We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position, clean friendly and relaxed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chiaja Hotel de Charme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chiaja Hotel de Charme to your Saves list
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Chiaia 216 | 1° piano - 1th floor, 80121 Naples, Italy (San Ferdinando)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great position, clean friendly and relaxed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recommend this hotel. For the reasons listed above and because it is just so convenient and easy. The staff are charming and helpful, the rooms are fine and the breakfast is fine. There are good shops and restaurant and cafes nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    294
    70
    31
    6
See reviews for
102
291
39
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Triple room 305 was furnished very nicely with 3 twin beds (2 pushed together, one separate) a very large armoire, small table with 2 drawers, two end tables and breakfast table. All were in excellent condition. We also had two sets of floor-to-ceiling doors that opened, one to the alley and one onto Via Chiaia (with a small balcony). The bathroom was clean and bright with a jacuzzi tub. Reception was warm and helpful. Breakfast was fresh with a good assortment of pastries, fruit, cereal and yogurt. Via Chiaia is a lively pedestrian street so yes, there is noise at night but that is to be expected. As for it being difficult to find, definitely not. People just aren't paying attention. If you look down the street from the corner, it is directly in front of you, right where the street bends. There is a large red banner hanging over the door. Prior to that, there is a vertical lighted sign for "Brandi's Pizza". It is just past that sign. I did not find the small door strange, as it is a normal feature in buildings of this construction, nor was the elevator difficult to locate. Go to the stairs on the right. It is right there on the first landing, 5 steps up.

The fixed fare cab rate from Centrale Station to the Chiaia area is 13 Euros. Get a receipt before getting in the cab. They will drop you off at the circle at the beginning of Via Chiaia. It couldn't be easier. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to Piazza Reale (I could see if from my balcony) and a 15 minute walk to the ferry to Capri.

We were all happy with the location, price, friendliness of the staff and the room. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Having read several reviews of this hotel, I guess you will love it or hate it. There is a lot to love about it, in my opinion, but some ways where they could do better.
Service on the desk, we found to be excellent. The staff were eager to help and very in touch with what the area has to offer. Any small niggles were dealt with quickly.
Much has been said about the AC. Actually I hate it, and would much prefer just to have the window open, so I was happy when they showed me how to turn it off. I am not sure I would even stay in the centre of Napoli in the height of Summer.
The rooms; having run out of standard rooms when I booked, we paid for the front room with a
balcony. This we rarely do, but we were glad of it because of the extra size. The furnishing style is
what we used to call "shabby chic" and a bit towards the shabby end. This is not what I really
Iike, but for a few days in a well positioned and well serviced hotel, I really don't care.
Positives. Apart from good service, the little lounge is nice, the beds are comfortable and the position in Via Chiaia is excellent. There are plenty of places to eat within easy walking distance, and, of course the lovely Cafe Gambrinus. We walked down to the quay for the boat to Ischia and for our day out to Pompeii we caught the bus by the Opera House to the station and then the Circumvesuviana train to Pompeii. It also goes to Herculaneum and Sorrento, so you do not need to take the expensive coach package. You can go and spend as long as you wish at the site. Ignore the guided tour ticket stalls at the station and go straight across the road to the entrance if you just want to walk round independently. Over 65 and an UE citizen, you get in free.
Lastly, finding the hotel. There is so much going on in Via Chiaia that it is hard to pick it out. It is more like 200m than 20m from the Cafe Gambrinus corner and that is where the taxi will drop you.it is on the right, and if you look up at the first floor balconies you will see a red banner hanging down. Go through the arch into the courtyard, go up the first couple of stairs at the back on the right hand side and if you look hard you will see a little lift (elevator). Take it up one floor ( first floor European counting ). Now you will easily see the entrance.
If the outer door is closed, press the bell for Hotel Chiaia on the left of the door.
So do go there. Do not be put off by minor niggles. You will be safe, comfortable and well looked after

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the bigger room. They are on the street side, but the noise quietens down a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel was hidden inside a lovely old building near the Naples port area. There were lots of locals out and about and the atmosphere was very interesting. The breakfast was especially good and included a cappuccino and great choice of delicacies. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staying in any large city, particularly Naples which is on the developing end of international tourism, is frequently a challenge. Unfortunately, Chiaja is also on the developing end. We were traveling with another couple who were assigned a relatively spacious and well-furnished room in the front of the hotel. We were assigned a very small room in a short hall off the reception desk. While there were double doors to filter out noise, the room's king bed (fortunately a nice big bed) literally occupied just about the whole room. We looked out onto a shaft. Unfortunately, the shower in the smallish bathroom had a fair amount of mildew around the bottom and one sconce light was burnt out. The A/C and wi-fi worked fine. The public areas are very small with a one lounge and dining room. The breakfast was particularly good with fresh baked products and fruit. The major advantage of this hotel was its location on Chiaja, a fashionable shopping area not too far from a number of Naples' sites and the metro. Although not easily noticeable, when arriving you do not have to carry your bags up several large flights of stairs; there is an elevator which is not easy to find. The staff was not particularly friendly.

Room Tip: Be sure to work with the hotel staff in picking your room, which seem to run from poor to comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is located on a bustling pedestrian street--although cars and scooters still seem to meander through the hordes of people--and staying here makes you feel as if you are right in the middle of an electrifying city. Whether you actually ARE or not depends on what you are looking to do in Naples. The hotel is on a popular street for shopping and it is about a 15-minute walk to the waterfront or to the port. Piazza's, parks, pizzeria's and cafe's are all close by--but the centro storico district is a bit of a walk. For us, the location was fine as we visited Naples primarily for the September Pizza festival on the waterfront. As for the hotel, it was clean and comfortable for the most part. The room was large and stylish, but faced the back with an unappealing view of residential windows. The front desk staff seemed mostly uninterested in us. We were rushed through check-in and had to be persistent in getting our basic questions answered. We had a problem with the AC and we were told that the AC wouldn't work if the window was open. Even then, it still didn't seem to work great... Overall, those are minor complaints though and the pros mostly outweighed the cons during our stay. WIFI worked great, breakfast was very good with freshly made coffee, pastries, fruit, cereal, etc... As others have mentioned in comments, entering and exiting through the small door in the evenings was kind of funny, but the hotel certainly felt secure at night! We would stay there again due to the location and the reasonable accommodations. Not perfect and perhaps just short of "charming" but an adequate home base for exploring Naples.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

In no way did our experience at the hotel match the charming quaint descriptions.the bathrooms smelled. It isn't even possible to get a cup of coffee in the early morning. We were very disappointed all around.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chiaja Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiaja Hotel de Charme

Address: Via Chiaia 216 | 1° piano - 1th floor, 80121 Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Naples
#21 Family Hotel in Naples
#22 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiaja Hotel de Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chiaja Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiaja Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiaja Hotel de Charme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.