We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catacombe di San Gennaro

Catacombe di San Gennaro
Via di Capodimonte 13, 80100 Naples, Italy (San Carlo Arena)
+39 0817443714
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #3 of 202 attractions in Naples
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cemeteries, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Around the origin of our Catacombs much has been discussed, they were simpleburial and never were quarries or underground ways; the first note of the monumentis repeated since the death of St. Agrippino our bishop in the II century, when hisbody was buried there in a noble tomb. Many miracles the saint operated by thetomb, so it became a place of reverence and neapolitan wished to be buried in thatplace.
Łódź, Lodz, Poland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Totally worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The guided tour around the catacombs is a really memorable moment. For longer than an hour you complement the knowledge about ancient Naples and early Christians. The guide was very professional and she has spoken fluent, proper English with cute Italian accent. Whenever we get bored with the ancient times, during our visit there was a contemporary art exhibition we could enjoy. Totally worth the price, which supports the NGO to renovate the sight!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    105
    13
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“monumental”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Take a guided tour of underground Naples to see this largest catacomb revealing exquisite examples of pagan and earliest Christian art. Not to mention early examples of the class system at work.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice, if you have not seen catacombes in Malta or Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The visit to the Catacombs was nice. I preferred the Hypogeum in Malta, but if you have not seen those or the Catacombs in Sicily then you should definitely visit these. The tour guide was a local wh was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. You are not allowed to visit without the guide and they have tours every hour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Do not miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The tour guide was very detailed in the explanations, making it easy to blend the visual with the story. The lighting and the whole way it has been prepared for the public is very attractive and well done. Awesome feeling to be in the burial place of such an good and holy man. Pray for me San Gennaro! Do not miss when in Napoli.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kota kinabalu
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“must visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our tour guide on 31st August was Federica. She speak clearly and I understood very well. I wish all the tours I have visited will be able to accommodate 2 languages which will be very helpful for various reasons - partner speaks different language, to accommodate tourists etc.
Tomb was amazing and I highly recommend a visit to this site.
Hop on Hop bus stops here too. Parking available next to the cathedral. Treat the tickets fee are for conservation fee. Enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catacombe di San Gennaro also viewed

 

Been to Catacombe di San Gennaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catacombe di San Gennaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.