We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, dirty streets” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo del Golfo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo del Golfo to your Saves list
Albergo del Golfo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sedile di Porto, 23 | (near Piazza Bovio), 80142 Naples, Italy (Pendino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 189 Hotels in Naples
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Clean room, dirty streets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

In the darkness of the evening my son and I arrived at this hotel in Napoli. The street did not look very inviting, but inside it looked OK. We had booked a room with two separate beds, but found two beds made up as a double bed in our room. It took some time before the receptionist with the help of the owner admitted their mistake and gave us sheeting for two separate beds. Otherwise we had no reason to complain. The air conditioning worked well, the bathroom was modern and clean and the breakfast was good. Public transport was available just minutes away from the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor and therefore had to use the extremely slow and shaky lift. My advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    70
    41
    15
    8
See reviews for
29
59
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very close to the metro and the bus stops. You can walk to the port in minutes. It is central to Naples, and the transport facilities are close. The hop on hop off bus even stops 50 metres away from the hotel.
The street the hotel is in looks run down, dirty with lots of rubbish and dog dirt on the pavements. The hotel is however a complete contrast, being refurbished with top quality flooring, tiles and lighting. The staff spoke good English and could not have been more helpful. We started in room 205 which quite literally stank of mold and mildew coming from the walk in closet. We moved to a different room which was fine. The rooms were large, a good firm bed, which we loved, and had a great modern bathroom with the usual soap and shampoo. It even had a fridge and a safe in the room. The electronic door lock and information panel is usually found in much more up market hotels. The air conditioning worked very well. A minus point was no coffee making facilities in the room. Also, the bar did not seem to be open or well stocked, nor was the lounge area somewhere I could have relaxed or waited in. I suspect this will get better once the refurb us complete. The hotel was very clean and tidy with good quality towels and fresh sheets in the room.
Breakfast was adequate. Cereal, toast, rolls with ham and cheese. The impressive thing we found was that they don't put much food out all at once. Instead they constantly monitor the food and promptly add more fresh food when what's there runs low. This means that the ham, cheese and rolls are never left to dry out. Croissants are offered and delivered on request.
Our taxi driver could not find the hotel and stopped three times to ask other taxi drivers for directions. I don't know if this was the reason off the €28 charge for what maps showed as a 5.7km journey from the airport. Going back was €1.30 each on the R2 bus to Garibaldi plaza and €3 each for the airport shuttle bus. It seemed quicker too.
I'm ignoring the room 205 problem when doing this review because of the helpfulness of the staff. Breakfast is not a huge choice, but is fresh and adequate. We missed having coffee facilities in the room. However, the quality of the rooms, the location of the hotel and the attitude and helpfulness of the staff made up for this. It was a good price too.
I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Arrived here quite late in the evening, receptionist spoke good english and was very helpful - I had a single room, quite small, but with everything I needed. All very clean and with plenty of towels and toiletries. Bed was a little firm and my room only had a very small window in the bathroom. Air conditioning worked well and was an essential as the weather was very hot. I did find the shower cubicle floor very slippery and I actually slipped while showering and banged my arm on the enclosure door, I don't usually slip while in the shower so it must have been slippy!!
Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and cheerful staff.
Room fine for an overnight stay like mine but would have been a bit claustrophobic if I had been staying longer, only due to the lack of a window, nothing else. Seems strangely cell like without one.
The little "box" inside the room that your "card" inserts into to activate the electricity was a nice touch - it welcomes you by name and wishes you "Bienvenuto" on the day you check out.
Street outside a bit "grubby" looking, but went for a walk later after arriving and felt perfectly safe. The fort at the port was worth seeing at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Location of this hotel is excellent, very easy to find, (especially when the friendly Alibus driver allowed us to jump off a street early, which was closer to this hotel rather than at the actual bus stop near the port.) Found it easily using the maps on our smart phones.

We arrived around 9pm ish after our flight into Naples from the UK, the reception guy was really helpful, spoke good English. We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor (could of been 212 or 209?!) It had good aircon, hardish but comfortable beds, a fridge (which didn't really work but from experience the ones housed in little cupboards rarely do!) and you could tell that they were spending money doing up the rooms gradually, the technology was pretty impressive, touch screen display for the aircon displaying a welcome message and our name, nice personal touch! A few things to note though, when we arrived in our room there were wet towels on the floor as if the cleaner had been called away to sort something else and had forgotten our room. Very minor issue, didn't bother us, if we'd have mentioned it to the reception I'd have no doubt they would have come and removed them from the room, but we were tired and felt it wasn't much of an inconvenience.
There were a few bits in the room which needed attention though, the handle to open the shower door had previously snapped off and hadn't been replaced so unfortunately I got stuck inside the cubicle and had to get my husband to open the door from the outside. We also realised that the reason the towels may have been on the floor is that the shower if turned on quite a lot splashed up from the tray and escaped under the door so just be aware of that if you stay in that room. There were decent toiletries, sachets of shower gel/shampoo and also bars of soap.
The TV had very minimal English speaking channels and apart from the music channel we couldn't find any others (but neither did we in any of the other hotels we stayed in during our trip).
Our view wasn't great but to be honest for us it was simply a bed for the night since we had arrived after the last ferry to Ischia had sailed so needed somewhere close to the port to stay in preparation for the first ferry out in the morning.
Breakfast was good, plenty of everything, they topped up the meat and cheese regularly, there was some cereal and warmed croissants too. You could also help yourself to coffee and Tea also.
Overall a nice stay here. Would stay again.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Dorset, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is deceiving going to this hotel, but when you are in see a good hotel, nice staff and good breakfast. Good location for a very dirty street, but this is Naples. Pizza in Naples is better than in Rome, plus you can go from there to Capri Island with ferry and by train to Pompei, Sorento and Amalfi Coast

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limeira, SP
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The buiding is old but inside the hotel has large, clean and new apartments. The location is very good, because it´s near the port and the historical center. The famous Anticca Pizzeria da Michelle is 15 minutes by walking.The hotel´s street looks unsafe at the first impression, but it´s really not. There are Parkings at 4 blocks from there, and you' ll pay EU$ 20 per day.
The hotel´s staff are very polite and helpfull. The breakfest is good too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

During the whole period of our stay in Naples, we were very well supported by an excellent staff in Albergo del Golfo. They were very attentious and ready to give us hints and advices when we needed.
Besides the great staff, the hotel is also very well located, close to a subway station, comfortable and exactly as presented on the website. Definitely a place to go back to.

Room Tip: The room for 4 people was very comfortable and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo del Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Golfo

Address: Via Sedile di Porto, 23 | (near Piazza Bovio), 80142 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Golfo 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albergo del Golfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Golfo Naples
Albergo Del Golfo Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo del Golfo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.