We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms, Cold Showers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sant'Eligio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sant'Eligio to your Saves list
Hotel Sant'Eligio
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Bernardino Rota, 36/38, 80133 Naples, Italy (Porto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 363 Naples B&B and Inns
Roveredo in Piano
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Clean Rooms, Cold Showers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of April (booked through booking.com for 60 euro a night). It's not exactly in the most convenient location, but then it doesn't seem like anything in Naples is convenient. We weren't really sure where we were going the first night and walked around a little more than we needed to and the streets are a little scary at night (but then all of Naples is scary at night). We took the Alibus from the airport and luckily the driver was super nice and dropped us off a little closer than usual. We were able to find the hotel because the restaurant next door has super bright lights. The day we left to go back to the airport we took a taxi which cost slightly less than 20 euro.

The reception was very friendly and the two young ladies speak pretty good English. They took our reservations for breakfast in the morning (part of the price) and offered us a map of the area. The breakfast consisted of coffee or tea, juice, and a croissant.

The room was really clean and pretty spacious and the bathroom was decent sized (stand up shower). We had little or no hot water though and that was pretty annoying. The beds at first seemed comfortable, but then proved to be kind of hard as my arms fell asleep. At no fault of the hotel, there was a child crying in the apartment next door to the hotel all the time. Almost like the parents kept their child on the balcony and ignored him. The room did have A/C though so we shut the window and turned it on to drown out the child.

The restaurant next door is really good and the owners/staff are super friendly. They even offered us some of their own food to try. There's not an awful lot in the neighborhood except a few other pizzerias. We did book a trip through viator.com though and they picked us up at our hotel which proved to be convenient because the streets in Naples are so confusing (and the driving is terrible).

I'm on the edge as to whether or not I would recommend this hotel. Because of the restaurant, the price, and fact that the viator trip picked us up I'm going to...otherwise I probably wouldn't.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    36
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
33
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

We were recommended to stay here by friends in Naples as it was central and we could walk to lots of areas of interest within 10 minutes. This was completely the case. We were just minutes away from the Old Centre of Naples and the Duomo and 10-15 minutes from the Palace and Castle the other way. The staff are always helpful, if, as others have said, their English isn't extensive but they take time to work through what you need in terms of advice etc and are always charming. The breakfast is in bed or you can take it up on the roof terrace which is a good space with no real views of anything except the neighbours! However, this was not really an issue as just sitting outside and hearing the nearby church bells chime - at any old time with no logic - was fun and relaxing. I was placed in an adapted room which therefore had a larger bathroom and more space than my friend but both rooms were a good size. The hotel is very clean and the small pizzaria next door is also great.

  • Liked — Central and comfortable
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

This little hotel was all that we had expected. The rooms were comfortable and clean - and actually had bathroom ammenities that were a welcome change from our Spartan digs at same price near the Pantheon in Rome.

Aldo and Suzanna were gems and went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Suzanna even called the Ferry company and negotiated our overnight crossing to Palermo for us as a courtesy. This is what I call helpful!

We enjoyed our simple breakfast on the roof patio and it was nice to meet the day in this alfresco way. The venue trumps the food and coffee but one doesn't expect much for only $85E for a double per night right in the heart of town.

We did wonder if there is a more interesting neighborhood to be in, however, since this one had virtually no restaurants- save the one next door discussed by an earlier post. Our room came with table and chairs so we went to a local deli and stocked up on salumi, cheeses and a pizza from Da Michele and had a feast in the comfort and peace of our own space. A real nice change from being in a restaurant. I would stay here anytime!

  • Liked — Helpful Staff and good price/value
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurants and noisy street
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

The room was by far the cheapest we found during our two trips to Italy. Comfortable enough, very quiet. Elevator available.

