We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Staff and the price is right...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sant'Eligio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sant'Eligio to your Saves list
Hotel Sant'Eligio
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Bernardino Rota, 36/38, 80133 Naples, Italy (Porto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 378 Naples B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Charming Staff and the price is right...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

This little hotel was all that we had expected. The rooms were comfortable and clean - and actually had bathroom ammenities that were a welcome change from our Spartan digs at same price near the Pantheon in Rome.

Aldo and Suzanna were gems and went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Suzanna even called the Ferry company and negotiated our overnight crossing to Palermo for us as a courtesy. This is what I call helpful!

We enjoyed our simple breakfast on the roof patio and it was nice to meet the day in this alfresco way. The venue trumps the food and coffee but one doesn't expect much for only $85E for a double per night right in the heart of town.

We did wonder if there is a more interesting neighborhood to be in, however, since this one had virtually no restaurants- save the one next door discussed by an earlier post. Our room came with table and chairs so we went to a local deli and stocked up on salumi, cheeses and a pizza from Da Michele and had a feast in the comfort and peace of our own space. A real nice change from being in a restaurant. I would stay here anytime!

  • Liked — Helpful Staff and good price/value
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurants and noisy street
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    39
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

The room was by far the cheapest we found during our two trips to Italy. Comfortable enough, very quiet. Elevator available.

The location is close to the historical center, but IMO the historical center is not really the best place in Naples to be close to, unlike most other Italian cities. The 45-min to 1-hour walk to the Piazza Plebescito area, where most of the better restaurants and important sights are, was a bit challenging due to horrific traffic, smog/fumes, and often-obstructed sidewalks. It would be impossible for anyone with mobility impairment or children - like most of Naples. A cab ride to this area is about 7 Euro, but could be more in heavy traffic. The cab ride from the train station is 10-12Euro, including tip. Our cab drivers did not know where the hotel is, so be sure to have it circled on a map and some directions (near Piazza Nicola Amore).

BTW, it's Via Bernadino Rota, not Bartolomeo as shown at the top of this page.


Sylvana, who was there during the day, spoke good English and was very helpful.

Breakfast was adequate (croissant, toast, OJ, and pretty good cafe americano - I do not recommend the capuccino, which was mostly odd-tasting milk with a tinge of coffee.

The neighborhood looked a bit sketchy but was safe enough, even at night.

The lobby smelled strongly of cigar smoke because the owner/manager smokes inside. Not a problem for us, but it might be for some.

Two complaints:
1. The towels looked and smelled really dusty/musty and parts of the room (like the area rugs) seemed like they'd never been cleaned.
2. Re. the hotel's restaurant next door: we had pretty good pizza for lunch the day we arrived. We went back the same day for dinner (no other restaurants nearby) and had the worst meal we've ever had anywhere: soggy spaghetti with one or two fatty chunks of mystery meat, tasteless salad with hard green tomato slices. They also refused to show us the menu and the prices we were charged were higher than they had been at lunch.

Overall, if budget is a major consideration, then this is a good place for you. If not, I'd recommend a hotel closer to the Piazza Plebescito area.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it good value for money. Great location being only a few minutes walk from the historical centre of Naples, which is beautiful. Very large room with king size bed. Staff very helpful and friendly. Recommend the family run pizzeria next to the hotel, great traditional food and very reasonably priced. The only disappointing thing about this hotel was the breakfast which I felt was quite poor (no choice, cold coffee). However, everything in consideration I would stay here again and not hesitate in recommending it to others. I was a bit wary of visiting Naples with all the negative press I have read, but I found it a fascinating and beautiful city. I am sure there are areas that tourists should not visit after dark, but just be sensible and enjoy this fantastic and vibrant part of Italy!

