We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Meridionale, 14, 80143 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Cardiff
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good value and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is very close to the train station making it excellent for getting around. The area may not be the smartest but that is the same for most areas around main train stations. As a large group we felt safe enough moving around the area and the large number of police who seemed to stay and eat at the hotel made it feel even safer! Naples is not the tidiest of cities so just don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.

The staff were all friendly and helpful making several calls for us to sort out transfers and lost phones as well as recommending a great restaurant. There were 9 of us wanting 5 rooms and they were a mixture. All were very clean with comfy beds and and the double glazing almost completely shut out any road noise. Two of us were given one of the newly renovated rooms - more in the style of a boutique hotel than the standard rooms we had - a real experience if you get one of those. The general decor in the hotel can only be described as eclectic - a real mix of class, kitsch and the plain bizarre.

We were also impressed with the breakfast - fresh croissants, yogurts, cheese, meats, cereals, coffee, tea, bread, boiled eggs.

This may not be the poshest hotel in Naples but as far as location and value for money you can't go far wrong.

Room Tip: See if you can as for one of the newly renovated rooms - very unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

first of all many thanks for your nice review and your kind words dedicated to our staff.

Surely our hotel is the ideal place to visit easily Naples and its beautiful sorroundings due to its superb location: just five minutes walking far from central station, underground and bus stops.

Furthermore, we are delighted that you appreciated our breakfast always very rich and various: next time don't foget to ask for our menù à la carte: our dishes-typical of neapolitan traditions-will be a wonderful surprise for you!

We really hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Europa!

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    260
    140
    31
    12
See reviews for
139
227
37
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I flew into Rome, took the train to Naples and spent the first night of our Italian vacation at the Grand Hotel Europa. We debated about going straight on to Sorrento, but since we wanted to visit the archaeological museum, we decided to spend one night in Naples. Because we were traveling by train, it made sense to stay near the Termini. As other reviewers have noted, the hotel looks run down from the outside the neighborhood is scary, but the price is reasonable. The staff is pleasant; however, our room was dark and dreary...and besides a double bed, it contained a set of bunk beds! The breakfast wasn't bad, though nothing special, either. This hotel is fine for one night, but if you’re planning to stay longer, chose a hotel in a nicer area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

Our hotel has a superb location due to the train and underground station, located just a few steps far from it: that's why it is frequently chosen by people who would like to visit Naples as well as its sourrounds and from people coming here for business.

About the room, we have some of them with bunk beds ideal for families coming with children: however, if you would have preferred another one you could have asked for it to our reception.

They would have proposed you something different....

Awaiting for welcoming you to the Grand Hotel Europa again, we remain with our warmest regards from Naples!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresina, PI
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is our 2nd day one to go here. The most important thing about the hotel is its location just beside the train station which is very handy. The hotel is old, rooms are mid clean to me. TV is from late 80's with a VCR!!! And very small. We booked a triple room which servd our purpose. Although the station is close, the hotel is in a very scary location: do not dare to step outside late at night! Restaurants around are not so fancy but in the hotel you can have a standard Italian menu for a fair price! Breakfast is also fair, much better than American continental breakfast. Shopping around is neither a good idea as the area is definetly decadent. Via Chiaia should be a better choice. Hotel staff are nice, nothing more than doing their job! You can book tours at the front desk to many spots around! If you wanna stay for a short time with a reasonable price that is it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Gerson,

first of all thank you for sending us your review through Tripadvisor.

Our hotel, located very central as it is just 5 minutes walking far from train station, underground station and main bus stops, is ideal to visit Naples and its sorrounds even during a short stay.
With reference to our rooms, next time don't forget to ask for a new junior suite in our completely renovated area called "O' VICO EUROPA" where you will deeply enjoy Naples atmosphere.
Also our restaurant, where in some days of the month take place our famous dinner shows, is simply perfect to taste typical neapolitan cuisine as well as the international one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to the Grand Hotel Europa on your next trip to Naples and meanwhile we remain with our kindest regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights in order to do a day trip to Pompei and Amalfi. Convenient to train station but the area is not great. If you want to see Naples, I would stay in the area of the Ambassador Hotel. Staff was helpful but their wi-fi was down for almost our entire stay and they did not seem to concerned about getting it working...Rooms are ok..on the dark side. Restaurant was ok, in the basement and dark also. The breakfast was below average...long wait for coffee...they should have 2 areas set up to accomodate guests, especially when they have a tour staying there...we had to wait awhile to get our food...canned fruit cocktail not very appetizing..If you want someplace close to the train station, it serves the purpose, but I would stay elsewhere...actually, I would not return to Naples..would stay in Sorrento in order to see the same sites....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Karen,

thank you for your review through Tripadvisor.

