to sleep with the windows open. It was so loud outside, it was impossible to sleep. The bathroom was very tiny, but functional. The rest of the room was mostly clean. There was some random garbage in one of the vases in the room. The night time staff that we encountered was helpful.

We chose this hotel because of the proximity to the port. For this reason, the hotel was convenient and the price was right.

The next time I stayed in Naples, I would probably look for another option, just because this was such a terrible night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for one night after our departure from Capri.

Advantages:
- Very nice, clean and brand new rooms;
- Functioning TV, air conditioning;
- Good position, close both to the port and to the Garibaldi train station, as well as public transport buses;
- Helpful staff.

Disadvantages:
- We usually use the soap / shampoo provided in hotel during our trips, and this time there was none.

We had to leave early and did not eat breakfast, so I cannot tell anything about it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Schilizzi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schilizzi Hotel

Address: Matteo Schilizzi, 16, 80133 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 378 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Schilizzi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schilizzi Hotel is an Art Deco Style Boutique Hotel; it is placed into an ancient 18th century noble palace and strategically located at a few steps from core areas of the Neapolitan business and the main historical and cultural places of interesting; within minutes you can get carried by the charm of the intricate city texture and trip through the history of the city of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Schilizzi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schilizzi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.