The location is close to the historical center, but IMO the historical center is not really the best place in Naples to be close to, unlike most other Italian cities. The 45-min to 1-hour walk to the Piazza Plebescito area, where most of the better restaurants and important sights are, was a bit challenging due to horrific traffic, smog/fumes, and often-obstructed sidewalks. It would be impossible for anyone with mobility impairment or children - like most of Naples. A cab ride to this area is about 7 Euro, but could be more in heavy traffic. The cab ride from the train station is 10-12Euro, including tip. Our cab drivers did not know where the hotel is, so be sure to have it circled on a map and some directions (near Piazza Nicola Amore).

BTW, it's Via Bernadino Rota, not Bartolomeo as shown at the top of this page.


Sylvana, who was there during the day, spoke good English and was very helpful.

Breakfast was adequate (croissant, toast, OJ, and pretty good cafe americano - I do not recommend the capuccino, which was mostly odd-tasting milk with a tinge of coffee.

The neighborhood looked a bit sketchy but was safe enough, even at night.

The lobby smelled strongly of cigar smoke because the owner/manager smokes inside. Not a problem for us, but it might be for some.

Two complaints:
1. The towels looked and smelled really dusty/musty and parts of the room (like the area rugs) seemed like they'd never been cleaned.
2. Re. the hotel's restaurant next door: we had pretty good pizza for lunch the day we arrived. We went back the same day for dinner (no other restaurants nearby) and had the worst meal we've ever had anywhere: soggy spaghetti with one or two fatty chunks of mystery meat, tasteless salad with hard green tomato slices. They also refused to show us the menu and the prices we were charged were higher than they had been at lunch.

Overall, if budget is a major consideration, then this is a good place for you. If not, I'd recommend a hotel closer to the Piazza Plebescito area.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it good value for money. Great location being only a few minutes walk from the historical centre of Naples, which is beautiful. Very large room with king size bed. Staff very helpful and friendly. Recommend the family run pizzeria next to the hotel, great traditional food and very reasonably priced. The only disappointing thing about this hotel was the breakfast which I felt was quite poor (no choice, cold coffee). However, everything in consideration I would stay here again and not hesitate in recommending it to others. I was a bit wary of visiting Naples with all the negative press I have read, but I found it a fascinating and beautiful city. I am sure there are areas that tourists should not visit after dark, but just be sensible and enjoy this fantastic and vibrant part of Italy!

  • Liked — location and room size
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

Safe, clean budget hotels are as rare as hen's teeth in central Naples so this place is an excellent option. The staff are very friendly and the area feels much safer than many other parts of the city centre. Highly recommended for those wanting to stay somewhere central.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

We used the Dimora Sant'Eligio as our base during a 5 night stay in the Naples area. The hotel staff were very accomodating and were always available to help with suggestions, directions, and concerns. The hotel was extremely clean and quiet at night. During our stay we used the marina several times to get to Capri and Sorrento and it was approximately 1/2 mile from the hotel. Although there are not many eating choices near the hotel, the pizzeria next door had wonderful food. Breakfast each morning was on the terrace (although you could have it in your room). It consisted of a pastries and drinks and was enough to get you through until lunch. If we ever return to Naples we will definitely stay at the Dimora Sant'Eligio.

During our stay we took day trips to Capri, Amalfi Coast, and Pompeii. If you are looking for a good location as a base for these trips Naples is it. Although, Naples itself can easily be done in a day.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Same breakfast each morning
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sant'Eligio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Eligio

Address: Via Bernardino Rota, 36/38, 80133 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 363 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'Eligio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sant'Eligio arise in 2013 in one of the oldest neighborhoods in the city next to one of the historic churches of Naples ... The Church of St Eligio Maggiore.Located in the heart of the city, is a direct line between the port, railway station and historic center.The rooms are all equipped and comfortable with Air Conditioning, LED TV, Telephone, Mini bar, Warm Radiator, Private Bath and Hairdryer, with Superior Rooms available for the most demanding! The hotel is also equipped with bar, restaurant "O' Peccat è Sant'Eligio " and a large terrace on the top floor where you can have breakfast and relax in the sun.Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire structure.For your stay in Naples treat yourself a dip between past and present! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sant'Eligio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimora Sant Eligio Hotel
Dimora Sant Eligio Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sant'Eligio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.