We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gesu Nuovo Church

Gesu Nuovo Church
Piazza del Gesu 1, Naples, Italy (Pendino)
39 081.557.81.11
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$83*
and up
Private Tour: Caravaggio and the Baroque Walking...
Ranked #8 of 197 Attractions in Naples
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This church is a highlight on a tour of Naples old town. The exterior gives you no indication of how intricate or spacious the interior is. The church is particularly interesting for the chapel dedicated to Saint Giuseppe Moscati, who was canonized by Pope John Paul II. The chapel contains his remains as well as many votives offered to him. Sadly there is no photography allowed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    163
    20
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herning, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm amazed that they were able to hide such a beautiful church right in the middle of Naples.
The walls outside do not indicate that this church would be this stunning inside.
This on is a "Must see" in Naples.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wow......unexpected to say the least”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Although I am not religious at all sometimes I quite enjoy having a look in famous churches as I like the architecture. Have passed this one a few times and never seen it open so, on passing the other day, I saw the doors open and people coming and going so decided to step in for a wander. Wow!! This place is HUGE and so not what I expected judging by its façade which is plain to say the least, in my opinion anyway.
Stunning inside, lots to see. Ceiling is amazing.....
There are loads of little confessional booths (at least that's what I THINK they are!) and it looks like you can just have a word with a priest. Not 100% sure on this as, like I said, I am not religious.
Have a look if you get the chance..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Baroque Interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Unusual Church as externally is does not strike you as a stunning piece of Baroque art but step inside & the sense is overwhelming, an incredible ceiling & finally carved marble everywhere you look.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gem in the heart of Naples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Beautiful and unexpected. It has a very unconventional facade but when you enter this awesome church your jaw drops. It is positively a gem. Please go when you are in Naples, it is a must !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gesu Nuovo Church also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Gesu Nuovo Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gesu Nuovo Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.