Our staff is always at disposal of our guests to assist them during their stay in order to make it very pleasant and that's why I am pretty sure they have tried to solve your problem with WI-FI.

With reference to your waiting at breakfast time, it was probably due to the overbooking of the hotel but you could have asked to our waiter and he would have helped you.

However, as you noticed, our location is perfect to see Naples and its sorroundings and that's why we recommend you to come again to the Grand Hotel Europa the sooner the better: we
will prepare you our best coffee in just one minute:-)!!!

Best regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Europa for one night and chose it because of its convenient location to the central station. The hotel offers good value for money, especially compared to the general price level in Naples. The room was okay, although we wondered a little about the arrangement of the beds - we had booked a double room, and the beds were lined up one behind the other. The room and bathroom were clean - a little musty smelling, but that went away after we opened the window.
Breakfast is okay, but do no expect too much - it is served in the basement in a room without any natural light. For a quick start before you head out for a day trip it's okay, but the missing daylight would have bothered me if we had stayed there for our entire vacation.
All in all, the Grand Hotel Europa is a decent deal if you are looking for a well priced place to stay a night or two - if you are looking for a nice hotel for your entire vacation, I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Stimela,

first of all we would like to thank you for sending us your review on Tripadvisor.

Our hotel, very centrally located (just a few minutes walking far from central station and main underground and bus stops) is the best place to choose if you are interested in visiting Naples and its sorroundings easily.

With reference to our breakfast, we are happy that you mentioned it: in fact, with its variety of hot and cold food is one of the things most loved by our guests.

We will take into account all your suggestions as we work everyday to improve our service and to make the stay of our customers always more pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Europa!

Warmest regards from Naples and from our entire staff,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here and while we found it a good location for getting out of Naples for day trips by train, it is in a very intimidating area. The train station is just across the street which is handy but the main centre of Naples and the restaurants are a decent walk through a very scary neighbourhood, as a result we ate 2 out of 3 nights in the hotel and only ventured out once, also missed seeing nicer areas and the sights the city has to offer. I may sound like a whimp but reading other reviews about being mugged at gunpoint etc, means the threat we felt was very real.
The hotel itself is really nice, our room was quirky with bed on mezzanine level. Very clean and a comfy bed. Restaurant downstairs was very nice, good meals and nice staff.
Great place to stay if you are wanting a base close to the train.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Claris,

thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor and for your congratulations to our staff.

Our hotel is very central located as we are just in front of central station and very close to main bus and underground stops:as you pointed out, it is a very important aspect if you would like to see Naples and its sorroundings easily or even by feet.
As in all very big cities, it could seem at a first sight a not appealing area but actually it is not so: it is a place full of shops, supermarkets, restaurants and from it you can reach all places of the city without any effort.

Awaiting for welcoming you to the Grand Hotel Europa in Naples again, we remain with our kindest regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I booked this hotel as it had favorable reviews and was close to the Train Station and airport bus.

As I went towards the hotel as I left the train station, I noticed the area was not bery nice. Piazza Garbaldi area is run down, the birght spot was seeing a large McDonalds. When I get to the hotel street the area continued its decline. There is nothing around this hotel . The nearest resturant was 4 blocks away. This is a somewhat seedy part of town, and the better areas are about a 20 minute walks threw an area that can be compared to Detroit or the Bronx.

The lobby of the hotel was ok, the reception people pleasant. On entering the room, it was average european size, but a bit shabby. The remote to the tv broken, no toilet paper in the bathroom, luckily I had disposable wipes.

The breakfast room was in the basement, the spread a bit more limited than the other 4 hotels I stayed in on the trip.

I only stayed for one night as I was headed back to the USA.. The hotel served its puprose as it was close to transport. If your here to sightsee or for a longer stay, Id suggest somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europa

Address: Corso Meridionale, 14, 80143 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europa is in an elegant nineteenth century building, the old Murolo-Pisano family residence. Once called Hotel Boccalatte - the first of the Sea Hotels group.The hotel has 90 rooms and suites that give a feeling of space and comfort, soundproofed and equipped for maximum comfort with frescoes from Pompeian age to twentieth century. In the family floor, the rooms are decorated with images from Pinocchio to the penguins, and the hotel stay for the children is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.