We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job for it's price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Meridionale, 14, 80143 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Did the job for it's price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. A lot of the reviews said that the area was dangerous but we found that not to be true at all. We were out as late as 9-10pm and were never concerned for our safety. The area has a lot of shops and restaurants and street vendors hawking their stuff so the area is fine. Naples is a dirty city but dirty does not mean unsafe.

The price we got was really cheap. The beds were a little hard, wifi worked fine in the room and was fast. Breakfast was simple but good. The only problem we experienced was our bed sheets. They were a little dirty and had food stains in them.

Overall, this hotel does the job. It is literally across the street from the train station. We used it as a base to go to Amalfi and Pompeii/Vesuvius. For the price, this hotel was fine.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    260
    140
    31
    12
See reviews for
139
228
37
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

This place really helped us out. Our travel agency messed up our booking...telling us our room was at Grand Europa but giving us the address of another hotel-- neither of which had our reservation.
When we arrived at Grand Europa & realized the mistake, the hotel staff was incredibly helpful. Not only did they get us a room ready ASAP, they also called our travel agency to sort out the financial details & explain the mistake. Really enjoined our stay & very convenient for getting to train station for trips to Pompeii & Sorrento. Only wished the beds & pillows were a bit softer but otherwise no complaints!!

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thanks for sending us your review through Tripadvisor.

We are really happy that you had a such pleasant stay at Grand Hotel Europa. We also thank you for your nice words dedicated to our staff, always ready to help our guests.

Our hotel is the ideal place to visit easily Naples and its beautiful surroundings due to its perfect location: just five minutes walking far from central station, underground and bus stops.

We hope to see you soon back to the Grand Hotel Europa.

Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The hotel is practically "at" the train station.

Pros-
- Premium old building hotel
- Location is a big big plus
- Very clean
- A little luxurious for a budget hotel (even had a bathtub)
- Awesome breakfast
- English speaking staff

Cons-
- None

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

The GEH Napoli was a bargain on many levels. The hotel is very convenient to Napoli Centrale, thus to transportation throughout not only Naples, but also to the entire region: Sorrento, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc. The hotel is clean, the rooms are satisfactory by most European standards, the staff at the desk, bar, restaurant are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We were above the entrance and the balcony was nice from which to look at the street, the balcony do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I’ve used the word “quirky” a few times on this trip to Italy … here’s one more. Older hotel, but well-maintained. All the amenities though a bit snug compared to some of the others on this trip.

Quirky is for the decoration. Everything from faux Marilyn Monroe art, to antique rocking horses and kids' toys, to old Singer sewing machines … and some very ‘interesting’ wall art throughout. Took a wander to see some of it.

Fair bit of street noise despite new windows and solid shutters … but, it’s Naples and you’re in the centre of town.

Speaking of location … you can’t get closer to the rail station (Centrali) without sleeping on the floor of it. With one of the station dogs that sleep there day and night. Cute.

Right by Piazza Garibaldi and its transit connections, taxi stands. Central for walking, experiencing very “intense” Napoli, and visiting some of the sights and attractions. (We had time for the Archaeological Museum – had to see all the stuff we couldn’t see at Pompei because the monarch of the day had it all moved here!)

One of the best features is the price. We had a package with a full, three course dinner and a bottle of vino. If you’re feeling 'uncertain' about night-time Napoli, this means no need to leave the hotel after dark.

Oh, and still on the 'uncertain' point ... we figured out you can walk inside from the train station until you're right across the street from the hotel. We felt pretty safe.

And there's free internet.

Friendly, efficient staff. Decent breakfast also included in the price in the same on-site dining room where they serve dinner.

For a quick stay central in Napoli, consider Grand Hotel Europa.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I'll start out by stating that my rating isn't meant to be construed to say that this is a four star hotel. It is clearly a three star property, and makes no pretense about it. I awarded four stars because, within the realm of three star Italian hotels, it presents an exceptional value. It is an older building, but rooms are spacious by European standards). Tiny analog TV (who cares, since the vast majority of Italian hotels get only two English speaking channels). We did a three city tour in Italy and chose four star hotels in Rome and Milan. But because of the touring opportunities outside Naples (Pompeii, Sorrento/Positano/Amalfi, Isle of Capri) we opted for a three star property. This perspective gave us a good basis for comparison. The breakfast was comparable, Same good wifi. Same courteous service. Proximity to the train station made it a good location for us. I want to state that we found the immediate neighborhood just fine; safe, with a good selection of family style hosterias and caffes, yet a short cab ride from the top spots in the city. The problem neighborhood was three blocks away at the train station and Piazza Garibaldi. The only discernable differences between this property and a good four star in Italy: 1) not a new, fresh feeling, but more like old, quaint and clean, and (2) the old tv. It makes good sense to stay here if you plan to tour as we did, and save money for other amenities such as restaurants, bars, shopping an attractions.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Naples isn't the nicest city in Italy, but it is a good base to visit Pompeii and Vesuvius. The Grand Hotel Europa is only 5 minutes from the central station, though this area isn't very nice it is very convenient. The rooms are comfortable and include a fridge, safe and free wi-fi. Breakfast is also included, which is useful but the continental breakfast is very basic and there is hardly any variety, so don't expect much from it! The staff were generally pleasant except when we checked out and we paid room tax the receptionist decided to pretend she had no change - though it turned out she did in the end when we refused to pay room tax on credit card!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europa

Address: Corso Meridionale, 14, 80143 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europa is in an elegant nineteenth century building, the old Murolo-Pisano family residence. Once called Hotel Boccalatte - the first of the Sea Hotels group.The hotel has 90 rooms and suites that give a feeling of space and comfort, soundproofed and equipped for maximum comfort with frescoes from Pompeian age to twentieth century. In the family floor, the rooms are decorated with images from Pinocchio to the penguins, and the hotel stay for the children is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.