We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palace Napoli (Palazzo Reale Napoli)

Royal Palace Napoli (Palazzo Reale Napoli)
Piazza del Plebiscito, 1, 80132 Naples, Italy (San Ferdinando)
+39 081 580 8111
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$737*
and up
6-Day Rome and Southern Italy Tour Including...
Ranked #25 of 197 Attractions in Naples
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Stunning hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Looks imposing but scruffy from the outside. We visited in late November and it was practically deserted. Once inside, magnificent on a grand scale. 30 exquisite, treasure filled rooms. A hint of faded elegance around the place overall, but don't let that put you off. A not to be missed visit if in Naples

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    167
    37
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Don't judge a palace by the facade!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

In Naples, nothing is glamorously advertised, and even the entry to this palace is not so impressive. But once you get to the main staircase, you get an idea of the former glory of this place. And inside, you won't be disappointed. There is a wealth of original furniture, tapestries, paintings and sculptures which give a hint of the former glory of the kingdom of Naples. The view of the Bay of Naples is also beautiful.
Personally I enjoyed the paintings most, with works by Mattia Preti, Giovanni Antonio, Luca Giordano and Andrea Vaccaro.
For 4 euro, it is definitely a good way to spend a few hours in Naples. Don't forget to ask for the audio guide, which is at no extra cost.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great value attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Right on Plebiscito at the end of Via Roma(Toledo). It has 31 rooms for you to stroll through, all gorgeous and for only 4 euro. They give you an audioguide for free. Not every room is fully furnished but there’s lots to see. Easily the best priced attraction we took in while in Napoli.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“16th century palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Built by the Spanish when they were ruling over Naples is so impressive and grand.
It took about one and half hours to go through the palace. We took lots of pictures of almost all the rooms and unique marble staircase. I would go back again with other friends in the future.
The cost is only 4 euros to all my friends' delight.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“It is open - & worth seeing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

There is little to indicate from the plain exterior that the palace is actually open to the public. We arrived around dusk to find the place almost in darkness. We persevered and found the dark public entrance.
Inside it's a different matter, with large opulent rooms and some great paintings. Its all a bit on the heavy side - rather like Buckingham Palace in London - and was never really occupied by royalty. There was virtually no-one around and very few attendents to guard the place. We found most of them just outside at the end, having a smoke.
As with most Italian state sites, entrance is free to EU citizens aged 65 & over. We used out EU Health Insurence Cards as evidence of age and citizenshsip. They were always accepted as proof. No need to carry your passports around.
Though not my favourite visit of the holiday, it was worth the effort, both to see the interior and also the, rather nicer, areas of Naples which abut the palace on all sides.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Palace Napoli (Palazzo Reale Napoli) also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Royal Palace Napoli (Palazzo Reale Napoli)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palace Napoli (Palazzo Reale Napoli), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.