We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Rossa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Luna Rossa Hotel to your Saves list
Luna Rossa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Giuseppe Pica, 20/22, 80142 Naples, Italy (Mercato)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Durham, NH
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Nothing fancy but neither is the price. Maybe a tiny bit run down, but clean, everything worked, and the bed was fine. Relatively quiet street, and my room on the court in the back was very quiet. Restaurants and small shops just around the corner, and close to the trains, trams, and most bus routes. Only complaint was the rather skimpy breakfast: couple of (fresh baked in their oven) croissants, juice, and coffee. Read about the origin of the hotel name on their website.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the cortile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    14
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
5
11
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We changed our trip according to my neighbor who's wife is from Sorrento. "Naples is so awesome! You'll have the best time". Now Im from "the hood" and I locked my own damn doors. We couldn't find the hotel on the GPS. When we finally went down some random streets, I saw the sign. It was a road our car couldn't even fit down. No parking whatsoever! AND it was in the middle of a "favela". I've heard the stories of getting robbed in Naples AFTER we'd gone, but this neighborhood was dirty and ghetto. No one could ever speak of the US's ghettos in a negative manner again. It smelled like hot butt! We were so frustrated and it was so nasty that we didn't even stop to stay. We just drove away...I took that hit of no-show payment bc it just wasn't about to work for me. BLECH!

Room Tip: choose hotels by the water. do NOT go into the more busy downtown. it is not for you. watch your val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is Napoli with all of the noise, confusion, craziness but filled with great warmth. It is located on a side street from the train station that could be a bit of a cultural shock if you are not accustomed to a certain earthiness. I have been to Napoli many times and find it refreshing to be a part of it all.

I was greeted by warm staff. My room was though not fancy, was a decent room with a comfortable bed on the second floor directly over the street which I prefer. I like to hear the sounds of the city. A small but adequate bathroom with large towels. A good working tv with lots of stations.

The staff were always cordial, friendly and very helpful. I did not have the breakfast except for the last day, which was ok,a continental breakfast we would call it. I usually prefer to go and sit outside at a cafe and watch the people.

The area near the hotel is the Forcella market which might feel a little scary and dirty to many but it is alive with all kind of street vendors, fishmongers, and even a shop to buy saddles and other equestrian items. Just go early in the morning when there is lots of people at the market and not when they are closing in the afternoon. It is a great place to make real street photos.

My stay at the Luna Rossa was very comfortable . I certainly will return again. Every day during the Hurricane the staff asked me how my son was doing back at home in NYC.

Thanks Luna Rosa for making my stay fun! Oh, yes I forgot each room is named after a Neapolitan song.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one on the inner courtyard. Also, the wifi only works up to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel has definitely seen better times - only the lobby is kept in a fairly representative shape. The rooms, however, are tiny and in 80's style, poorly cleaned (a thick layer of dust on certain items, such as the phone) and a smelly bathroom covered with black mold (definitely not healthy!). It wasn't a pleasure to have a shower there.
The area around the central train and bus station in Naples is a shady neighborhood where you wouldn't want to go out, esp. at night. It's about 1km west to a better area, but you might want to take a taxi to get there.
This hotel is ok if you are on a tight budget and want to spend the night just before taking a bus/train early the next morning - but not recommended for longer stays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Although the plaza directly opposite is under going severe renovation, the central location, the wonderful staff and pleasant rooms make up for any inconvenience. I left my mobile phone here and organised the following day to pick it up upon my return to Naples. I am writing this positive review as I believe that honesty and helpfulness should be rewarded.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Hotel was nice. They were very accomodating and were able to change my reservation from 3 to 4 person room. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Hotel was nice. Area around was kind of shady though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Tucked away in the corner of a narrow, dirty and scary looking street just of the main piaza Garibaldi (where all the busses and trains are) this hotel is ideally located for touring the city on foot, getting the train or bus out and within walking distance of the ports for Capri. It has hot water, blankets, a TV with English channels and a little restaurant (if you are really desparate) which you don't need to use. Although Piazza Garibaldi is undergoing a face lift and can be a little confusing to look at, there are plenty of lovely restaurants and street food stalls around to ensure you are never hungry.

Having seen the write up's I was worried, but given how much there is to see in this area, you would be mad to spend any more time in the hotel room than is necessary...if this is your plan, pay more.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces away from the courtyard as the sound echoes around it making the rooms a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Rossa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Rossa Hotel

Address: Giuseppe Pica, 20/22, 80142 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Mercato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Rossa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Luna Rossa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Naples
Naples Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Rossa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.