We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four night stay in May” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Meridionale, 14, 80143 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 187 Hotels in Naples
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Four night stay in May”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Naples is a great base for exploring this coastline. We chose this hotel because of its reviews and the easy jet 4 night holiday was to be fair a bargain.
The staff are fabulous ; friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fine too ; good basic choices but not great coffee.
The hotel is very traditional and quite old fashioned and it grew on us .
The rooms unfortunately didn't . Dark and dated and a bit depressing. If you're someone who likes to be able to see their feet when in shower you'll have to leave shower curtain open !! To be fair it appeared clean but if you like white bright bathrooms this is not for you. Heavy traffic noise until after 11 and the walk from here to bus / train station although only 10 mins is quite intimidating and a bit scary .
In our opinion it's worth paying more to stay in a nicer area

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

many thanks for this review you sent us through Tripadvisor!

We are really delighted with your so good words addressed to our staff which works hard everyday just to assure to all our customers a pleasant stay.

With reference to the surrounding area to the hotel, we can understand that you maybe didn't like it so much but it is an ideal place to explore Naples on foot or also by bus/train/underground located just in front of our facade.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Europa and meanwhile we remain with our kindest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    291
    158
    37
    12
See reviews for
152
255
42
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful interior, right breakfast for short staying, good position, easy to reach to main transport junction, thereby town centre, airport and surroundings, cleanliness was perfect.

Howewer, the staff was not friendly and not helpful, mainly ladies.
Without staff behavior our classification would be five spots, but thus only average.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,
Thank you for sending us your review through Tripadvisor!

We are happy that during your stay you appreciated our breakfast as well as our location: just a few minutes walking far from central station.
At the same time we are surprised by your comment about staff’s behaviour: usually our reception desk staff is always very helpful with our guests.

We hope to see you soon back at Grand Hotel Europa. Kindest regards from Naples!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This location is average at best. We stayed here the night before leaving for the Amalfi Coast and the night before our return to the USA. The beds are extremely uncomfortable particularly compared to those we slept in in Amalfi, Sorrento and Capri. Other than the gentleman at the front desk the night before our return to the USA (who was friendly and helpful), the front desk staff was not particularly friendly or helpful. In fact, one was left with the impression that answering our questions was an inconvenience. While this location may be a good value for the money, for a bit more money you can actually get a nice hotel with a comfortable bed and front desk staff who understand the value of friendliness and helpfulness.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great position just a few hundred metres from the main train station in Naples. Check in was easy and efficient. The room was comfortable. Price was also good. There is a restaurant in the hotel and a few low cost cafes within 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I regret going to Naples in the first place, but we had booked our flight out of there before learning how sketchy the city is. Luckily, this hotel is just steps from the train station and offers a great menu at dinner on site. The room was spacious, quiet, secure, and well furnished. They provide a breakfast, but my flight was so early that I was long gone by service time. If you are going to brave visiting the city, consider this a good location, price, and restful place.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok for a short stay, not great customer service although somewhat helpful. Area is not very charismatic but a few good pizza restaurants in the area. Good access to main bus station to airport and easy walk to town although BE VERY CAREFUL about pick pocketers in the area.
Mosques in the area not very far for Muslim friends staying.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is located right next to the main Naples train station. It is a 15 minute walk to the historic centre of Naples. It offers clean rooms at a reasonable price. During a recent trip I unfortunately went to check in late at night without having confirmed my reservation. When we arrived at the front desk they told us that they had given away our room. After a very stressful day, and the late hour, they were able to find us a room after all. I realize that I may have been a little argumentative, and for that I apologize to the front desk staff, however in the end they made a very tired couple happy. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europa

Address: Corso Meridionale, 14, 80143 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europa is in an elegant nineteenth century building, just a few hundred metres from Garibaldi train station and Naples historical city center; ideal location from which to explore the city and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes. Offers all the services of a superior three star hotel with 84 rooms and suites, a restaurant, a bar, a theater and several meeting rooms. The sandard or superior rooms are spacious and are equipped with thoughtful amenities to make your stay comfortable, including air conditioning and heating, satellite television, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Are spacious and have those services necessary to make your stay comfortable, such as air conditioning and heating, satellite TV, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Its central location is ideal for exploring the many attractions of one of the most beautiful Italian cities of art! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Grand Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.