We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Contemporary Art, Donna Regina

Museum of Contemporary Art, Donna Regina
Via Settembrini 79, 80139 Naples, Italy
+39.081.193.13.016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 197 Attractions in Naples
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I enjoyed this museum with it's temporary exhibit. Unfortunately, most of the permanent collection was closed off.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    9
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Complete tosh.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

To be fair about 55% of the gallery was closed when we visited and they didn't charge for admission.

That said, I thought the art on display was utterly useless and I say that as an an avid lover and collector of modern art.

This was definitely the biggest waste of time we experienced in the entire city of Naples and it is not a gallery I would return to. Even the gift shop was closed at 11am in the morning. Doesn't that say just about everything about their commitment?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nothing to see”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

walked across Naples to see this gallery,paid to get in,only to find that they were between installations.Apparently there had been more to see previously but had very little when we went.Could go round this in 10 minutes and that includes walking up and down the stairs.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Madre Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Wow, love this museum! A wonderfully redesigned old palazzo in the heart of the historic center. One of the best permanent contemporary art collections permanently on view as well. With rooms of art by clementi, roni horn, Richard Serra, Anish Kapoor, etc.. I highly recommend.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“away from most of the crowd, a small jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

OK, most people go to Naples for the ancient stuff, but here is something in an area of Naples most foreign tourists ignore. In via Luigi Settembrini, 15 minutes uphill from the Central Station, less than 10 downhill from the Cavour metro station, at the top of the ancient centre, above Spaccanapoli. We found an apartment in this street for a week, great value.

This is a fairly new museum, product of the reform processes within the Naples city government, funding a bit variable as political leaders change. If taking a taxi ask for the Museo Madre [MOO ZAY-O MAR-DRAY], that's how locals refer to it.

And walk up the hill after the museum, then down via Duomo, and off to the right near the cathedral (Duomo = DWO-MO] into Spaccanapoli, and get lost in the centre of the world!

I made a little movie of a visit, using iPhone stills.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rhpi1LcTey0

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Contemporary Art, Donna Regina also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Museum of Contemporary Art, Donna Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Contemporary Art, Donna Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.