We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the other reviews (they're wrong!)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starhotels Terminus

Save Saved
You added Starhotels Terminus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Terminus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Garibaldi 91, 80124 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 193 hotels in Naples
Pordenone, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the other reviews (they're wrong!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We checked in for one night on 1 September. Yes, Naples is dirty, but you should expect that! It's Southern Italy.. they don't have trash control.

The hotel itself is WONDERFUL. It's clean, and tastefully decorated. Elda at the front desk was the sweetest thing ever! She was very accommodative to us, and took great care of us getting us a taxi reserved, recommending dinner! The location was a godsend after being out in Pompeii all day and on our feet, we walked out of the train station and bam, there the hotel was- perfect! Just what we needed!!!

I do understand that it was under construction which I think may lend to the "noisy" factor- but we were on the fifth floor in one of the newly renovated rooms and it was great! It was quiet, and tastefully decorated, we were very pleased! Please don't be put off because a hotel was under construction- it was very decently priced, and in a great location easy to access the trains and next door to a pleasant restaurant.

Room Tip: Request a newly renovated room- we were on the fifth floor that may help with the noise level (we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    165
    121
    58
    28
See reviews for
38
111
20
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We used this hotel as a base after spending a few days in Ischia, as it was close to the train station, and had good connections to the airport. However, I wish we had not!
Once we were FINALLY greeted by the rude, pretentious, obnoxious and unwelcoming clerk (the one with the orange glasses - avoid at all costs) we checked I and headed up to our room. From the outside we were sceptical that it could live up to its 4 star rating, but were surprised that inside it was airy and clean - well, downstairs at least. Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the train track which meant we had the noises of incoming and outgoing trains all night. And the balcony door didn't actually close; it was just jammed shut, but there was a large gap toward the bottom, where presumably the heat had warped the plastic and damaged it.
The room was a good size, and the bathroom was a good size. Strangely though there was no light near the shower, so once the curtain was closed it was quite dark. A word of warning - if you plan on using this as an stop-over before a train/plane journey, you will need to be cunning about how your charge your devices. There were 2 visibly plug sockets in the room, however, the room requires a card to activate the electricity, so nothing will charge if you leave for dinner, etc. Also, if you turn off the main light, then these 2 sockets cut out! So you can't charge stuff overnight. BUT if you can get the mini fridge and TV sockets, these DON'T cut out, so you can unplug them and use these 2 extra sockets overnight.
The wifi costs 4 euros for 24 hours - didn't bother with the so-called free wifi which is only available in the lobby and requires a new password every 30 mins.

The surrounding area of the hotel wouldn't look out of place in the slums of Rio... Drunks, beggars and just generally 'dodgy- looking' folk roam the streets (maybe I've been spoilt by the nice people of Ischia over the past few days) but the area is a slum and I never once felt safe. There are 2 restaurants on the same street as the hotel. The one we visited is the worse one I've been to in over 2 weeks in Italy.

All in all, the location is fine as a stop over from the train station, but the staff are horrendous and the rooms aren't great. Don't bother leaving the hotel for dinner (you won't find much) and if you are unlucky to have the desk clerk with the orange glasses, don't expect anything!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

hotel has a great location just few steps from the main train station. Rooms are huge, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is a plus. The internet is available but has a limited area. Great value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontevedra, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel is near the station so very convenient when you come from Rome by train and for excursion to Pompeii and Ercolano. You have sights that are at a walking distance from the hotel if not there is a bus stop for the bus to the old town and other sights (Opera San Carlo, Castle, etc...) It has a good quality-price relationship. The rooms are renovated. Breakfast and wifi is included.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite. It is at a reasonable price. And it gives space if you travel with a child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

First off this city is a dump. I've never seen so much garbage and drunks. There were piles of beer bottles everywhere. It felt shady and unsafe. The hotel is right across the street from the train station which is a plus, because I didn't feel safe walking any further than I had to. The hotel looks very nice when you walk in, but it smells like mold and old cigarettes. There is a lot of construction going on right in front of the hotel, so it's pretty noisy. The breakfast was decent and the rooms were pretty clean. The "free wi-fi" service is unbelievable. There is a fee of 4 euros a day if you want wi-fi in your room. The best part is it's free in the lobby, but only by going to the front desk to get the password EVERY 30 MINS!. I mean seriously how inconvenient. Do not offer "free wi-fi" if your really making it more of a hassle rather than an amenity. So free wi-fi for only 30 mins at a time. The icing on the cake though was when I asked for an iron. They told me that they do not offer that service. Wow! I didn't know having an iron was a "service". Okay what hotel doesn't have an iron??? I was dying to get out of this city and never return. On the plus side the train station was close and was convenient to travel to pompeii...just a tip you only need to pay to get there, the train is free coming back. I would strongly recommend to find a nice bed and breakfast maybe in Sorrento...stay away from this city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Don't get me wrong, this was a nice enough hotel, and in its heyday probably deserving of it's 4* rating - but it's very tired and the rooms are really dated (at least they were clean though), and the staff were friendly - ask for their recommendations of where to eat, you'll be glad you did.
The location is very good for true city breakers - right next to the train station from where you can easily travel to Pompei, Herculaneum etc., but it's also currently a building site as they modernise their public transport system and not exactly an evening venue, you'll struggle for local places to eat in the evening.
If you're looking at a longer holiday - don't stay in the city, just visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Starhotels Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Terminus

Address: Piazza Garibaldi 91, 80124 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Terminus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Terminus in Naples. We're conveniently located in Piazza Garibaldi, close to the historical centre and just beside the railway station - ideal for travelling around and exploring the city's most important cultural sights.Our romantic hotel is styled with harmonious colours and exudes the warmth and hospitality for which Naples has always been famous. Sit and enjoy drinks in the roof garden and soak up the beautiful views encompassing Vesuvius and the Gulf of Naples. During the spring and summer, you can enjoy the sounds of live piano music too.In all there are 173 traditional rooms and suites, a well-equipped fitness room, new Congress Centre with 10 meeting rooms seating, all bathed in natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Starhotels Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Terminus Hotel Naples
Starhotel Terminus Naples
Starhotel Terminus Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starhotels Terminus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.