We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern, great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caravaggio Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caravaggio Hotel to your Saves list
Caravaggio Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cardinale Sisto Riario Sforza, 157 | Spaccanapoli, 80139 Naples, Italy (Pendino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 189 Hotels in Naples
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, modern, great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Perfectly situated in the dark and ecclectic historic center of Napoli in the shadow of St Gennaros Cathedral this hotel is a great stay for a resonable price. The staff is absolutely attentive and very helpful, I would like to suggest a raise for Antonio our morning concierge. He had a delightful meal laid out for us every morning down in the breakfast room. What a great way to start our day in Napoli. The rooms are tidy and modern with comfortable beds and sleek bathrooms. There is no wifi in the room but it works just fine downstairs in the lobby and internet/office area. Napoli in the summer is swealtering, so keep in mind that you will be hot all the time. The a/c in our room did work, but the unit might not be enough to cool down the entire area. Just like most buildings in Napoli, the Caravaggio building is old, we're talking Roman times maybe Medieval? So if you're into history you'll love this place and by place I mean Napoli itself not only the Caravaggio. There is great shopping very close by in the historic center, the train station is a quick 15 minute walk or 5 minute cab ride. Many locals restaurants in the area it's almost impossible to go wrong with food in Napoli. It's all good! Buffalo mozzarella mmmmmmm...I can't wait to stay there again and spend more time exploring Napoli.

Room Tip: The cab driver won't know where the hotel is. Just tell them to take you to Via Duomo and Via Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    36
    23
    19
    15
See reviews for
32
42
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Even allowing for differences in standards between the UK and Italy this is not a 4 star hotel. The shower head was broken and had to be held in place by a bottle of shower gel and the water drained away so slowly that you had to turn the shower off mid wash to prevent it overflowing. The fridge was dirty and not very cold, light bulbs did not work, the roof terrace had obviously not been cleaned for some time and was covered in bird droppings. Breakfast was OK but bread and croissants had run out every day by 9.30am and were not topped up unless you asked. We were not told about the safe facilities in our room when we checked in and money was taken when the room was not locked properly by the maid. This is a conveniently located hotel and reception staff were friendly and helpful but don't expect much of the room or facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a hotel with nice and clean rooms located in the touristy Historic City of Naples.

The rooms are clean and the staff is nice and friendly. Rooms have very high ceiling (4 meters at least) and bathrooms in good quality. If you get a room that's facing the busy street it's going to be quite noisy during night because of the many vespas and cars that constantly honk and drive fast.

Breakfast is boring. The coffee tastes worse than Nescafé. Just go outside and have a nice macchiato instead from one of the many cafés for less than €1.

I wouldn't recommend spending too much time in this part of the city though, but I can't complain about the hotel except for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street if you value your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear customer,
we are happy to have met his expectations, Naples is a city sometimes chaotic and, in spite of our attention, not always able to mitigate the noise caused by traffic. We will be happy to host you again to offer, this time, great coffee.
Franco Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed one night in the centre of Naples, and this is definitely centre. Great location and quite safe feeling inside. But on the down side, the room was quite smelly-we think it was the air conditioning. Also in the morning when we checked out, we were told that we would have to walk off and find our car. It was very difficult to find in such a disjointed, old city. All the tiny alleys run off each other and are not always very well signed. We found the car in the end, but to be told to go and find it ourselves was fairly poor service I thought. Still it was not all bad!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear customer, after a long series of positive comments we have carefully read his report, on which we have already spoken. We are very sorry that our location has departed from the expectations, but the historic center of Naples, as also many towns, is made up of narrow streets that intersect, just to avoid the problem we are affiliated with a Parking simple to reach and would recommend it to our customers.
Sincerely yours, in the hope of 'goodbye ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

An OK hotel - clean and with a friendly staff. The room was clean, but it smelled strange, almost moldy... There was an air condition in the room, but it was old and did not work very well. The breakfast was plain (bread, cheese, ham, juice, coffe and yoghurt), but very good. The location is very good - right in the middle of the old city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear customer,
we regret having failed his expectations because of a problem for us too unpredictable and we hope to have a further opportunity to receive to thank you for reporting an disservice to raise the quality of our structure. As you have noticed, which is why we work
Sincerely yours, in the hope of 'goodbye .
Franco Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had an excellent stay at the Caravaggio hotel. The rooms were very nice and quiet. Its location is fantastic: in the old historical centre of the city in front of the "Pio Monte della Miserocordia" and very close to the "Duomo".
The staff is very warm and helpful. Paolo, Maria and all the other people working in the hotel bring the marvellous atmosphere of the city into the hotel. This was a real pleasure.
I am already looking forward to my next visit to Napoli !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear customer,
we read his review with pleasure. We are pleased to have met his expectations, it is very important to us that our customers spend most enjoyable holiday. A big thank you to the staff and especially by Paul and Mary.
Hoping to see you soon
Yours sincerely
Franco Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in August. We loved the location of the hotel but not our room. We had booked a family room well in advance, a room with double and two singles. However it was not a nice room and we were really disappointed. One of the single beds was not a proper bed, it was a chair which folded out and the room itself was horribly dingy.To their credit the hotel did move us into a double room which was much nicer, once two singles were squeezed in it was very cramped for 4 people. We were not given a discount for the smaller room. Whilst I'm sure its fine for couples, my advice would be for families to avoid booking a room here.

Room Tip: Don't book a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear customer,
we are very sorry that it did not meet your expectations of stay in a room large and spacious. In reality, this did not depend on us, because we had reserved us a room to suit for your needs but she preferred to change it to one that affacciasse the square, though smaller.
Yours sincerely
Franco Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravaggio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravaggio Hotel

Address: Piazza Cardinale Sisto Riario Sforza, 157 | Spaccanapoli, 80139 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Naples
#33 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Caravaggio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently inaugurated, it occupies part of a XVI century noble palace and has been restored - respecting its former style - using the most contemporary standards.The well-designed rooms offer the most modern comforts in a warm and friendly atmosphere.The Hotel, besides, is provided of a spacious hall for breakfast buffet with typical Neapolitan products, a bar, a reading room and a conference room for small meetings.The large and spacious rooms are all furnished in modern style, sober and functional, in order to grant the Guest a relaxing and overwhelming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Caravaggio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravaggio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.