  • Liked — location and room size
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

Safe, clean budget hotels are as rare as hen's teeth in central Naples so this place is an excellent option. The staff are very friendly and the area feels much safer than many other parts of the city centre. Highly recommended for those wanting to stay somewhere central.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

We used the Dimora Sant'Eligio as our base during a 5 night stay in the Naples area. The hotel staff were very accomodating and were always available to help with suggestions, directions, and concerns. The hotel was extremely clean and quiet at night. During our stay we used the marina several times to get to Capri and Sorrento and it was approximately 1/2 mile from the hotel. Although there are not many eating choices near the hotel, the pizzeria next door had wonderful food. Breakfast each morning was on the terrace (although you could have it in your room). It consisted of a pastries and drinks and was enough to get you through until lunch. If we ever return to Naples we will definitely stay at the Dimora Sant'Eligio.

During our stay we took day trips to Capri, Amalfi Coast, and Pompeii. If you are looking for a good location as a base for these trips Naples is it. Although, Naples itself can easily be done in a day.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Same breakfast each morning
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

Booked Dimora Sant'Eligio through venere.com. With a discount for pre-paying, this made the B&B rate very competitive.
The room was spacious, bed was comfortable. The room was cleaned and the bed made daily.
Ample towelling, changed daily.
Breakfast (continental, of course) was served IN THE BEDROOM - you choose the time the night before.
Staff were friendly and helpful, though not much English spoken.
The location was fairly central - 15-20 minutes walk from the train station.
The area the hotel is in is rather scruffy, but the same could be said of 80% of Naples, but in the course of a week we never felt unsafe, even at night.
Unhestitatingly recommended !

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, affordable
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2007

Spent a week at the Dimora Sant'Eligio over the Capodanno, staying in Room 106, aka Piazza Plebiscito (the rooms are called after Neapolitan place names). The hotel is situated in a quiet street just off the main Corso Umberto I and is an easy 15 minute stroll from the main train station at Piazza Garibaldi. The Historic Centre or Spaccanapoli is 5 minutes away on foot and Piazza Plebiscito about 20 minutes away. The area around the hotel is a mixed residential and commercial sector and in contradiction to Naples' reputation for petty crime, we felt completely safe walking the streets both during the daytime and at night.

Our room was spacious, simply decorated with a mix of finished metal and dark wooden furniture, photos of old Naples and equipped with a large ensuite shower room. A continental breakfast was included in the rates and was brought to the room each morning (remember to prebook it at reception the night before).

The hotel itself was tastefully decorated with a mix of Italian antique pieces and whimsical artistic touches. However the greatest asset was the staff. They were at all times warm, welcoming and helpful, creating an environment that we found typically Neapolitan.

There were only two blemishes to a lovely, quiet, comfortable stay - a slightly noisy frigobar in the room and the absence of hot water on one of the mornings of our stay.

We found some great places nearby to enjoy traditional Neapolitan cuisine at very reasonable prices (in fact we found that the best meals were found in the less expensive restaurants). They are Trattoria Campagnola in Piazetta del Nilo, Antica Osteria Pisano in Piazetta Crocelle ai Mannesi and Ristorante al 53 in Piazza Dante. Another great find was Pizza e Babà on via Montecalvario off via Toledo - excellent pizzas and a wonderful antipasto board.

Naples is a beautiful city, Neapolitans warm and friendly people and the Dimora Sant'Eligio a great place to enjoy the experience of both. Recommended - yes, to return - definitely.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sant'Eligio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Eligio

Address: Via Bernardino Rota, 36/38, 80133 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 378 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'Eligio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sant'Eligio arise in 2013 in one of the oldest neighborhoods in the city next to one of the historic churches of Naples ... The Church of St Eligio Maggiore.Located in the heart of the city, is a direct line between the port, railway station and historic center.The rooms are all equipped and comfortable with Air Conditioning, LED TV, Telephone, Mini bar, Warm Radiator, Private Bath and Hairdryer, with Superior Rooms available for the most demanding! The hotel is also equipped with bar, restaurant "O' Peccat è Sant'Eligio " and a large terrace on the top floor where you can have breakfast and relax in the sun.Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire structure.For your stay in Naples treat yourself a dip between past and present! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sant'Eligio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimora Sant Eligio Hotel
Dimora Sant Eligio Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sant'Eligio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.