We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costantinopoli 104

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costantinopoli 104 to your Saves list
Hotel Costantinopoli 104
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S Maria, Constantinopoli 104, 80138 Naples, Italy (Pendino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

All around a solid hotel and value for money. Wonderful room (We have a duplex), delicious and fresh breakfast, and friendly staff. My friend and I stayed for three days and have a nice experience. Two cons:
1) when you arrive it is difficult to find the hotel because it is tucked away in a little palazzo style setting. They need better signage or to tell guests prior to arriving.
2) Our shower/tub could have used a bit of an update.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    85
    32
    12
    11
See reviews for
64
115
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

As the publicity suggests, this small and secluded boutique hotel is an oasis of calm in the wonderful chaotic mess that is central Naples. It is hidden away beyond a courtyard but is only yards from Piazza Bellini which, if you are young must be compelling - busy, bustling, full of bars and restaurants and close to many fascinating sights and places. The hotel itself is staffed by people who are friendly and extremely helpful (and all speak excellent English). Depending on the room there is access to a rooftop terrace or a small balcony overlooking the courtyard with its small pool. There are splendid restaurants and pizzerias within a few minutes walk and for the tourist with just a few days in Naples it is ideal. I cannot fault it. I would return at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is actually the third time we've stayed at the Costantinopoli. The first couple of times werre more that 6 years ago. Those stays were wonderful (one was for a standard room, and the second was a suite) and both rooms were perfect in their category then. In particular, the suite was magnificent - on two levels, with a wonderful view over the street, and wonderful decor. The breakfast then was abundant and perfect - fresh orange juice, pastries, mozarella, parma ham and breads and cereals.

So, going on a good memory, we wanted to book again for a two-day stay in Naples.

We came away a little disappointed. The outside of the place, with its stained glass and swimming pool, was as remembered. But our standard room (room 107) showed signs of a lack of maintenance : chipped paint, cracked toilet seat, a carelessly-concreted patch in the ceiling over the bath, scrape marks on the floor. The breakfast had also deteriorated : it was more an average B&B standard this time : synthetic cordial to drink (no orange juice), some bread, cheese, cereal, spreads. The dining room is also showing signs of being unmaintained : chips in the paint, lines where the chair backs have contacted the walls.

Service standards have dropped too. The waiter in the morning (on both mornings) was brusque and seemed solely concerned in getting us out of the dining room as quickly as possible, front desk was just OK, but very cool and offish.

It's really a pity, as this has the potential (as we saw before) to be a really superlative hotel. I don't know if there has been a change of management, or whether these things are just the result of the financial crisis - but please go back to how it was before!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

19th century mansion converted into a 19 (or so) bedroom hotel. Ideally located to visit Archaeological Museum (200 meters or so), and with a bunch of small restaurants close by. Superb materials used in lobby, terraces. Free limoncello in lobby all day.
Cute little swimming pool in front of lobby.
Hotel is at center of gated bunch of builidngs, so it is quiet which in Napoli is a huge benefit.

Some reviewers complained about service... we had no issue of this kind at all, quite to the contrary. It may have helped that a few decades ago I invested a few bucks in an Italian textbook.

As you walk out of the hotel's gate, on your left you'll find a minute little wood workshop, looks like Gepetto's atelier. The person at work with hundreds of chisels etc...is Pasquale, and for all the appearance of his atelier, the wooden replicas of some Ercolaneo finds which adorn the Getty museum are by his hands.

