We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Neopolitan hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Francesco al Monte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Francesco al Monte to your Saves list
Hotel San Francesco al Monte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Vittorio Emanuele 328, 80135 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quirky Neopolitan hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

If you want to stay in a boutique hotel, don't stay here (previous reviewers are idiots)! If you want to stay in a converted wing of a monastery with fantastic views of the Bay and really friendly staff, then stay here!! You sleep in converted monk's cells and if you don't bother with the lift and explore the floors, you are greeted with fantastic sights at every turn. We loved the diorama on floor 3, and the dining room just off the corridor is beautiful - great location for a wedding! The staff are really helpful, whether at breakfast (it's continental) - great coffee and fresh pastries, or by the poolside with the best views in Naples. In addition, our room had a safe - I imagine other do too, use it if you need to!! We will definitely return!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    150
    58
    32
    20
See reviews for
58
231
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Please don't be fooled by the photos on the website which look very nice, in reality it's a run down hotel on many accounts. I struggle to see why anybody has a positive statement to make about the hotel. Here are the severe issues they have:

- It smells damp
- the rooms and the hotel are VERY run down. 10 years ago it may have looked great but it certainly hasn't had a lick of paint since then.
- staff are ok at best, some more helpful that others but they were going through the motions rather demonstrating customer service. We were just asked for our payment card at check out, not even asked if we enjoyed our stay.
- the pool area is dirty, as are the terraces that look lovely in the photos. In fact everything is grubby and worn out with marks and dirt everywhere.
- breakfast is very basic, don't expect much
- beds are hard and uncomfortable. Worse we had two single beds pushed together to make a double

Yes the view is great and they had fast wifi- but that's all I can say that is positive.

I stay in around 20 hotels a year and haven't written a review for years but this one I had to do in order to worn others.

Please choose somewhere else, you will be very disappointed if you stay here

Room Tip: Don't book one here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the view from the 7th floor garden/pool area, which is amazing. The open air restaurant on the 4th floor is a lovely place to enjoy breakfast overlooking the city and bay. We only found a couple of restaurants within easy walk but the funicular down to the centre is only a few minutes away. The restaurant in the hotel is rather expensive for the standard of food, which was nice but nothing special. We would have eaten there again but the cost was twice that at other restaurants of a similar standard. We had a room on the 1st floor and the traffic noise was quite bad when we opened the windows, as the road outside is very busy. The room was large and of good standard, with a spacious bathroom including a Jacuzzi bath. The hot water did take a little time to arrive on occasion though. We found the staff very helpful and friendly and we had a very enjoyable stay overall.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have sea views and are of good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

travelling with elderly guests this hotel is quite different lovely interior as it was an old monastery.Most of had to use the lifts as the stairs never led to the floor you were booked on in fact trying to find stairs was a problem as no directions to them..One worrying thing rooms had no Fire drill plan this needs to be addressed.

The room was okay.We had NO HOT water for 3 nights as did other guests also electric wiring on plugs and light fittings were hanging out the back of them, we did complain but were still the same on leaving after 4 night stay.

Food on the whole was good we only did b/b.

Location far too noisy a road outside the hotel driving in Naples is appalling,

Room Tip: No idea as most of us elderly guests we not too happy with what they had.We had air conditioning,bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is an amazing hotel with an incredible view of naples. Staff are very helpful and will print out ferry times etc and advise what to see. Our room had a huge window which was like a painting as the view of the city is that good. A jacuzzi bath and good shower.
We chilled by the pool taking in the sights and had a fab lunch (expensive compared to other places but worth it) we used to get the train (funicular) down the hills to the water which is novel in itself and then walk as taxis can be expensive. We did a kayak trip around naples which we found on trip advisor and it was one of the best things we did so if it's for you defo book it up before your trip or when there like I did.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna S, Direttore vendite at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Karin M,
first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel; for us is very important improve service and meet the expectations of our guests.

The satisfaction of our guests is our first aim! We appreciated all your compliments. We are very happy that you enjoy our wonderful city .

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in our “convent” and at your disposal for future requests.

Marianna Sarno
Hotel San Francesco al Monte - convento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Only been here two nights but just had to say what a fabulous place. This hotel has a fantastic rooftop garden an oasis in a crazy city. Tranquility and beauty with a lovely dipping pool (not for exercise but to cool you down) the flowers and shrubs are fantastic. The hot water may be slow to arrive and the cupboard space sparse in the rooms but the staff are lovely and the breakfast included is very good. We love this place. ...... Will update at end of holiday.....

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOlland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We loved this hotel. Friendly staff, great location, beautiful room.

What we particularly liked was the bathroom window. Whilst showering/bathing you have a great view over the city. This hotel is all about the views. I must say we expected the pool to be bigger, but eventually we did not go for a proper swim: the temperature went down quite quickly in the late afternoon and the water is not heated.

From the hotel you walk straight into the Quartieri Spagnoli, which is an interesting area and close to Via Toledo and all the sights.

We found the restaurant and bar a bit pricey, but that is the only negative we can think of.

We will definitely stay here again if we decide to visit Naples once more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Francesco al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco al Monte

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 328, 80135 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Francesco al Monte 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seemingly carved into a mountain side, a 16th century monastery once home to the monks of Barbanti (due to their flowing beards) is now home to a timeless retreat. Hotel San Francesco offers serene views over the Bay of Naples, Mount Vesuvius ana Capri Island and easy access to the colourful Naples street life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Francesco al Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Francesco al Monte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.