Now a major shortcoming which resulted in this little gem of a hotel not achieving a five star rating: the deckchairs next to the pool. Try them out and you will believe the hotel owner is in cahoots with a physiotherapist near by. Or it is an attempt to chase people away from the pool after 15 minutes, so there is space for other clients. Pity, but easily remediable so we will go back, no doubt. But in some time: vedere Napoli e morire.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place, I did. We did not have the best stay here for a few reasons; noisy construction, spotty wi-fi, and a ho-hum 'suite.' I was excited to stay in a city hotel with a poool, but we never got to use it. Upon arrival, we notified that the pool was closed until the late afternoon due to chemical treatments. The following day, we would have gone in had there not been noisy construction happening at the front gate, totally killing the serene oasis vibe that had sold us on this hotel in the first place. This construction noise carried on until 7pm the first night and 5pm the second (after we requested that they knock it off!) It wouldn't have been so bad, but our room was very close to the worker Andre heard every saw and drill. Our room was fine, just fine. Being our anniversary, we sprung for a junior suite. It was pretty cramped and not worth the extra money; I'm sure that a normal room would have been just fine. Wifi only worked in the lobby. We mentioned thus to the front desk, and, to their credit, had it fixed the following day.

Some positives; the afternoon clerk gave us excellent dinner reccomendations. We settled on La Stanza de Gusto just around the corner for dinner one night and Di Matteo's for pizza the next, both of which were great! We also enjoyed some free limoncello in the lobby afterwards. The location of this hotel is very good. We enjoyed exploring the surrounding areas very much. They are very narrow but interesting. Breakfast was fine, but not remarkable.

All in all, it was an acceptable stay, but I would not return. I expected much more. If you want to be in this area, I would try Hotel Piazza Bellini which is just in front.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costantinopoli104, Responsabile reception at Hotel Costantinopoli 104, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
we apologize for the happened issues during your stay at Costantinopoli104.
We have to confirm you that maintenance jobs have been during the day, starting after the breakfast’s end (10.00 o’clock) until the afternoon, never early morning or during the evening/night.
For the pool, one time a week, we make a deep control that does not take more than 2/3 hours, but usually we do it when the most part of guest have gone.
We are sorry you do not like the Junior Suite, but differently by a standard room, you had a duplex room where downstairs there is a living room and balcony facing the garden and upstairs the bedroom and the bathroom. This room usually is the choice of families staying with us.
After many years in the hospitality we know that is not easy meet everyone’s wishes, but with passion we do the best for every Costantinopoli’s guest.
We hope to have again the pleasure of you also to change your mind about the Costantinopoli104.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel, you walk through some large iron gates into a courtyard, leading on to the entrance gate at the end, into the gorgeous greenery of the lush tropical gardens of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, our cases were taken care of, our room was full of charm and lovely art work, as is the hotel itself. Breakfast was very good, the highlight though was the gorgeous pool where we could cool down from the sweltering heat, after a day meandering around the fascinating Napoli. We ate twice at the Bellini's restaurant which we would highly recommend, we visited the Castle on the harbour and the Museum, all within walking distance from the hotel, we will definitely recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It's a nice hotel, well located on edge of the historic district. However, badly let down by poor customer service. Worst example - we arrived hot and sweaty from long journey and wanted swim. Girl on desk said she would bring towels to pool. After newly half an hour she arrived with one, promising two more within 5 mins. They never came. Generally we found staff quite poor.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costantinopoli104, Manager at Hotel Costantinopoli 104, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,
we are really sorry for the inconvenience. Surely, there was a misunderstanding and we hope to guest you here again as our guest to make us forgive. We always try to pamper our guest, making them feel at home with the passion and attention to the details. This is our quality.
See you soon!
The direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costantinopoli 104? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costantinopoli 104

Address: Via S Maria, Constantinopoli 104, 80138 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costantinopoli 104 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costantinopoli 104 is an elegant homely hotel located in the historical centre of Naples, an ideal place for visitors who want to stay in a suggestive and comfortable setting.The building containing the hotel is in neoclassical style, coming from the last decades of the nineteenth century. An enormous Liberty style multicoloured stained glass window dominates the main facade of the building, which overlooks the garden of the hotel. The internal spaces are tastefully furnished provided with every comfort. All our rooms and suites feature air conditioning, minibar, satellite tv, telephone, safe box, adsl connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Costantinopoli 104 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costantinopoli 104 Naples
Costantinopoli 104 Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costantinopoli 104, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.